This is a search-engine-friendly text mirror of the TalkBass Forums

VIEW FULL LIVE VERSION : Virus Warning- avoid rockabillybass.com, other sites??


Bob Gollihur
09-19-2001, 10:02 AM
You should note that I've never passed on a virus warning before, but this is one that grab you rather easily. If you are not running MS Outlook Express, you may have nothing to worry about -- but that program is automatically installed in most Windows applications, so caution is advised.

I may be preaching to the choir in some of these warnings, but it is important.

This virus can compromise web sites -- (fellow bassists) avoid Rockabillybass.com for the time being - I visited and the virus was blocked from downloading by my Norton Antivirus system -- but only because I updated the signature files this morning. It's fairly certain than many other sites have been attacked and are unknowingly attempting to distribute .EML files. If a site unexpectedly prompts you to download a file, refuse it.

As always, never open email attachments, even from familiar sources, unless you have confirmed with the sender that it is legit.

If you aren't running a virus program set to monitor all activity, you should be. And if it hasn't been updated in the last 24 hours (or less!), I'd update it immediately.

There is a description of the worm at-
http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.nimda.a@mm.html
It will infiltrate a network if one machine receives it.

Bob Gollihur
09-19-2001, 11:52 AM
The webmaster reported and I verified it is ok now. But other sites.... ??

whiteshadow
10-13-2001, 04:51 PM
i don't know about sites but my school's system was hit with the MINDA virus and crashed our whole system, bummer