This is a search-engine-friendly text mirror of the TalkBass Forums

VIEW FULL LIVE VERSION : Something Fishy about Jazz Theory book on ebay...


98dvl
04-01-2007, 08:36 PM
First off, I'm not selling this book on ebay, but I am the current high bidder:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=001&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=110108850365&rd=1&rd=1

Anyway, I just want to pass this on, in case anyone else here is looking for this book, and hopefully, to get some insight as to what might be going on here...

Something with the seller's feedback has my BS meter pegged. Does anyone else think this may be an illegitimate deal? Look at his feedback, and the auctions that he has won in the past. Something just doesn't seem right. He's either a sucker for crappy auctions, or he's trying to pad his feedback number to take advantage of other bidders.

Has anyone else seen this kind of thing before? I'm leary of keeping my bid on this book and giving the guy my $30... On the other hand, if it is legit, hopefully, I can get a good deal on a great book...

jumbosilverette
04-01-2007, 08:45 PM
The guy looks to have padded his feedback with those i cent auctions, but I don't know if he's a fraud. Perhaps he changed (or lost) his old ebay username and needed to establish some sort of feedback history. It appears those 1 cent auctions are a means of doing that. Why not just buy this copy from abebooks.com for $37?
http://www.abebooks.com/servlet/BookDetailsPL?bi=866105764&searchurl=sts%3Dt%26an%3Dlevine%26y%3D0%26tn%3DThe %2BJazz%2BTheory%2BBook%26x%3D0

98dvl
04-01-2007, 08:57 PM
http://www.abebooks.com/servlet/BookDetailsPL?bi=866105764&searchurl=sts%3Dt%26an%3Dlevine%26y%3D0%26tn%3DThe %2BJazz%2BTheory%2BBook%26x%3D0

Thanks for the link... I'll definitely buy from them depending on how this auction goes... I decided to send my concerns on to ebay, and asked the buyer to send a picture of the book, with my bidder name on a piece of paper next to it... we'll see how it turns out.

thewanderer24
04-02-2007, 05:48 PM
Seems to me, if you are worried about this guy being reputable, you could buy it online from a variety of reputable sources for the same money.

Amazon will have it at your door for $42

98dvl
04-02-2007, 05:52 PM
The problem, is that I've already placed my bid... I suppose I could retract, but I'm not sure on the rules about that...

FWIW, I asked the guy to send me a picture of the book, along with a piece of paper with my user ID on it, and he did...

So, I'm thinking that it's legit...

jenderfazz
04-02-2007, 06:38 PM
He probably wanted feedback before becoming a seller, or nobody would buy from him. Sneaky, as not everyone checks individual feedback ratings. Still, I wouldn't be concerned. If he wanted to really rip someone off, he wouldn't do it for 30 bucks. He'd probably sell something worth a lot more and run with the money.

Sean S
04-03-2007, 02:46 AM
If he wanted to really rip someone off, he wouldn't do it for 30 bucks. He'd probably sell something worth a lot more and run with the money.

agreed. I got ripped off a guitar (which I got money back) and a set of speakers (which I didn't) :mad: