|
|
This is a search-engine-friendly text mirror of the TalkBass Forums
VIEW FULL LIVE VERSION : Alex Sampson (Fretboard Formula) - Sneaky Tricks!
-=DanAtkinson=- 11-12-2008, 09:29 PM There have been a handful of TB posters here who go overboard to praise Alex Sampson and his BassGuitarSecrets / Fretboard Formula courses. Some of these posts smell suspiciously like advertising from Alex himself, but it's hard to say for sure.
Well, I just came across this blog site: http://bass.rlisolutions.com (http://bass.rlisolutions.com/resources/6/awesome-bass-lessons/)
I own the BGS package and I immediately recognized Alex's signature writing style. It is Alex. On this blog he is posing as "Eric Burdo" and all of his posts are about -- surprise -- his own bass courses.
Just seems a bit misleading to me. I'm all for advertising, but when you pose as someone else, you cross a line. It's a lie. You're misleading people into thinking other consumers are pleased with your product, when that is not the case.
So now I'm even more suspicious of ultra pro-Alex posters here at TB...
bcolins 11-13-2008, 04:45 AM Yeah, I suspect you are right. It certainly looks like his writing style,.....some of it almost looking like quotes from his marketing stuff. How did you bust him??
Brian
bcolins 11-13-2008, 05:01 AM I wonder if there is any way to trace the point of origin of this webpage??
If we can prove it is Alex posing as someone else,....We need to start a new thread Outing the guy....maybe even a sticky.
I just went back for another look,....and would say its pretty conclusive...........the entire website is only one active page and if you take a close look at all the content,...virtually everything on the site is something about Alex,....or a link to one of Alex's pages.
I further agree with you now, in that I now wonder how many pro-Alex Sampson posts here are legitimate. Also brings up the question that if he would stoop to something like this,.....would he also have his partners in deception posting to this forum??
I started this thread because his stuff looked like it might suit my learning style....and in an effort to have some of you more knowledgeable bass players give your opinions on his teaching style.....I did include some of Alex's links to some of his stuff that I still think is interesting (to me) and was accused of being somehow related to Alex Sampson by a couple of other forum members......Anyone here still questioning if I am Alex or one of his cronies should certainly be able to dismiss that thought by now. If the "Erix Bass tips" site is really Alex Sampson,....we need to somehow prove it and bust his ass here.
Brian
Id T Bass 11-13-2008, 07:46 AM Hi
I have posted elsewhere in support of BGS and the Fretboard Formula courses. I bought and like both.
I am not in Alex Sampson's employ or "circle", I am a playing, paying bass player in the UK who bought the courses and they work for me.
I am not interested in marketing, I just want to play bass. The guy writes and sells a course. I bought it and it suits me. End of.
Someone please plug the bass back in.
David
www.myspace.com/davidgotteri
davidgotteri@hotmail.com
DudeistMonk 11-13-2008, 09:17 AM There have been a handful of TB posters here who go overboard to praise Alex Sampson and his BassGuitarSecrets / Fretboard Formula courses. Some of these posts smell suspiciously like advertising from Alex himself, but it's hard to say for sure.
Well, I just came across this blog site: http://bass.rlisolutions.com/resourc...-bass-lessons/
I own the BGS package and I immediately recognized Alex's signature writing style. It is Alex. On this blog he is posing as "Eric Burdo" and all of his posts are about -- surprise -- his own bass courses.
Just seems a bit misleading to me. I'm all for advertising, but when you pose as someone else, you cross a line. It's a lie. You're misleading people into thinking other consumers are pleased with your product, when that is not the case.
So now I'm even more suspicious of ultra pro-Alex posters here at TB...
I work closely with Search Engine Optimization (SEO) specialists every day. This is not out of the ordinary, its a way to gain search engine rankings. SEO agents will post comments on blogs and forums that have nothing to do with the topic at hand just for the link....Should you feel mislead? maybe, but that is the web, and if you want your website to get hits you have to get publicity somehow.
edburdo 11-13-2008, 12:19 PM No, I am not Alex. I just happened to use some of his marketing copy for the blog.
I originally intended to post to the blog on a regular basis... post things I found interesting, or bass tips. But... I haven't posted anything in awhile. Contemplating dropping the site...
-=DanAtkinson=- 11-14-2008, 10:35 AM No, I am not Alex. I just happened to use some of his marketing copy for the blog.
I originally intended to post to the blog on a regular basis... post things I found interesting, or bass tips. But... I haven't posted anything in awhile. Contemplating dropping the site...
Hmmmm..... Interesting that "EBurdo" would register here at TB just for this one thread. Seems like a wonderful coincidence that the same random guy running the "Erix Bass Tips" blog would somehow find this thread (as a non-TB user) and then register to post a defense of his suspicious blog.
The evidence is adding up.
onlyclave 11-14-2008, 12:41 PM Who cares? This is just like any "instructional" website, dvd or book.
I wouldn't spend a cent on anything, ANYTHING that claims to have taken all of the work out of playing music. There are no secrets, tricks, keys, shortcuts, protips, formulas, etc. to being a good musician and anyone subscribing to that idea is delusional.
But always remember:
"There's a sucker born every minute."
"A fool and their money are easily parted."
"There's an ass for every seat."
Mark Wilson 11-14-2008, 12:59 PM Closed for the time being.
Gonna have a chat with the other mods.
Any other "Evidence" You may have, PM to me.
|