JAUQO III-X
06-14-2009, 09:24 PM
http://chicago.craigslist.org/wcl/msg/1221739794.html
|
This is a search-engine-friendly text mirror of the TalkBass Forums JAUQO III-X 06-14-2009, 09:24 PM http://chicago.craigslist.org/wcl/msg/1221739794.html Mike Dimin 06-14-2009, 09:26 PM worth checking out - if your local (and flush). BTW - your amp is shipping tomorrow Mike jimmy rocket 06-14-2009, 09:27 PM the same add is on CL in Durham, and NYC right now definitely a scam Matt Dean 06-14-2009, 09:29 PM yup... this just popped up on the SF Bay Area CL too... I flagged it. Rattman 06-14-2009, 09:30 PM Hmmmm... a little too 'pat' for me... I smell a scam guys. "Why?" Simple: the story itself seems pretty bogus, plus the lack of close-ups is also very troubling. Its a lovely bass for sure. But is it an actual 1956 Precision?? Unlikely. JAUQO III-X 06-14-2009, 09:31 PM worth checking out - if your local (and flush). BTW - your amp is shipping tomorrow Mike :hyper: Thanks Mike. Matt Dean 06-14-2009, 10:06 PM Did '56 P's have through body strings? jtkennedy9 06-14-2009, 10:14 PM I think they did...but I didn't think Sunburst came out until 1957...might be wrong, though... rcarraher 06-14-2009, 10:19 PM http://chicago.craigslist.org/wcl/msg/1221739794.html There is another Thread Open on this. Yes, if he is posting it in many different cities CL, thne he is most likely a scam, but like I said in the other thread, I have found some "almost" to good stuff on CL thatwas ligit. If your interested in it, contact a reputable shop/store in the area and offer to pay them to check out the bass. If the guy is on the up and up, he won't complain or make excuses, if he is a scam, he won't even show up. jtkennedy9 06-14-2009, 10:20 PM Sorry, it was 1958 when Sunburst came out on the Precision...my bad...but definitely not a 1956...bogus! JAUQO III-X 06-14-2009, 10:36 PM There is another Thread Open on this. Yes, if he is posting it in many different cities CL, thne he is most likely a scam, but like I said in the other thread, I have found some "almost" to good stuff on CL thatwas ligit. If your interested in it, contact a reputable shop/store in the area and offer to pay them to check out the bass. If the guy is on the up and up, he won't complain or make excuses, if he is a scam, he won't even show up. I posted the link because from looking at the pics,one could see that the bass is not legit. JimmyM 06-14-2009, 11:46 PM That's not even a good price for a reissue. Looks like a poly finish from here, too. Oh well...caviar emptor. fenderphil 06-15-2009, 12:23 AM skunk stripe headstock access trussrod. thats a MIM EthanTheBassist 06-15-2009, 12:33 AM I don't know much about vintage basses, but what gives it away is that he never calls it a bass. Well, its labeled "bass" but I don't know about you guys, but I never call my bass a guitar...ever. Its either a bass or a bass guitar never just guitar though. :) JimmyM 06-15-2009, 12:34 AM He did say it was his grandfather's. If he has no interest in playing it, he wouldn't know what to call it. But trust me...that guy is playing dumb. He knows exactly what it is. EthanTheBassist 06-15-2009, 12:39 AM Yeah, you're probably right JimmyM. I just look at the world from a musical standpoint (like we all do i'm sure), so I try to get instrument names right. Can't expect everyone to get it right all the time though. But yeah, in this case, he knows what it is. dmusic148 06-15-2009, 01:01 AM If it were legit, wouldn't it be worth double or triple what he's asking? JimmyM 06-15-2009, 01:02 AM It would be worth about 10x that price. A bass that clean would be worth pretty much what he wants to sell it for. ashtray 06-15-2009, 01:16 AM Basically on craigslist, if it seems too good to be true, 99 times out of 100, it is. Walk away. Either they're collecting email addy's, or phone numbers, or fishing you in for a scam that involves sending money to a collector, who then sends the funds overseas. You'll get nothing in return. How to tell if it's a scam? For starters, if the seller knows what exact year the instrument was made (for a vintage instrument), but priced it way too low - that's a red flag. And recently I've been seeing a LOT of things for sale for uneven dollar amounts - like $2638, or $1299. Most of the legit ads will be for $500, or $900. Not weird amounts. And I don't reply to ads that say "send me your phone number first" - b/c I'm afraid they get my phone number, trace it to my home address, and then know I collect expensive basses... asking for trouble! (luckily I don't have an easily traceable phone number...) MIJ-VI 06-15-2009, 04:56 AM Scam? Or 'Sting'..? :D |