Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Double Bass Forums > Basses [DB]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Basses [DB] Discussion on the instrument: double bass, string bass, contrabass, bass viol, acoustic bass, upright bass, standup bass, bass fiddle, bass violin, doghouse bass, bull fiddle... :)


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Question about a seller

I have a couple of basses for sale. I received an e-mail several weeks ago which read kind of odd but I replied asking that the seller telephone me and giving him my 'phone number. I nver heard from him again until today. He wants the adress to which he should mail a cashier's check, and my pick-up address. His mover will come to pick up my bass. He "assumes" the bass in in good condition and does not have time to check it out.

The guy's initials are TM and he has a gmail acct. Has anyone has a similar experience.

Me smellum rat.
Sign in to disble this ad
  #2  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:05 PM
jmattbassplaya's Avatar
I'm gonna love and tolerate the **** out of you!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Memphis/Knoxville TN
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass Barrister View Post
I have a couple of basses for sale. I received an e-mail several weeks ago which read kind of odd but I replied asking that the seller telephone me and giving him my 'phone number. I nver heard from him again until today. He wants the adress to which he should mail a cashier's check, and my pick-up address. His mover will come to pick up my bass. He "assumes" the bass in in good condition and does not have time to check it out.

The guy's initials are TM and he has a gmail acct. Has anyone has a similar experience.

Me smellum rat.
Those are scams.
__________________
LGBT Club #10 Brony #6

My band:
Tame the Hurricane

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=2874409788484

Quote:
Originally Posted by BartmanPDX View Post
I'm not sure Maki could do better. That's high praise indeed.
  #3  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:10 PM
Hqubed's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Supporting Member
SCAM. I have a bass for sale also. Get these a couple of times a month, usually a gmail address, but sometimes other isps. I respond politely and professionally as I believe an honest person should. Never know, could be someone who is real and just has some struggles, but I do not (and suggest you also do not) provide my phone or physcial addressbut ask them for theirs. As with you a couple of weeks later I received a second email wanting my banking info so they can send payment and arrange pick. At that time I always stipulate PayPal payment in advance of, or cash at the time of pick up. As one might suspect I have yet to receive a payment or further email of a mover, courier, or anyone else showing up with cash to take the bass. This is a scam looking for account and personal information.

Last edited by Hqubed : 07-02-2010 at 05:25 AM.
  #4  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:33 PM
fdeck's Avatar
Registered User

Maker of HPF-Pre upright bass preamp
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Madison WI
Supporting Member
"Cashiers check" and "my agent will come to pick it up for me" are classic red flags for the Nigerian scam. From what I understand, a fake cashiers check can take a long time after you get your cash, for the bank to find out that the check is counterfeit, and then to come back to you for their money.
__________________
DIY gear articles and HPF-Pre
  #5  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denver-CO-USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdeck View Post
"Cashiers check" and "my agent will come to pick it up for me" are classic red flags for the Nigerian scam. From what I understand, a fake cashiers check can take a long time after you get your cash, for the bank to find out that the check is counterfeit, and then to come back to you for their money.
yes. also he may send a cashier's check for an amount greater than the purchase, and he'll come up with some story just so you have to wire some money back to him or someone else in his family, and he might even offer to kick back a little money in case you help him out.
It happened to me when I tried to sell a car. although I didn't go for it. Instead of depositing the cashier's check in my account, I went to the agency that had issued the cashier's check. And guess what??? the cashier's check was actually legit, but it had been cashed about a month prior to our transaction.
__________________
"Think of your ears as eyes"

__________________________________

Bijoux

Colorado Club #27

www.myspace.com/bijouxmusic
  #6  
Old 07-02-2010, 02:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Tennessee
I had an almost identical message when selling a golf cart over Craigslist last year. They never mentioned "golf cart" instead referring to the "item." It smelled like a rat so I ignored it.
__________________
I have nothing clever or catchy to say.
  #7  
Old 07-02-2010, 02:49 PM
Staccato's Avatar
Hammer On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Babbling Brook
Supporting Member
Tell him to meet you at a bank branch (of your choosing) with CASH-himself-not is agent, and you will bring the amp! And, you will not hear back, go figure!

Muhuahahua...
__________________
Bass Player Couples #9
“To play without passion is inexcusable!” ― Ludwig van Beethoven
  #8  
Old 07-02-2010, 02:50 PM
JMac4strngr's Avatar
Stuck somewhere in the 90's
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Supporting Member
Any broken English? That is also a dead giveaway. I used to get those emails everytime I was trying to sell something on CL, I finally quit getting them when I mentioned "Paypal or cash only sale" in the add.
  #9  
Old 07-03-2010, 09:13 AM
Phil Smith's Avatar
Mr Sumisu 2 U

Developer: iGigBook®
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Peoples Republic of Brooklyn
Send a message via AIM to Phil Smith Send a message via Yahoo to Phil Smith
Supporting Member
It's a scam, but it would be nice to give him some address other than your home i.e. a mail boxes etc so that they can send the phoney cashiers check and then discover who the pickup agent is and then have the police deal with them.
  #10  
Old 07-03-2010, 01:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, Ontario
We often get an email saying so-and-so's son/daughter is coming to live here for the summer and wants to take piano/guitar/bass lessons everyday while here. They also say they want our address so they can send a cashiers' cheque, etc.

If you think something is a scam, check out snopes.com it'll probably be mentioned there.
  #11  
Old 07-03-2010, 06:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by bejoyous View Post
We often get an email saying so-and-so's son/daughter is coming to live here for the summer and wants to take piano/guitar/bass lessons everyday while here. They also say they want our address so they can send a cashiers' cheque, etc.
This exact same scam was tried on Alexander teachers. They were stupid enough to send the same email at the same time to all the teachers in the US.
__________________
Certified to teach the Alexander Technique. see donaldhigdon.com
  #12  
Old 07-03-2010, 08:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, Ontario
I think if most scammers put as much effort into a legitimate business as they do their scams, they'd probably be millionaires!
  #13  
Old 07-03-2010, 08:57 PM
JMac4strngr's Avatar
Stuck somewhere in the 90's
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by bejoyous View Post
I think if most scammers put as much effort into a legitimate business as they do their scams, they'd probably be millionaires!
My thoughts exactly, wouldn't it seem a hell of a lot less risky and stressful to get a real job.
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:25 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.