Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Amps [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-19-2011, 06:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Craigslist scam?

Sign in to disble this ad
I'm selling a bass cab on craigslist, I got a reply from someone. I replied letting him know the cab is still available. I then get this message from a different email address, but from the same person.



Thanks for the swift response.please I will still like to make an
instant purchase so i would appreciate it if you can withdraw the ad
from Craigslist.i don't mind adding an extra $40 for you to takethe
ad down from criagslist,i want to be rest assured that nobody
else
gets a hold of he item.I will also like you to know that i willbe
paying via company certified cashier check.It will be overnight
payment
due to the distance.i will take care of that.i will need youto provide
me with the following infomation to facilitate the mailing
of the check:-

1.Your full name.
2.Your mailing address[residential].
3.Your phone number.
**I
am located in Las Vegas but currently on a business trip.I would also
like to pay asap and my sister's mover will come pick it up but i
hope that it is still in a very good condition?Have a splendid
weekend
Regards
-------

Does this seem like a scam? I'm kind of weary.
  #2  
Old 04-19-2011, 06:56 PM
Cirk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Newport News, VA
Supporting Member
Oh yeah, that's a scam. Don't even respond.
__________________
Old Basstards Club #113
Yeah toast!

For sale/trade: Milbert BaM235 all-tube car stereo amp
  #3  
Old 04-19-2011, 06:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Nude Zealand
Definitely scam; lots of posts about versions of this in recent past.
__________________
Christopher 401T / Gage Realist Soundclip / Fishman Pro-EQ Platinum Bass / fdeck HPF-Pre Series 2
NS Design CR4M EUB / TC Electronic RH450 & Markbass F1 / BFM Jack 112
  #4  
Old 04-19-2011, 06:57 PM
BurningSkies's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Seweracuse, NY
Supporting Member
Of course its a scam.
__________________
fEARful: for those who want something better: http://greenboy.us/fEARful/


For Sale (locally only): Bergantino HT115 with Cover: $500.00. PM me about it.

  #5  
Old 04-19-2011, 06:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Isn't there a site full of all the craigs list scams?
Doesn't Craig's list tell you to read it?
__________________
"The good thing about science is that it’s true whether or not you believe in it." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson 2011
  #6  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Supporting Member
Nope
  #7  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
craigslist | about > scams
__________________
"The good thing about science is that it’s true whether or not you believe in it." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson 2011
  #8  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
I received one of the messages the other day as well, but i'm still stuck with this bass :/
  #9  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Thanks for the help.
  #10  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:13 PM
ErnieD's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Atascocita,TX.
Supporting Member
Yeah, sucks...

I have two cabs on Craigslist for a couple days now and I got replies on each one. One made me suspicious right away as the single sentence was " is this item still for sale?"

Most guys, at least I do, reply with I'm interested in your "XX brand/model cab", something that refers to the actual item for sale plus some more detail questions. I ignored that first one but the second one seemed more legit and he strung me along for a couple days. Saying he wanted to come out n listen to it, where do I live, then something about having a speeech impediment, ***? So I reply my general vicinity, when I could be home, more details of my cab.

His next reply is, I want to buy it for my niece in NY. I have to leave to NY myself but I will def buy it by sending you this cashiers check for more than your asking price, yadda, yadda.....y'all pretty much no the rest. Stupid scammers just wasting my time.

When I read that and recognise the typical scam words, I started to fire back a tirade email. But instead I just hit the "spam" button on that email. I wasted enough time already on them.
  #11  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Tell him "OK" then if the "mover" shows up for the cab make him wish he didn't, haha...
  #12  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Detroit
people still fall for this?
__________________
2005 Fender AV '62 Precision - Peavey VB-2
  #13  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:21 PM
Registered User

Endorsing: Traynor Cabinets
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Saskatchewan Canada
I'd be WARY of scams like this...
  #14  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:21 PM
ErikW's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: White Plains, Maryland 20695
Supporting Member
Heck, it's not much better on TB! Had five different people in a row say they were going to buy my pbass and none of them could come through. Last guy even said he mailed a money order. Then he disappeared from TB. Even had some good feedback. What the heck is wrong with people?!!
__________________
Bad Penny
  #15  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:26 PM
chris1125's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikW View Post
Heck, it's not much better on TB! Had five different people in a row say they were going to buy my pbass and none of them could come through. Last guy even said he mailed a money order. Then he disappeared from TB. Even had some good feedback. What the heck is wrong with people?!!
Wow... That's terrible! Why would somebody do that?

If I got a message liek the craiglist one I would just say sorry cash or paypal only and it stays up untill payment is recieved. Do people who do these things have troubel speaking english or soemthing? What is that??? What a joke.
  #16  
Old 04-19-2011, 08:15 PM
Registered User

Endorsing: Traynor Cabinets
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Saskatchewan Canada
People are broke! And gas gets the better of us sometimes eye guess...
  #17  
Old 04-19-2011, 08:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
If his shipper is coming to get it, surely he can bring cash...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan R. Tyler View Post
Until I can get my fingers to sound like envelope filters, there's always going to be a reason for effects.
  #18  
Old 04-19-2011, 08:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
I have never sold anything on the CL just because I'm tired of these.

Heck, I got an email about a TB sale just like it.
__________________
SWEET ZOMBIE JESUS!
  #19  
Old 04-19-2011, 08:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
I've seen this scam (and several others like it) and have reported it to CL. Report it. It is a fraud scam, and done from an out of state entity makes it a federal offense. I reported my experiences to CL and the FBI - I was told that there is indeed a task force in place dealing with CL fraud.

Good luck with the sale.
__________________
http://heddatheband.com/
Skjold Club Member #41
U.S. Peavey Cirrus Club Member #35
Epifani Club Member #67
  #20  
Old 04-19-2011, 08:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Detroit area, Troy, MI
The certified check is a phony. Its good enough to get through the first round of checking, so your bank cashes the check in a few days to a week, your bank thinks its good, so you think its good. You give them the merchandise.

Meanwhile the check winds its way back to the issuing bank in a couple of weeks to a month, which detects the fraud, and the transaction rolls back at your bank, the check bounces, meanwhile you've given them the merchandise because you thought the check cleared already.

Randy
__________________
"They eat their wounded"
Praise & Worship Bassist Club # 727
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.