|  | | 
12-13-2010, 04:24 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Maryland, USA | | | Is this a scam?
Sign in to disble this ad
I put (an amp) for $300 on Craiglist and someone contacted me to buy it.
I got the below email from the person and am not sure if I can trust this person. Thoughts?
*****
How was your day ? I want you to understand that the deal is on and my secretary as posted the payment already. This arrives shortly but there was a slight error i guess we can correct, instead of the actually amount $300 for the item, it was misinterpreted that the check was made out for $2350, My secretary claimed that i requested that a check of $2350 to, so it was a terrible mistake and it was already out for delivery to your address before i was alerted about this, so i do request for your help here once you receive the check
please cash it at once and deduct the money for your item plus $100 which will be for the stress you are going to pass through from me and for your running around . The excess fund should please be sent to my mover via western union once you receive the check... Hope i can trust you with this? i will get back to you with my mover information If so please do get back to me as soon as possible you read my message...
__________________
2004 Fender USA Precision (Butterscotch, maple)
2005 Geddy Neck + '62 RI J Body (3TSB)
Last edited by Thor : 12-14-2010 at 01:46 PM.
Reason: Took out the non FS ad info
| 
12-13-2010, 04:27 AM
|  | Registered User | | | | | Scam; you'll find another buyer. If you think he/she is genuine, send the cheque back to where to came from and request fresh proper payment. Do not in any circumstances do any financial processing or favours on behalf of the buyer.
__________________
co-opted into:
Lefty Union, serial no: 111
DIY Custom Bass Club, serial no: 19.
Last edited by synaesthesia : 12-13-2010 at 04:29 AM.
| 
12-13-2010, 04:27 AM
| | Registered User pedal / amps - MAMMOTHsound | | Join Date: Apr 2009 Location: sheffield, uk | | | hahaha
__________________
riffriff.
| 
12-13-2010, 04:30 AM
|  | Keepin' the Groove Alive ! | | Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: Stax 1966 | | | Big time scam, and, unfortunately, happens alot on Craiglist. The check is bogus. Also, don't open up any links that are sent to you in an email.
__________________
R.I.P Duck Dunn, 2012.
| 
12-13-2010, 04:31 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Philly Area | | | Are you a troll? If you really need someone to tell you that's a scam, then I don't know if there's much hope for you at all...
-John | 
12-13-2010, 04:34 AM
|  | Everybody Wang Chung Tonight | | Join Date: Nov 2010 Location: Houston Tx | | | Craigslist + Western Union = Scam | 
12-13-2010, 04:36 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Jul 2010 Location: Piermont, New York | | | Yes, it is a scam. | 
12-13-2010, 04:42 AM
|  | Vinny Boombats | | Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: Toronto Ontario, Canada | | | Craigs List is a JOKE for crap like this. Add this idiot to your spam or phishing filter list and post your add on Kijiji...
Rule of thumb. If it sounds to good to be true. It usually is...
__________________ Can Ya Smell Da Funk??? _________________________ Fender MIA Club# 157 Fender Jazz Bass Club# 61 Geddy Lee Club# 146 | 
12-13-2010, 04:43 AM
| | | No, it's legit.
Send the guy $2050.00 and your (amp).
Does that sound as stupid to you as it does me?
Matt
btw- yes, it's a scam
__________________
P&W#261-DIY Custom#10-Mediocre Bassist#64-Redneck Bassist#47 -Outhouseinstruments.weebly.com - Artist Formerly Known As Matt -
Last edited by Thor : 12-14-2010 at 01:47 PM.
Reason: Removed FS info
| 
12-13-2010, 04:50 AM
|  | Uber Bass Geek :p | | Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Middle GA | | where do these people come from 
__________________ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ AV-57-Reissue Precision bass
SVT4-Pro into a Schroeder 21012R ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ | 
12-13-2010, 04:50 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Nov 2010 Location: Missouri | | | "I want you to understand that the deal is on..."
I think I'm gonna use that line right before I rip into a vicious bass solo! | 
12-13-2010, 04:52 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Maryland, USA | | Quote: |
Are you a troll? If you really need someone to tell you that's a scam, then I don't know if there's much hope for you at all...
| Don't be so hostile. It was my 1st ever CL posting. I was never going to hand the mover one cent. I knew it was a scam but just wanted to make sure.
Now, assuming that the person sends me a bogus check, should I contact authorities? Making a bogus check is a crime, isn't it?
__________________
2004 Fender USA Precision (Butterscotch, maple)
2005 Geddy Neck + '62 RI J Body (3TSB)
| 
12-13-2010, 04:59 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Canada | | Quote:
Originally Posted by blastjv Are you a troll? If you really need someone to tell you that's a scam, then I don't know if there's much hope for you at all...
-John | Pretty sure you're doing the trolling here.
__________________
Ω | Fender Precision Club #267 | Ampeg Club #874
| 
12-13-2010, 04:59 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jul 2010 Location: Chester, Pa.,USA | | | It's a variation of the infamous Nigerian e-mail check scam.
__________________
You can call me ...Cliff.
I think we're all Bozos on this bus.
| 
12-13-2010, 05:01 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jul 2010 Location: Chester, Pa.,USA | | Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisk-K Don't be so hostile. It was my 1st ever CL posting. I was never going to hand the mover one cent. I knew it was a scam but just wanted to make sure.
Now, assuming that the person sends me a bogus check, should I contact authorities? Making a bogus check is a crime, isn't it? | Yes, I would at least check with the authorities, see what they have to say.
__________________
You can call me ...Cliff.
I think we're all Bozos on this bus.
| 
12-13-2010, 05:02 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jul 2010 Location: Chester, Pa.,USA | | Quote:
Originally Posted by blastjv Are you a troll? If you really need someone to tell you that's a scam, then I don't know if there's much hope for you at all...
-John | Dude, that is WAY outta line.
__________________
You can call me ...Cliff.
I think we're all Bozos on this bus.
| 
12-13-2010, 05:07 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Takoma Park, MD (DC) | | | Looks legit to me. | 
12-13-2010, 05:13 AM
|  | Registered User | | | | Quote:
Originally Posted by C.Linton Dude, that is WAY outta line. | +419
__________________
co-opted into:
Lefty Union, serial no: 111
DIY Custom Bass Club, serial no: 19.
| 
12-13-2010, 05:17 AM
|  | Registered User | | | | Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisk-K Now, assuming that the person sends me a bogus check, should I contact authorities? Making a bogus check is a crime, isn't it? | Send it to the police with the address, it will be a bogus cheque. The oddity about a bogus a cheque is that in many banks it will be accepted and will show as possible/positive credit in your account for a short period, leading people to believe that it will be processed. Don't cash it.
__________________
co-opted into:
Lefty Union, serial no: 111
DIY Custom Bass Club, serial no: 19.
| 
12-13-2010, 05:23 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Maryland, USA | | | I'll contact the police once the cheque arrives.
As for the amp, I'll just trade in at GC. I just need a light practice amp such as a Roland Cube that I can easily move around at my home.
__________________
2004 Fender USA Precision (Butterscotch, maple)
2005 Geddy Neck + '62 RI J Body (3TSB)
| | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | |