Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Strings [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Old 02-09-2013, 12:20 AM

Putting Flats on my new bass just BLEW MY MIND ! Thank you TB

Well... I've been playing bass for just on 20 years now, and I remember the very first bass I borrowed, to have a go on (before going out and buying my own, first, 2nd hand bass later that night in a fit of excitement and not wanting to be without one ever again... ha ha...) had flats on it... but ever since that very first borrowed bass, I'm almost embarrased to say, all my electric basses have had roundwounds on them. My preffered playing style and tone for the most part is aggresive near the bridge, but also also play with a pick, slap, and all around the place with my right hand... it just never occured to me to try flats, ever...
Only after reading posts here (I joined recently about the excitement over flats and other string types did I think, oh, maybe I should try something different after all these years
So I ordered a set of GHS Precision 45-105 for my new fun bass (Squier CV 50's P Bass with '51 fender re-issue pup) and it has BLOWN MY MIND ! I absolutely love them !
The first two days were a bit weird, the tone was amazing but the strings felt so strange and I really had to play for quite a few hours before I adjusted to them, but after a solid week of mucking about, I can't put this bass down... so much fun to play it's crazy.
Just wanted to share my new found joy in Flats and thank everyone here for giving me so much food for thought... discovering TalkBass has really re-ignighted my passion for bass and playing gigs, I have even bought new basses and gear after ten years of not changing a thing... it's great !
Old 02-09-2013, 12:27 AM