Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Strings [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-02-2011, 09:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Question about these inexpensive strings I found.

Sign in to disble this ad
Please bear with me here. I know this post has a lot of words but I wanted to make sure I gave all the information I have in order to be clear.

I found a set of strings on Ebay with the following specs 40-60-80-100-125, steel wrapped, extra long. I got these from a store called Al’s Music Source. He said the brand of the strings are BassMods.

A little checking revealed these results. A seller called AMS Music (Als Music Source?) has a set of these identical strings on Amazon.com except that the gauge is 45-65-85-105-130. Unfortunately the ad on Amazon.com doesn’t say what the scale length is.

Further checking took me to BassMods.com where I found that this fellow in California who somebody in one of these forum’s called Al is selling custom basses, pre-amps, cables and some other things, but absolutely no strings whatsoever. I’ve e-mailed the store on E-bay (Al’s Music Source) and Amazon (AMS Music) to see if I can get some clarification but have yet to get a response.

Okay, to the point. These are really nice strings at a really cheap price (nice looking too with the red silk wrappings on each end) and I want to be a regular customer for this product.

However, it’s not enough for me to just continue to purchase what is available on Ebay and Amazon and be satisfied with that because I’m greedy and I would like an assortment of gauges and scale lengths to choose from so that I can experiment with my two basses, one of which is a 34” Ibanez and the other a 35” Peavey.

At these prices I can afford to do that. Long story short, does anybody have information on this store/brand/person that they can impart? If there is another way to get at these products other than these two sources I’d sure like to know what it is.

Last edited by RJjr. : 09-02-2011 at 10:04 AM.
  #2  
Old 09-02-2011, 09:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
OP's post, non "Wall of Text" version:
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJjr. View Post
Please bear with me here. I know this post has a lot of words but I wanted to make sure I gave all the information I have in order to be clear.

I found a set of strings on Ebay with the following specs 40-60-80-100-125, steel wrapped, extra long. I got these from a store called Al’s Music Source. He said the brand of the strings are BassMods.

A little checking revealed these results. A seller called AMS Music (Als Music Source?) has a set of these identical strings on Amazon.com except that the gauge is 45-65-85-105-130. Unfortunately the ad on Amazon.com doesn’t say what the scale length is.

Further checking took me to BassMods.com where I found that this fellow in California who somebody in one of these forum’s called Al is selling custom basses, pre-amps, cables and some other things, but absolutely no strings whatsoever. I’ve e-mailed the store on E-bay (Al’s Music Source) and Amazon (AMS Music) to see if I can get some clarification but have yet to get a response.

Okay, to the point. These are really nice strings at a really cheap price (nice looking too with the red silk wrappings on each end) and I want to be a regular customer for this product.

However, it’s not enough for me to just continue to purchase what is available on Ebay and Amazon and be satisfied with that because I’m greedy and I would like an assortment of gauges and scale lengths to choose from so that I can experiment with my two basses, one of which is a 34” Ibanez and the other a 35” Peavey.

At these prices I can afford to do that. Long story short, does anybody have information on this store/brand/person that they can impart? If there is another way to get at these products other than these two sources I’d sure like to know what it is.
  #3  
Old 09-02-2011, 09:59 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
That's real considerate of you there, Lemon. Is this an etiquette thing?
  #4  
Old 09-02-2011, 10:09 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJjr. View Post
That's real considerate of you there, Lemon. Is this an etiquette thing?
Nah, It makes it easier to read, so you'll get the help you want.
  #5  
Old 09-22-2011, 06:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Have you tried these yet? If so, what did you think?
  #6  
Old 09-23-2011, 07:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
This is the reply on 9.02.2011 that I got from the seller on Ebay after I asked whether he could discount the strings if bought in bulk.

Hello, To be honest the prices are as low as we can sell for it's kinda hard to go lower than 12.95 for a 5 set.
We also own Bass Mods . We just launched our new website and we are adding parts as we go along, we wanted the focus at 1st to be on our basses.
We have our strings made to are specs by a known string company and buy in bulk to get for good price. The string are really nice for this price, I use on all my basses
and don't miss paying 31.00 for a set of name brand strings.
Thanks


I like the strings. I originally bought them for my 35" Cirrus, but decided to put them on my SRX705. They fit that bass very nicely sound-wise. As far as the length, the only problem is aesthetic as the red wrapping on the end of the string starts a bit higher toward the machine head than it should. They still look nice though.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.