Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Classifieds > Hot Deals
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hot Deals Find and post hot deal discoveries. Please, no: commercial users, spam, auction links, multi-level marketing, 'pay to surf', or referral links. Please see rules posted within.


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-19-2008, 06:25 PM
Honk'n_down-low's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New England
Supporting Member
56 P-Bass $2500??? Just posting

Sign in to disble this ad
http://boston.craigslist.org/nwb/msg/761807790.html
__________________
Fender | Spector | Lakland #384 | GK | MarkBass | SWR | Mesa | Ampeg B15N (on the way).
© 2011 Honk’n_down-low : )
Whatchutalkinbout Willis
  #2  
Old 07-20-2008, 12:42 AM
M5Yates's Avatar
Need for Speed
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honk'n_down-low View Post
It's a scammer. He's posted that to Craigslist all over the country. It gets flagged pretty quickly.
__________________
Wal Mk III 5-String for Sale
  #3  
Old 07-20-2008, 05:03 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Westchester County, NY
This another version of the "Nigerian Money Order scam".

They put up pics of a real vintage instrument at a stupid price..and when you ask to come see it they start the same old bs "I am out of the country on business but you can send payment to...."

I have seen another recent post like this with a CAR '65 Strat for $4500

__________________
Spector Club Member #202
Sadowsky Club Member #115
GregC Bass Cult Member #3

Last edited by GDCX : 07-20-2008 at 04:18 PM.
  #4  
Old 07-20-2008, 08:49 AM
Banned

Endorsing Artist: MLaghus Custom Basses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boca Raton - FL
I see dozens of these every day. It gets deleted very quickly.
  #5  
Old 07-20-2008, 10:54 AM
Banned

Endorsing Artist: MLaghus Custom Basses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boca Raton - FL
Just for our amusement, here's the "copy and paste" reply from john_tuckerx1@juno.com , also known as Mr. Scammer... Enjoy...

Hello there,
Thank you for your email.I'm an US Air Force Lieutenant currently stationed in North Dakota at a military base.Back in 1957 my late father-in-law purchased this guitar brand new, in hopes of becoming a great guitar player. However, after a few lessons, he realized it was not going to be his thing, so he put the guitar away in it's case for safe keeping. He kept this guitar over the years, and it was rarely ever taken out. Therefore it remains in like-new condition. My father-in-law recently passed away so i am selling it cause i will be sent back to Iraq and i don't want it be lost in my house.It will be shipped directly to your address.
The asking price is $2500US, shipping included. You will receive it in
2-3 working days at your home address. The payment is fully refundable. If for any reason you do not accept the unit or if it has scratches, hidden defects, or it is not as
advertised I will even pay for the shipping back to my location if you
reject it but i'm sure that it won't happen cause it works and
looks perfectly.
I believe it's a large transaction and would like to conduct the deal using an authorized third party as eBay using their Purchase Protection Program , so that should eliminate any trust issues.ONLY AFTER you receive the guitar and you inspect it, eBay will release the payment to me, in this way we are both protected.
If you are a serious buyer and still interested in this guitar please reply with your full name and shipping address so we get the ball rolling. I will forward your details to ebay and they will notify you regarding our deal.
Thank you,
If you need more pics just ask.
Thanks.
  #6  
Old 07-20-2008, 11:29 AM
bassteban's Avatar
*kidding*
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern California
Supporting Member
The English has improved ever so slightly, yet...

*Truman Capote voice on*
Use your G*****n pronouns!
Name that reference, if you think you can.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Some chick on NPR View Post
THAT is a spectacularly difficult question...
  #7  
Old 07-20-2008, 12:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
so how does he get money out of people then? If he puts it on ebay that's actually true, buyers are protected...
  #8  
Old 07-21-2008, 04:31 AM
Banned

Endorsing Artist: MLaghus Custom Basses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boca Raton - FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by xampworshipx View Post
so how does he get money out of people then? If he puts it on ebay that's actually true, buyers are protected...
This is not your typical ebay. He will make a escrow website and pretend that it's from ebay. Then your money is gone... This has been around for several years now...
  #9  
Old 07-24-2008, 03:56 PM
Registered User

Endorsing Artist: Lakland Basses
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mississippi / Memphis, TN
saw this also and got the same email response........
__________________
"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace"

Lakland Owners Group #92

http://www.lakland.com/evan-murphy.htm
  #10  
Old 07-24-2008, 04:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: PR of Greenbelt, MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassteban View Post
*Truman Capote voice on*
Use your G*****n pronouns!
Name that reference, if you think you can.
"Murder by Death." One of the best comic mysteries ever.
__________________
+= unbasslichkeit =+
Quote:
Originally Posted by plangentmusic View Post
I hope you have an ugly wife, otherwise you may have to die.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:38 AM.




Copyright ©2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All right reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.