Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Classifieds > Hot Deals
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hot Deals Find and post hot deal discoveries. Please, no: commercial users, spam, auction links, multi-level marketing, 'pay to surf', or referral links. Please see rules posted within.


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-13-2010, 02:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
68 jazz? 800 bucks

Sign in to disble this ad
Here is the CL ad chicago

Why don't I trust it?

http://chicago.craigslist.org/nch/msg/2110922897.html


_______________________________________________

vintage fender jazz bass guitar 1968 - $800
Date: 2010-12-13, 1:59PM CST
Reply to: sale-f6dgm-2110922897@craigslist.org [Errors when replying to ads?]

Nice old vintage fender jazz bass. I was told it was a 1968 and all original. It has a rose wood fret board with mother of pearl inlays. Most of the body has been sanded down to the wood which is beatiful but can be painted. There is a chip in the pick gaurd, top right corner. The bass plays good and everything works, except the truss rod is no longer adjustable. Has a guitar case that I bought new. Thank you.



eco-uimis
  #2  
Old 12-13-2010, 03:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
looks old but if its to good to be true it almost always is, not to mention its so worn it would be hard to tell what it is unless you remove the neck possibly
  #3  
Old 12-13-2010, 05:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: California
Thoroughly trashed, broken trussrod, one of the worst CBS years...

I don't see the appeal.
__________________
"There's no helping nor educating a fool." -- My percipient grandfather
  #4  
Old 12-13-2010, 06:45 PM
dave88's Avatar
used to play 5's, then I took an arrow in the knee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Supporting Member
Why is 68 one of the worst CBS years? It's not like it's a 3-bolt.
  #5  
Old 12-13-2010, 08:11 PM
engedi1's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Supporting Member
I wouldn't buy a bass with a broken truss rod. I actually DID that once, and then got really burned when I moved from WA to AZ and the neck bow made it unplayable and unfixable.
  #6  
Old 12-13-2010, 08:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
What's the serial number?

Get a new neck and a refin...all good to go.

With new case. Not too bad.
  #7  
Old 12-13-2010, 08:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
+1 on asking the seller for a serial
  #8  
Old 12-14-2010, 04:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Italy
just an update-

sent an email to the guy. this is the reply:

Hello

Yes the unit is available but I am out of state now because I work at Red Cross and I'm traveling a lot. Now I am in United Kingdom with them. This is not a problem because I know a very good shipping company who can help us with this transaction. If you are interested please let me know for I can tell you the details.

Thank you


I don't know you, but it smells pretty bad to me...
__________________
... in the sun I feel as one...
  #9  
Old 12-14-2010, 05:11 AM
fenderhutz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Supporting Member
Scamtastic!
  #10  
Old 12-14-2010, 07:03 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Lol scam.
  #11  
Old 12-14-2010, 07:44 AM
sleepy_monkey's Avatar
Modulus, Ampeg, and Boss oh my!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Supporting Member
100% a scam. This is the email I received from "John Tucker"

Hello

Yes the unit is available but I am out of state now because I work at Red Cross and I'm traveling a lot. Now I am in United Kingdom with them. This is not a problem because I know a very good shipping company who can help us with this transaction. If you are interested please let me know for I can tell you the details.

Thank you
__________________
Modulus Mob Member #37
Ampeg Club Member #215
5 String Bass Club Member #134
FS: 1981 Fender P Bass in Sienna Sunburst w/OHSC
  #12  
Old 12-14-2010, 08:42 AM
sleepy_monkey's Avatar
Modulus, Ampeg, and Boss oh my!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Supporting Member
And after I asked about further details (knowing it was a scam):

Hello

I use uShip for the deal.You can check their company on www.uShip.com is 100% safe for both of us .I need your full name and address for I can start the shipping to you and they will send you an invoice in which they will mention all the transaction details The shipping is free for you. The transaction is pretty simple : you will receive the invoice from them and this mean that I sent the unit and after you receive this invoice you must send the money through Western Union . Immediately after the transfer will be checked you will have the unit. Nobody can't take the money until you receive and decide if you keep it or not. If the unit has a problem or something that is wrong the agent from uShip will take the unit from you and he will give you all the money back Everything is through uShip and Craiglist for it can be secured for both of us. I wait for your mail.

Thank you
__________________
Modulus Mob Member #37
Ampeg Club Member #215
5 String Bass Club Member #134
FS: 1981 Fender P Bass in Sienna Sunburst w/OHSC
  #13  
Old 12-14-2010, 08:45 AM
sleepy_monkey's Avatar
Modulus, Ampeg, and Boss oh my!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Supporting Member
Next response from me:
My name is Yora Scamma.

Address is: 1080 Cheked Yaself Rd West Compton, CA 65142

Where should I send the money?
__________________
Modulus Mob Member #37
Ampeg Club Member #215
5 String Bass Club Member #134
FS: 1981 Fender P Bass in Sienna Sunburst w/OHSC
  #14  
Old 12-14-2010, 08:53 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Sleepy Monkey,

I'm laughing out loud... thanks for that..
  #15  
Old 12-14-2010, 11:11 AM
capnjim's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Supporting Member
I sent him a couple of e-mails.
This was my last one:
"You can send me the bass, once I get it, I will send you a certified money order for 1500$..you then mail me back 400$ cash. I keep the 400$, but I send you another check for 100$ which you then cash and keep 80$ and send me a McDonalds 20$ gift certificate.
Does this sound good to you?"
__________________
Member #1 in the club of Me!
  #16  
Old 12-14-2010, 01:51 PM
sleepy_monkey's Avatar
Modulus, Ampeg, and Boss oh my!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Supporting Member
Haha.

He sent me a uship invoice with "Yora Scamma" as my name. Awesome.

I wonder how many unsuspecting people fall for these scammers. Terrible thing to so to someone.
__________________
Modulus Mob Member #37
Ampeg Club Member #215
5 String Bass Club Member #134
FS: 1981 Fender P Bass in Sienna Sunburst w/OHSC
  #17  
Old 12-14-2010, 02:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Supporting Member
I've been playing with him too. I asked about the condition of the bass and he replied "it is like new,withouth problems!". Funny, given the pictures!
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:21 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.