Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-18-2009, 08:45 PM
Registered User

Lead Designer, Zeibek Boutique Pedals
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hüstın, TX
A simple HipShot Tunning Machine Question

Sign in to disble this ad
A simple one really. I purchased a neck some time ago here and the tunning machines on it was advertised to be Hipshot. I didn't pay attention until I was trying to sell that neck. There is no logo on the back of the tuners, where you would normally see the Hipshot logo.

So, does Hipshot ever sell non-logo Ultralite machines? Or was I stupid enough not to spot a "soft" scam?
__________________
www.zeibek.com

Last edited by musicelectronix : 01-18-2009 at 08:57 PM.
  #2  
Old 01-18-2009, 08:57 PM
Registered User

Lead Designer, Zeibek Boutique Pedals
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hüstın, TX
Bump! I need a fast answer!
__________________
www.zeibek.com
  #3  
Old 01-18-2009, 09:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
I don't know, maybe call Hipshot in the morning? 800 262 5630. Ask for Jason, he seems to know what's up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesfunk View Post
I have trouble staying in shape because I'm a lazy, fat, piece of crap; not because I'm a musician.
  #4  
Old 01-20-2009, 05:04 PM
Zooberwerx's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
GOLD Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicelectronix View Post
A simple one really. I purchased a neck some time ago here and the tunning machines on it was advertised to be Hipshot. I didn't pay attention until I was trying to sell that neck. There is no logo on the back of the tuners, where you would normally see the Hipshot logo.

So, does Hipshot ever sell non-logo Ultralite machines? Or was I stupid enough not to spot a "soft" scam?
I have Hipshot tuners on both my Cirrus 5's. One has the logo, one does not. Go figure. I've also seen the satin chrome tuners with no logo as well. The imports say "Hipshot Lic'd".

Riis
__________________
"20% of the money will buy you 90% of the sound..another 30% of the money will buy you another 5% of the sound..you can't buy the remaining 5% of the sound because nobody can agree about what it is."
  #5  
Old 01-20-2009, 05:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
no, they don't always have the logo. And this isn't the place to ask - ask the folks at Hipshot, who are very responsive.
__________________
SWEET ZOMBIE JESUS!
  #6  
Old 01-21-2009, 08:07 PM
MNAirHead's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota - Twin Cities
Supporting Member
My RJ-4 is definately Hipshot.. definately no markings.

I have a hunch it depnends if it was sold aftermarket or OEM>
  #7  
Old 01-21-2009, 08:16 PM
Zooberwerx's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
GOLD Supporting Member
Come to think of it, I don't think I've ever seen a Hipshot knock-off or counterfeit. Anybody?

Riis
__________________
"20% of the money will buy you 90% of the sound..another 30% of the money will buy you another 5% of the sound..you can't buy the remaining 5% of the sound because nobody can agree about what it is."
  #8  
Old 01-21-2009, 10:50 PM
Registered User

Lead Designer, Zeibek Boutique Pedals
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hüstın, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigOldHarry View Post
no, they don't always have the logo. And this isn't the place to ask - ask the folks at Hipshot, who are very responsive.
Thanks for all the responses. It turns out machines are Hipshot, confirmed.

I asked the question on a Sunday night and the next day was Martin Luther King Jr. day. I was listing something on eBay and I kinda needed a fast answer. In any case, I do think this is one of the places to ask; regardless of the "responsiveness" of the Hipshot guys.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zooberwerx View Post
Come to think of it, I don't think I've ever seen a Hipshot knock-off or counterfeit. Anybody?

Riis
Me neither. I have seen a couple of "Ultralite type" machines though.
__________________
www.zeibek.com

Last edited by musicelectronix : 01-21-2009 at 10:53 PM.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.