Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Double Bass Forums > Bows and Rosin [DB]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Bows and Rosin [DB] Bass bows and rosin issues, makers, brands, choices, recommendations...


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-29-2006, 07:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brooklyn
Help!

The eBay got me again! I just bought this bow and I'm curious if I did the right thing. It's stamped Lous Morizot, which leads me to believe that it might be a fake, but not sure. Also, the weight freaks me out a bit, unless it's just listed wrong. I'm hoping that worst-case scenario is that I paid almost $70 with shipping for a $100 fake. I'll probably try it out either way, but just wanted some input. Thanks!
Sign in to disble this ad

Last edited by Chrix : 12-29-2006 at 07:41 PM.
  #2  
Old 12-30-2006, 04:36 PM
jfv jfv is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portland, OR
well, fake or not its still a question of how good a bow it is. Still
its not that much to lose. Oh, and the seller said the weight was
a typo, it is supposed to weigh 133 which is reasonable.

Be sure and report back on how it is when you get it, I'm curious.
__________________
Jack F. Vogel
jfvogel <at> gmail
  #3  
Old 12-30-2006, 08:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
What's in a name?

If you actually get an ebay bow for $70, then how could it be fake unless it's not a bow?? Whoever Louis (Loose, Louise, Louie, Luke, Lucifer, etc.?) Mozart, Morizart, Morizot you get the picture;- is, is not too important. For $70, that is just a footnote. Beware of authenticity on Ebay. It's almost always fake. Now if it was an actual bowmaker's name that might be different. Like this Lous Morizot: http://www.geigen-fischer.de/html/Fl...scher_1935.htm

But that eBay one doesn't look like it's made by the same hand.
__________________
Silversorcerer
There are no secrets, just ignorance or knowledge- Anonymous
  #4  
Old 12-30-2006, 10:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brooklyn
I guess asking if it was a fake was a bit optimistic. I was pretty sure of that soon after I saw it. More than anything, I just wanted to make sure that it's not a complete piece of junk. Of course I'll know best after I try it out, but just wanted some input. Thanks!
  #5  
Old 01-02-2007, 10:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
other things come to mind

If the cheap bows are fake and junk, I can understand the price. If they are any good, I'd suspect they are stolen. Sorry for adding this...but I've known too many friends that have had their bows stolen!
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 AM.




Copyright ©2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All right reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.