Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Double Bass Forums > Bows and Rosin [DB]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Bows and Rosin [DB] Bass bows and rosin issues, makers, brands, choices, recommendations...


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-06-2010, 04:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Aveiro, Portugal
Help to find out if this is original Bow WEDorfler

I am a student of bass, and recently bought a used bow to a friend mine.
I fear that is not original, because my friend bought the bow used and it does not have the certificate.
The stars look different from what I saw in other bows ..!
I hope you can help, I will send pictures attached.
Seems Pernambuco bow and original ?

Thank you for helping me.
Sign in to disble this ad

Last edited by TMSP : 03-11-2010 at 05:46 PM.
  #2  
Old 02-15-2010, 12:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Aveiro, Portugal
I discovered that my friend bought this bow on Ebay, but now that I am afraid that is counterfeit, because I've read some things about it.
I know he bought an ad that was located in Ontario, Canada...
I'm afraid.

Although the name printed or stamped is very similar, but the stars ...

Please, if you know something, say.

Thank you very much.

Last edited by TMSP : 02-15-2010 at 12:55 PM.
  #3  
Old 02-20-2010, 05:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Send a message via AIM to Peter Ferretti Send a message via MSN to Peter Ferretti
Why don't you try and contact dorfler directly? Here is the contact information listed on their website: info@doerfler-bows.com

Does it play well? Counterfeit bows aren't necessarily the worst bows in the world. In fact, some play quite well. I had a suspected counterfeit Pfretzschner that played incredibly well.
  #4  
Old 02-21-2010, 09:21 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Aveiro, Portugal
Hi Peter

Thanks for the tip, but I already contacted the company and Miss Tanja Dorfler assured me twice that the bow had been made in his workshop, which was absolutely certain. The problem is that when I said that it had been bought on Ebay, answered some of the bosses, Mr. Wolfgang Dorfler that only seeing it in his hands that could give a certainty because he was not completely convinced. I was confused!
Therefore, it is ordered that the opinion here.

Thank's.
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.