Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Technique [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Technique [BG] Bass guitar technique discussions

Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Old 01-15-2013, 04:46 PM

Metal bassists...... Advice please!

I'm a recent convert to bass from guitar, and play in a rock/metal covers band. We play Metallica, G'n'R, Megadeth, Motörhead etc.
I started playing with a pick, but I have starting using fingers as I prefer the warmer, rounder tone. However I miss the aggressive attack of a pick.
If I dig in with my fingers to get a better attack, I lose picking speed.
Will my attack improve as my finger tips harden? Or is there another compromise I could try with EQ settings etc.

Any help will be gratefully appreciated.
Old 01-15-2013, 04:47 PM

You could try switching to stainless steel strings. Also, maybe when EQ-ing bumb the treble on your amp up slightly for a bit more "zing".
Old 01-15-2013, 04:56 PM
Lurking TB from work

Supporting Member
Its practice and technique. Strength and stamina are going to be a factor as well as how you hit the string. brush or tap vs pluck as well as where you strike the string, Closer to the neck requires less force.

Also if you substitute nickle strings for steel strings it may give you some more of that attack your looking for.
Old 01-15-2013, 05:12 PM

Thanks for the replies.

I'm currently using heavy Rotosound flatwounds, as I like the feel and tone of them. Are these the wrong strings to get the sound I'm looking for?
Old 01-15-2013, 05:16 PM

Records of Existence/PyrE owner

Supporting Member
yep.. flatwounds are the hardest to get attack out of.
Old 01-15-2013, 05:18 PM