Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > General Instruction [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

General Instruction [BG] General questions regarding bass playing, theory, and bass lessons.


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Attn. Teachers-potential scam

Sign in to disble this ad
Hi everyone

I wanted to bring this to the attention of those of you who teach music for a living. If you post your info on other websites to advertise your teaching business, you might receive emails like this one, which I got THREE TIMES today:

Hello
Good day to you over there, I need a tutor for my son
(Brian), i got your advert while surfring through the internet and i
really want my child to be
taught byn you.Brian is 17 year old and easily catch up.Although,i
understand
you are in (usa} but i've arranged with my cousin living there that
my
son is coming to stay with
her for his period of tutoring and she had agreed withme,i reside in
uk . So i will like you to get back to
me the following detail:
1.CHARGE FOR AN HOUR....
2.TOTAL CHARGES FOR 2 MONTH THAT HE WILL BE TAUGHT 3
TIMES PER WEEK..
3.FULL NAME
4.HOME ADDRESS 1
5.YOUR PHONE NUMBER...
6.YEARS OF EXPERIENCE
My mode of payment will be by CHECK.willing to read
from you as
soon as possible
Regards.............
Rev.Frank Andrew


It's probably not harmful to give this info out, but since I've received variations on this message more than a few times from different senders, it must involve some sort of scam. Anyone else have info or experience with this?
__________________
Sean LaVallee
Syracuse, NY
  #2  
Old 07-12-2006, 04:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Send a message via MSN to Bushfire
:/ Never seen a reverend with such bad grammar before...
__________________
-Bernard.
  #3  
Old 07-12-2006, 06:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
for real. I'm pretty sure these e-mails originate outside English speaking countries, based on the spelling and syntax.
__________________
Sean LaVallee
Syracuse, NY
  #4  
Old 07-12-2006, 06:10 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Send a message via AIM to PawnJunkie
I've seen this on ebay in different scnarios, but they always ask you for full name, address, phone number. Always saying they are out of town and have people in america. Maybe I'm being a little paranoid, but it looks to familiar with the othe ones I've seen. Also emails I've recieved.
  #5  
Old 07-12-2006, 08:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I suspect that if you respond, you will get an offer for a check that just happens to be too large and you will need to send back the difference.

I vote that this is a scam.
  #6  
Old 07-12-2006, 09:54 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Send a message via MSN to mkettner
I vote, scam them back. That does seem pretty bogus. I also get those on a daily basis, but they usually want free lessons in exchange for an honorable mention when they are famous.
__________________
Michael Kettner - "The German"
www.kettnerfamily.com
  #7  
Old 07-12-2006, 10:00 AM
agreatheight's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Supporting Member
I have gotten that email through one of the teaching referral sites I am listed on. Scam for sure, into the trash!
__________________
wicked sweet tight
  #8  
Old 07-12-2006, 10:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Anaheim, Ca.
Oppppss!

I see a pattern there I've seen plenty of times before in my own and other people's emails. The syntax, spelling, grammer and over 'feel' of that message spells "data mining" to me.

Ignore anything that wants your personal info like that, but my guess is that you instinctively knew that anyway.

Desperate scam artists..
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.