|  | 
05-17-2007, 10:07 AM
| | | | Online lessons Scam or real deal
Sign in to disble this ad
Has any one been to the bassguitartsecrets.com web site? Is this a scam or the real deal? | 
05-17-2007, 02:52 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Los Angeles, CA | | | I have taken classes at The MusicDojo and they are good. Also did online private lessons with Cliff Engel and that worked very well.
__________________
Steve Barnette
The Dojo of Cool :ninja:
------------------------------------------------------------
Practice is the best of all instructors - Publilius Syrus
| 
05-17-2007, 03:42 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: Texas | | | There's nothing secret about music. It's just a collection of tips and practice techniques that may or may not be worth the money. Some people seem to like it, but the name and the over-the-top copy turn me off. | 
05-18-2007, 06:08 AM
| | | Thanks for the info | 
05-18-2007, 06:56 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: Wake Forest, NC | | Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB Has any one been to the bassguitartsecrets.com web site? Is this a scam or the real deal? | One of the youth at my church bought the program called Bass Secrets, I think he paid $50. It is for Windows, and comes with a program "Jam Box" which is pretty cool. It has a bunch of simple backing tracks and the chords scroll across the screen before the music changes chords. It also comes with a metronome program and program called "Groove Box" which is like a drum machine where you can choose different styles to jam along with and record what you are playing. I was impressed with everything it offered for the money. I had fun playing around with it, I am seriously thinking of buying it. http://www.bassguitarsecrets.com/?gc...FQwzZAoduTJX6g
Last edited by CrashClint : 05-18-2007 at 06:58 AM.
Reason: Added Url
| 
05-18-2007, 09:18 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: Australia | | | Well, to me the setup doesn't look legit, I mean "Dear Friend,"? That always, for some reason gives me a bad feeling. Probably because of all those Nigerian Scams, you know the ones, "Dear Friend,
I am Mr. ___________, of the National Bank of _______. etc. etc"
__________________
Christian Praise & Worship Bassist Club Member #159
| 
05-18-2007, 10:08 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: Wake Forest, NC | | Quote:
Originally Posted by ExD Well, to me the setup doesn't look legit, I mean "Dear Friend,"? That always, for some reason gives me a bad feeling. Probably because of all those Nigerian Scams, you know the ones, "Dear Friend,
I am Mr. ___________, of the National Bank of _______. etc. etc" | I know what you mean, I would have never bought it looking at the website, but since one of our youth was the lab rat and had a good experience I may purchase the program. Just messing with his program, I think it has some cool features. Not that this program will make you an instant successful bass player, I thought it was worth the $50. | 
05-18-2007, 11:44 AM
| | | | That was good information Crash, thanks!! | 
05-18-2007, 12:11 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Apr 2000 Location: New York, NY | | Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB Has any one been to the bassguitartsecrets.com web site? Is this a scam or the real deal? | That particular site looks a little sketchy. I go to workshoplive.com for lessons, and the instruction's actually very good there. The shockwave interface is sometimes a little wonky, but the material is very well organized and presented, and (IMO) worth the price.
__________________
There are no answers; only choices.
| 
09-12-2007, 08:22 PM
| | | Here's a site that mentions it quite highly with some other bass guitar courses out there. http://www.bassguitarcourses.com
I've read some good stuff about Gigajam as well, though I think it's more for bass guitar beginners... which I guess would include me.  One things for sure though... When you invest in something (whether it's a new bass or bass guitar course) it gives you extra incentive to work on your bass, which is always a good thing.
Speaking of which... | 
09-13-2007, 05:12 PM
| | | | What IS that bass?? Ok, so when you load the page at www.bassguitarsecrets.com
...there is a short video of the guy playing...what in the world is that bass he's playing?? | | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | |