Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > General Instruction [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

General Instruction [BG] General questions regarding bass playing, theory, and bass lessons.


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-01-2007, 08:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Something Fishy about Jazz Theory book on ebay...

Sign in to disble this ad
First off, I'm not selling this book on ebay, but I am the current high bidder:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...0365&rd=1&rd=1

Anyway, I just want to pass this on, in case anyone else here is looking for this book, and hopefully, to get some insight as to what might be going on here...

Something with the seller's feedback has my BS meter pegged. Does anyone else think this may be an illegitimate deal? Look at his feedback, and the auctions that he has won in the past. Something just doesn't seem right. He's either a sucker for crappy auctions, or he's trying to pad his feedback number to take advantage of other bidders.

Has anyone else seen this kind of thing before? I'm leary of keeping my bid on this book and giving the guy my $30... On the other hand, if it is legit, hopefully, I can get a good deal on a great book...
  #2  
Old 04-01-2007, 08:45 PM
jumbosilverette's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: L.A. (the Valley)
Supporting Member
The guy looks to have padded his feedback with those i cent auctions, but I don't know if he's a fraud. Perhaps he changed (or lost) his old ebay username and needed to establish some sort of feedback history. It appears those 1 cent auctions are a means of doing that. Why not just buy this copy from abebooks.com for $37?
http://www.abebooks.com/servlet/Book...2BBook%26x%3D0
__________________
Fender 51 Reissue Club
Quote:
Originally Posted by grisezd
That's got everything that is good, all in one spot.
  #3  
Old 04-01-2007, 08:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by jumbosilverette View Post
Thanks for the link... I'll definitely buy from them depending on how this auction goes... I decided to send my concerns on to ebay, and asked the buyer to send a picture of the book, with my bidder name on a piece of paper next to it... we'll see how it turns out.
  #4  
Old 04-02-2007, 05:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SJ, CA
Seems to me, if you are worried about this guy being reputable, you could buy it online from a variety of reputable sources for the same money.

Amazon will have it at your door for $42
  #5  
Old 04-02-2007, 05:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin, TX
The problem, is that I've already placed my bid... I suppose I could retract, but I'm not sure on the rules about that...

FWIW, I asked the guy to send me a picture of the book, along with a piece of paper with my user ID on it, and he did...

So, I'm thinking that it's legit...
  #6  
Old 04-02-2007, 06:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: montreal, qc, Canada
He probably wanted feedback before becoming a seller, or nobody would buy from him. Sneaky, as not everyone checks individual feedback ratings. Still, I wouldn't be concerned. If he wanted to really rip someone off, he wouldn't do it for 30 bucks. He'd probably sell something worth a lot more and run with the money.
  #7  
Old 04-03-2007, 02:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenderfazz View Post
If he wanted to really rip someone off, he wouldn't do it for 30 bucks. He'd probably sell something worth a lot more and run with the money.
agreed. I got ripped off a guitar (which I got money back) and a set of speakers (which I didn't)
__________________
Canadian Club Member #32, Yorkville/Traynor Club Member #3, Electronic/Synth/Experimental Bassists Club #81

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudfuzz View Post
But it is a muffiant not a supperfuzziant or a fuzzfaciant or a gated-fuzziant.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.




Copyright ©2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All right reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.