Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bassists [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:24 PM
JAUQO III-X's Avatar
Registered User

Endorsing artist:see profile/Current Setup
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CHICAGO,IL.
Supporting Member
I think some ones trying to pull a fast one

Sign in to disble this ad
http://chicago.craigslist.org/wcl/msg/1221739794.html
__________________
Jauqo III-X
Jauqo III-X CD Baby
Live Video
LOG Member #2
instructional
The Essence of the Groove
Endorsing artist : see profile/Current Setup
  #2  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:26 PM
Registered User

Clincian: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
worth checking out - if your local (and flush).

BTW - your amp is shipping tomorrow

Mike
__________________
"The Art of Solo Bass" - http://www.youtube.com/mikedimin
Private lessons available via SKYPE
  #3  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:27 PM
jimmy rocket's Avatar
mix-tape legend

builder: Baddy 1 Shoe Pedals
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Durham, NC
Send a message via AIM to jimmy rocket
Supporting Member
the same add is on CL in Durham, and NYC right now

definitely a scam
__________________
If you can't find the downbeat, the terrorists win.
  #4  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SF (North) Bay Area
yup... this just popped up on the SF Bay Area CL too... I flagged it.
  #5  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Anaheim, Ca.
Hmmmm... a little too 'pat' for me... I smell a scam guys. "Why?" Simple: the story itself seems pretty bogus, plus the lack of close-ups is also very troubling. Its a lovely bass for sure. But is it an actual 1956 Precision?? Unlikely.
  #6  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:31 PM
JAUQO III-X's Avatar
Registered User

Endorsing artist:see profile/Current Setup
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CHICAGO,IL.
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Dimin View Post
worth checking out - if your local (and flush).

BTW - your amp is shipping tomorrow

Mike




Thanks Mike.
__________________
Jauqo III-X
Jauqo III-X CD Baby
Live Video
LOG Member #2
instructional
The Essence of the Groove
Endorsing artist : see profile/Current Setup
  #7  
Old 06-14-2009, 10:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SF (North) Bay Area
Did '56 P's have through body strings?
  #8  
Old 06-14-2009, 10:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
I think they did...but I didn't think Sunburst came out until 1957...might be wrong, though...
__________________
Ampeg Club Member #62, Geddy Lee Jazz Club Member #9, www.myspace.com/jtkennedy9 Fender Precision Bass Club Member #39, Post-punk/New Wave Bassists Club #40
  #9  
Old 06-14-2009, 10:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Send a message via MSN to rcarraher
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAUQO III-X View Post
There is another Thread Open on this. Yes, if he is posting it in many different cities CL, thne he is most likely a scam, but like I said in the other thread, I have found some "almost" to good stuff on CL thatwas ligit. If your interested in it, contact a reputable shop/store in the area and offer to pay them to check out the bass. If the guy is on the up and up, he won't complain or make excuses, if he is a scam, he won't even show up.
__________________
I am an agent of the devil, but my duties are largely ceremonial.
  #10  
Old 06-14-2009, 10:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Sorry, it was 1958 when Sunburst came out on the Precision...my bad...but definitely not a 1956...bogus!
__________________
Ampeg Club Member #62, Geddy Lee Jazz Club Member #9, www.myspace.com/jtkennedy9 Fender Precision Bass Club Member #39, Post-punk/New Wave Bassists Club #40
  #11  
Old 06-14-2009, 10:36 PM
JAUQO III-X's Avatar
Registered User

Endorsing artist:see profile/Current Setup
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CHICAGO,IL.
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcarraher View Post
There is another Thread Open on this. Yes, if he is posting it in many different cities CL, thne he is most likely a scam, but like I said in the other thread, I have found some "almost" to good stuff on CL thatwas ligit. If your interested in it, contact a reputable shop/store in the area and offer to pay them to check out the bass. If the guy is on the up and up, he won't complain or make excuses, if he is a scam, he won't even show up.

I posted the link because from looking at the pics,one could see that the bass is not legit.
__________________
Jauqo III-X
Jauqo III-X CD Baby
Live Video
LOG Member #2
instructional
The Essence of the Groove
Endorsing artist : see profile/Current Setup
  #12  
Old 06-14-2009, 11:46 PM
Temp Banned (TOS Violation)

Endorsing: Ampeg
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apopka, FL
Supporting Member
That's not even a good price for a reissue. Looks like a poly finish from here, too. Oh well...caviar emptor.
  #13  
Old 06-15-2009, 12:23 AM
fenderphil's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Supporting Member
skunk stripe

headstock access trussrod.

thats a MIM
  #14  
Old 06-15-2009, 12:33 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Albany, OR
I don't know much about vintage basses, but what gives it away is that he never calls it a bass. Well, its labeled "bass" but I don't know about you guys, but I never call my bass a guitar...ever. Its either a bass or a bass guitar never just guitar though.
  #15  
Old 06-15-2009, 12:34 AM
Temp Banned (TOS Violation)

Endorsing: Ampeg
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apopka, FL
Supporting Member
He did say it was his grandfather's. If he has no interest in playing it, he wouldn't know what to call it.

But trust me...that guy is playing dumb. He knows exactly what it is.
  #16  
Old 06-15-2009, 12:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Albany, OR
Yeah, you're probably right JimmyM. I just look at the world from a musical standpoint (like we all do i'm sure), so I try to get instrument names right. Can't expect everyone to get it right all the time though.

But yeah, in this case, he knows what it is.
  #17  
Old 06-15-2009, 01:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
If it were legit, wouldn't it be worth double or triple what he's asking?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesfunk View Post
I have trouble staying in shape because I'm a lazy, fat, piece of crap; not because I'm a musician.
  #18  
Old 06-15-2009, 01:02 AM
Temp Banned (TOS Violation)

Endorsing: Ampeg
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apopka, FL
Supporting Member
It would be worth about 10x that price. A bass that clean would be worth pretty much what he wants to sell it for.
  #19  
Old 06-15-2009, 01:16 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Basically on craigslist, if it seems too good to be true, 99 times out of 100, it is. Walk away. Either they're collecting email addy's, or phone numbers, or fishing you in for a scam that involves sending money to a collector, who then sends the funds overseas. You'll get nothing in return.

How to tell if it's a scam? For starters, if the seller knows what exact year the instrument was made (for a vintage instrument), but priced it way too low - that's a red flag. And recently I've been seeing a LOT of things for sale for uneven dollar amounts - like $2638, or $1299. Most of the legit ads will be for $500, or $900. Not weird amounts.

And I don't reply to ads that say "send me your phone number first" - b/c I'm afraid they get my phone number, trace it to my home address, and then know I collect expensive basses... asking for trouble! (luckily I don't have an easily traceable phone number...)
__________________
Former Guitarist turned Bassist turned Guitarist. :hmm:
  #20  
Old 06-15-2009, 04:56 AM
Temp Banned (TOS Violation)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Supporting Member
Scam? Or 'Sting'..?
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 AM.




Copyright ©2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All right reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.