|  | 
11-07-2008, 11:47 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Winnipeg, Canada | | | Album Hijacked and Uploaded?!?!?
Sign in to disble this ad
I THINK this is the right forum - mods, please move if it isn't...
I'm in a local band and we just released our debut album (link is in my sig - pm me if you want a copy!  ). The album is for sale by band members, and we've just signed on with CD Baby for digital distribution. The CD is independently produced, and hasn't been sent overseas or anything like that yet.
So I'm doing a Google search to see if there have been any reviews yet, and I found TWO websites (both appear to be Chinese) that have posted not only the info from our website and pics (and plastered their own logo on them!), but a COMPLETE TORRENT of our album!!!
***?!?!? How could somebody (in China) get this, especially if we haven't sent it over there yet?!?!? Plus, the entire album hasn't been made available on line at all! There are five random tunes on our SonicBids and a couple on our website, which was just launched, but the WHOLE RECORD?!?!?
Has this ever happened to anybody else here? Do we have any recourse?
Thanx!!!
__________________
"Well, there's your answer, Fishbulb."
Last edited by dmq89 : 11-07-2008 at 11:50 AM.
| 
11-07-2008, 12:01 PM
|  | Supporting Member | | Join Date: Jan 2002 Location: 3rd stone from the sun | | Quote:
Originally Posted by dmq89 Do we have any recourse? | No.
__________________ FOR SALE - Musicman Stingray 5 BURNT APPLE -http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f126/musicman-stingray-5-burnt-apple-882195/
| 
11-07-2008, 12:04 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Winnipeg, Canada | | Quote:
Originally Posted by baba No. | WOW - very informative. Thanx!!!
(j/k, by the way!)
__________________
"Well, there's your answer, Fishbulb."
| 
11-07-2008, 12:29 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Sep 2008 Location: West Covina (LA), SoCal | | | Hmmm, who was the independent producer? Maybe he leaked it to someone?
Its astonishing that your whole album has been made available when you havent put the whole album up online. Maybe they just took all your info and the torrent link isn't actually your album, but a virus or something...
Try downloading it and see what happens? Its probably fake.
__________________
Bassist for Starveya - www.reverbnation.com/starveya
Sat June 9th @ Shamrocks in Chino Hills - 10pm
Bassist - Veg#33, Buddhist#11, LGBT#5
| 
11-07-2008, 01:02 PM
| | | | As soon as your band sold a single CD it was ripe for the picking for anyone to upload it and send it across the world. Same thing if it was available on CD Baby for sale at the time you've discovered the Chinese sites that pirated your band's work. From your post I'm not sure of the chronology of events, but if you were googling for any reviews of your album it obviously had to be available. Now you've got a quick education on why so many artists sided with the music industry lawyers when the original Napster
was sued to oblivion. I'm sorry it happened , but there is little you can do. I hate to scare you further, but don't be surprised if some Russian website posts your album up in a week or two as well. Anyways I do hope you and your band find success through legit sales of your work. | 
11-07-2008, 03:14 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Sep 2008 Location: West Covina (LA), SoCal | | | Can you link me to these pirate sites? I want your album for free.
Nah, Im kidding. But yeah, when you put your CD out there this is a big possibility.
Maybe you should just take some pride in the fact that SOMEONE liked your album enough to want to make it available to everyone.
Another question, when you signed up for CDbaby, did you select the option for digital distribution? That would make it extremely easy for anyone to get a hold of your album, be it a single song or the entire thing.
__________________
Bassist for Starveya - www.reverbnation.com/starveya
Sat June 9th @ Shamrocks in Chino Hills - 10pm
Bassist - Veg#33, Buddhist#11, LGBT#5
| 
11-07-2008, 06:20 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Winnipeg, Canada | | Quote:
Originally Posted by MatticusMania Can you link me to these pirate sites? I want your album for free. |
PM me your address and I'll send you one!
We haven't sent any CDs to CD Baby yet... So NO idea how someone in China would have gotten the album.
I guess the question is, why would a couple of people in CHINA care about some indie Canadian band? Where would they get the info on us, or even know that we existed?
I suppose it is flattering to be ripped off along with Metallica, though! 
__________________
"Well, there's your answer, Fishbulb."
| 
11-08-2008, 04:09 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Wichita, KS | | | Yeah, welcome to 2008. When you make an album you pretty much need to assume it will be available for free on the internet and adjust your "financial strategy" appropriately, it's just the reality of the market. Unless you want to start sueing fans, you really have little recourse.
__________________ Quote:
Originally Posted by T.O.Bass People listen to Nickelback? | | 
11-08-2008, 03:46 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: May 2005 Location: New Jersey | | | I would try to think of it as free advertising in a market that most likely wouldn't have been hit as opposed to a negative thing..whats done is done..{yeah I listen to a lot of Wayne Dyer} | 
11-08-2008, 10:11 PM
|  | Yeah, I'm a guy! Moderator | | Join Date: Feb 2004 Location: Marana, AZ, USA | | | Unfortunately there really isn't anything you can do to the Chinese people doing this. However, if it really is your album then you need to start looking at who all has a copy of your album. It is one of them that has put it out there.
I believe that most likely it is just a virus/malware thing. The only way to know for sure is to download it and find out. | 
11-08-2008, 10:58 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2006 Location: Singapore | | | Actually it might be a chinese forum, but it need not be a chinese POSTER that put up your album for download, you know.
__________________
Zon Sonus Custom 6
Zon Vinny 6 Fretless
| 
11-08-2008, 11:07 PM
|  | OVNIFX EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America | | Join Date: Oct 2005 Location: PDX, OR | | Quote:
Originally Posted by MatticusMania ...the torrent link isn't actually your album, but a virus or something...
Try downloading it and see what happens? Its probably fake. | Yep. I don't know why they picked on your band, but it seems like offering a free torrent download of an entire not-yet-released album is a good spiderweb type trap for snaring gullible downloaders. | 
11-09-2008, 12:08 AM
|  | Total Hyper-Elite Member | | Join Date: May 2000 Location: Groom Lake, NV | | Quote:
Originally Posted by dmq89 WOW - very informative. Thanx!!!
(j/k, by the way!) | Dood ... you asked a binary question and got a binary answer. What could be better?
__________________ What is this thing called butthurt? | 
11-09-2008, 07:22 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Cowtown, USA | | | Just be glad some Chinese may be rocking out to your tunes
while working in the sweatshops making $3.00 Bag o' Tubesocks for Wal-Mart- | 
11-09-2008, 02:07 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Winnipeg, Canada | | Quote:
Originally Posted by Munjibunga Dood ... you asked a binary question and got a binary answer. What could be better? | Point taken!  Seems my sig applies pretty accurately for this response!
__________________
"Well, there's your answer, Fishbulb."
Last edited by dmq89 : 11-09-2008 at 02:10 PM.
| 
11-09-2008, 02:09 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Winnipeg, Canada | | I haven't downloaded it yet (not sure if I will) due to the obvious threat of malware or whatever.
Just seemed kind of weird to me, and I wanted to know if this has happened to anybody else here.
Thanx for all of your input! 
__________________
"Well, there's your answer, Fishbulb."
| 
11-25-2008, 05:06 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Sep 2008 Location: West Covina (LA), SoCal | | | Hey dmq, did you ever find out what happened with your album being stoeln and distributed in china?
Oh, and sorry I havent gotten you the review on your album yet, I did receive it the other day, and I gave it a listen to. It sounded good, but I was at work and had to listen at low volume, so I'll write up something once I can get a full volume listen, probably sometime this week.
~Matt
__________________
Bassist for Starveya - www.reverbnation.com/starveya
Sat June 9th @ Shamrocks in Chino Hills - 10pm
Bassist - Veg#33, Buddhist#11, LGBT#5
| | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | |