|  | 
05-04-2005, 08:40 AM
|  | A Hard Rockin Lover of GREENBURST Moderator | | Join Date: Sep 2002 Location: Where I lay my head is home | | | Anyone see this scam before?
Sign in to disble this ad
Just got this in my email this morning
Hello,
My name is Paul, am from San Jose California , but now based in the Canada ,I say your advert placed on the web, and am much interested in buying your ( Musical Instrument for my church ). I live here in Cananda and since I will personally take care of all the shipping and pick up of the ITEM.
Please mail me back with the Item you have available for sale , some recent pictures and the current condition of the item.
Thanks
I await your soonest reply and may the Lord Bless You!
Pastor Paul
__________________ If its not green, its not for me!!! | 
05-04-2005, 08:43 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jun 2000 Location: Austin, TX | | Quote: |
Originally Posted by MAJOR METAL Just got this in my email this morning
Hello,
My name is Paul, am from San Jose California , but now based in the Canada ,I say your advert placed on the web, and am much interested in buying your ( Musical Instrument for my church ). I live here in Cananda and since I will personally take care of all the shipping and pick up of the ITEM.
Please mail me back with the Item you have available for sale , some recent pictures and the current condition of the item.
Thanks
I await your soonest reply and may the Lord Bless You!
Pastor Paul | Just got that same one. Now, I get these all the time, but this is the first one that didn't even bother entering in what the item was. Talk about lazy. Take pride in your work, people.
__________________
-"Actual journalism? Isn't that when you don't commit crimes?"
-"Hell no, it's when we commit really good crimes."
"Of course a shortcut isn't easy. If it was easy, it'd just be The Way."
| 
05-04-2005, 06:37 PM
|  | A Hard Rockin Lover of GREENBURST Moderator | | Join Date: Sep 2002 Location: Where I lay my head is home | | | I wonder how they got our email addresses?.
__________________ If its not green, its not for me!!! | 
05-04-2005, 06:39 PM
|  | A Hard Rockin Lover of GREENBURST Moderator | | Join Date: Sep 2002 Location: Where I lay my head is home | | | Brendan
Do you have any gear for sale right now listed somewhere where they could have you got your email address?, that the onlything i could come up with how they got mine.
__________________ If its not green, its not for me!!! | 
05-04-2005, 06:47 PM
| | | | this is absolutely a scam. i've seen many fall victim to it. say your selling your item for 400 bucks. if you reespond he;ll say he's got a bakner's check for say, 600, and say "just sent it to me with 200 dollars change. In the end he gats the item and 200 bucks and you get screwed. and notice how he NEVER mentions what the item is that your selling, and also ni=otice how the english is a bit...shall we say...off. This guy probabyle speaks some wierd language and types this up, translates it and sends it out millions of times a week to any ad his computer can find. this is definitely a scam
__________________
Easy Stlye it
| 
05-04-2005, 06:55 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Apr 2003 Location: Alexandria, VA | | | HA! I just got that same one this morning. I have some items for sale on this forum and on bassgear.com. I sent him a picture as requested, and asked him how he would like to proceed. I have every intention of stringing this guy along as long as I can... I'd love to get some goofy pics or something along that line. I was thinking about asking him to mail the check to a fictitious address, and then claiming I never received it and asking him to mail it again, just to bother him as much as possible. I guess the only danger is that someone could illegally steal my "check", deposit it, and then get screwed over, but since they'd be stealing my fake money, it's their own fault. Either way, I'm gonna make this guy work for the money he's never gonna receive.
__________________
You can't have everything. Where would you put it?
| 
05-04-2005, 07:01 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: Tampa, FL | | | Here's how I responded:
"That is sick that you would use christianity to help you scam others. I am appalled that you would do such a thing. Perhaps the best thing for a "christian" "pastor" like yourself to do is the read Exodus 20:15.
Thanks, Nate"
__________________
Dingwall Z3 5-string 
Dingwall ABII 6-string
EA iAMP Pro, EA iAMP UK, Dr. Bass 212, 112, and (if I ever see it) 1260
| 
05-04-2005, 07:01 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2003 Location: Plano TX | | | That email is an invitation to a scam. They say they want to buy what ever it is that you have for sale and they want to send you a certified or cashiers check for more than the price of the item. They ask you to deposit the check, send the item along with a certified check, cashiers check or money order for the difference. The check they send you is fake and it takes a couple of days for it to get returned to your bank. They do this in the hopes that you act more quickly than your bank does as you are sending out a good check that in most cases cannot be stopped or recinded. | 
05-04-2005, 07:35 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jun 2000 Location: Austin, TX | | Quote: |
Originally Posted by MAJOR METAL Brendan
Do you have any gear for sale right now listed somewhere where they could have you got your email address?, that the onlything i could come up with how they got mine. | Yep. They just troll places like Bassgear, Harmony Central, even here for email adresses.
__________________
-"Actual journalism? Isn't that when you don't commit crimes?"
-"Hell no, it's when we commit really good crimes."
"Of course a shortcut isn't easy. If it was easy, it'd just be The Way."
| 
05-05-2005, 09:45 AM
|  | A Hard Rockin Lover of GREENBURST Moderator | | Join Date: Sep 2002 Location: Where I lay my head is home | | Quote: |
Originally Posted by nastyn8c Here's how I responded:
"That is sick that you would use christianity to help you scam others. I am appalled that you would do such a thing. Perhaps the best thing for a "christian" "pastor" like yourself to do is the read Exodus 20:15.
Thanks, Nate" |
Yeah that is pretty low
__________________ If its not green, its not for me!!! | 
05-05-2005, 11:01 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: Ames, IA | | Quote: |
Originally Posted by MAJOR METAL I wonder how they got our email addresses?. | Your email address was, most likely, spoofed.
__________________
FAITH-fully slappin' the taste out 'cho mouth since 1996
P & W Bassist #459, TB Cigar Club #37
| 
05-05-2005, 12:48 PM
|  | A Hard Rockin Lover of GREENBURST Moderator | | Join Date: Sep 2002 Location: Where I lay my head is home | | Quote: |
Originally Posted by GSPLBASSDC Your email address was, most likely, spoofed. |
what does that mean?
__________________ If its not green, its not for me!!! | 
05-05-2005, 01:04 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: Ames, IA | | Quote: |
Originally Posted by MAJOR METAL what does that mean? | oops, sorry.
Spoofing means that a virus or some other type of malware has accessed the email addresses stored in your email program. It then sends out spam emails, but it looks to the recipient like they're from you.
__________________
FAITH-fully slappin' the taste out 'cho mouth since 1996
P & W Bassist #459, TB Cigar Club #37
| 
05-05-2005, 01:15 PM
|  | A Hard Rockin Lover of GREENBURST Moderator | | Join Date: Sep 2002 Location: Where I lay my head is home | | Quote: |
Originally Posted by GSPLBASSDC oops, sorry.
Spoofing means that a virus or some other type of malware has accessed the email addresses stored in your email program. It then sends out spam emails, but it looks to the recipient like they're from you. |
Thanks for explaining that.
__________________ If its not green, its not for me!!! | | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | |