Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-30-2006, 06:34 AM
The most hurtful thing ever realized
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
bassgear.com fraud emails?

Sign in to disble this ad
hey all i got some emails for some stuff i'm selling on bassgear.com that just seem a little fishy to me. i guess he's not really asking me to give him any money sooooooooo

why the hell would you spend so much on shipping for a $200 item?????????

here they are.....

-------------------------------------------

Hello ,

Thanks for your reply, I am satisfied with the purchase and i'll like to see the pics and i am willing to make out Payment right away to you, I request that a Bill of purchase be issued out to: Mr. JAMES SCOTT.

I have seen the price and its ok by me then i have instructed my client in to issue the certified cheque on your name in us funds, meanwhlie i also instructed him to include your money on the payment so you should expect a cheque of $2,200. this excess is for my shipper that will be coming for pick up of the goods from your location, the funds will be used for the shipping of the {Low Down Sound 2x10 Bass Cabinet} along side other goods i placed order for in care of my shipper to handle for me, i imploy that as soon as you receive my payment cash and and deduct your money for the item ($200)and then proceed to a western union outlet and have my shipping Charges Paid to My delivery Company as soon as you receive the cheque and also have deduct an extra $100 for your stress of cashing and the cost of wiring the remaining funds to my shipper that same day you recieve my payment.

My Shipper will come for pick up of the goods on a specified date that will be convenient for you i hope i can count on you for my balance I ALSO WANT THIS TO BASE ON TRUST CAN I TRUST YOU?...hope i can trust you with my shipping company charges. Please acknowledge this email I have sent you and await my Payment. I request you provide me with your details, for Payment to be Issued and mailed out to you .

Details :
Name in full: , Address: , City: , State: , Zipcode: , Phone#:
Thanks as I await your Payment Details.

Mr.JAMES SCOTT .
1345 n. SanGabriel ave.#22
Azusa, California. 91702 USA
--------------------------------------------
from a different guy........

Hello,
I came across the advert of your {Low Down Sound 2x10 Bass Cabinet $200}. and i would like to make certain enquiries about it.Please provide me with answers to the following questions.......
(1)Is it still available for sale and what is the final asking price.
(2)What is the present condition of it.Is it in perfect condition and if not what are its problems.
(3)I stay outside of U.S.A precisely Holland so i would like to know if you are interested in overseas sales although you will not need to bother about shipping as i have a liable shipper who will handle that.
(4)The method of payment will be via a cashier cheque,is the mode of payment acceptable to you. Mail me back with these info as soon as possible.

Thanks..

Regards...
PAUL CHAR
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK007 bass View Post
I do not want hurt anyone. I not nazi and like talkbass very much.
http://www.myspace.com/backforty Funkgrass


Korg DTR-2000 -> Ampeg SVPCL ->QSC 1450->4x10->MIA Jazz or Stingray
  #2  
Old 08-30-2006, 06:49 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edinburgh & Dundee, Scotland
The first one is definatly fraud, ive seen tons of ones just like that!

The second one, im not too sure about, it isnt as blatantly fraud like as the other one is, the liable shipper bit is what throws me off, and that the only thing relating to it being a bass cab (all the specific information on your sale) is in the brackets

But, the first one is definatly fraud
__________________
EB Musicman/Ibanez/Ampeg/Peavey/Marshall/Tech 21
  #3  
Old 08-30-2006, 06:51 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Marathon Man
Send a message via MSN to Baryonyx
The one from the guy in Holland reads just like those Nigerian cashiers cheque scams. The first one is also a blatant scam.

Last edited by Baryonyx : 08-30-2006 at 06:53 AM.
  #4  
Old 08-30-2006, 06:54 AM
The most hurtful thing ever realized
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
yeah thats what i thought but i was confused because he wasn't asking for money or any sensative information.....yet
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK007 bass View Post
I do not want hurt anyone. I not nazi and like talkbass very much.
http://www.myspace.com/backforty Funkgrass


Korg DTR-2000 -> Ampeg SVPCL ->QSC 1450->4x10->MIA Jazz or Stingray
  #5  
Old 08-30-2006, 07:01 AM
cheezewiz's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ohio
Send a message via AIM to cheezewiz Send a message via Yahoo to cheezewiz
Supporting Member
Yes he did. Do you see in the first one where he asks you to take the check (which is bogus), take out an extra 100 for your trouble, and wire him back the rest? It's the classic Nigerian scam.

The second one, he'll merely send you a counterfiet check, which your bank will cash, then come back on you a month later when they discover it's fake.
  #6  
Old 08-30-2006, 07:15 AM
WillPlay4Food's Avatar
Now With More Metal!
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Harte fjord, CT
Supporting Member
Yea the second email is just a prelude to the scam shown in the first email. I listed some stuff on bassgear.com last year and these were the only replies I received.

There should be a site like internetscamcentral.com or something as this scam is going into at least its third year now. It's right up there with taking Indonesian credit card orders or paying with Western Union.
__________________
Check out my OS X music software here!

Your friendly neighborhood "This one goes to eleven" Amps co-moderator.

Ashdown Owner Club Member #4
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.