|  | | 
01-14-2013, 06:27 AM
| | | | Is this A CL Scam? Ok here is my email thread of conversation with an interested buyer:
BUYER:
Do you still have this item for sale ?
Andrew
Sent from my iPhone
ME:
Yes the item is still for sale.
Sent from my iPhone
BUYER (this response came immediately after I sent my last one)
Thanks for the prompt response to my mail. I will be buying from you
so please kindly withdraw the advert from C.LIST to avoid
disturbance. Please be informed that i will be paying with a certified
check from my Bank it will be delivered to you via United Parcel
Service (UPS) or FedEx , Then, the last price you're willing sell it
for me
so I'll need you to provide me with the following information to
facilitate the mailing of the check...
1.....Full name to write on the check
2.....Full Physical address to post the check
3.....City, State and Zip Code
4.....Home & Cell Phone to contact you
I will make arrangements for the pick up as soon as you have your
money I am completely satisfied with the advert and the payment will
be delivered within 4hours.** I use a hearing impaired phone # and
will receive your calls via email **
N.B UPS/FedEx does not deliver to a P.O box addresses.Thanks
__________________
Bringing authentic Mexican flavor to bass since 1990
| 
01-14-2013, 06:29 AM
|  | Ruff | | Join Date: Feb 2009 Location: In the dog house. | | | Yes | 
01-14-2013, 06:48 AM
| | | | This is the typical CL scam attempt. Usually the "buyer" is too busy to deal face to face since they are researching underwater ant farms in Wahulustan. Avoid them. Deal with living breathing humans face to face. Cash.
__________________
--I dont suffer from insanity, I rather enjoy it --
| 
01-14-2013, 06:48 AM
|  | Plus ça change, Plus c'est la même chose. | | Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: Middletown, OH | | | Any time you get a response to something you're selling and they describe it as an "item" instead of calling it what it is, it's a scam. It's a form letter they send out.
__________________ Clubs: Ohio Bassist #6 | Sadowsky - #181 | Gallien-Krueger #369 | Avatar #61 | DR Strings #9 | Classic-Vibe #1 | Blue Bass #57 | 
01-14-2013, 06:50 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2003 Location: Ontario N.Y. | | | Yes its is a scam...avoid.
__________________
Chuck You don't stop playing music because you grow old. You grow old because you stop playing music! | 
01-14-2013, 06:55 AM
| | Registered User Endorsing Artist: Carvin,Modulus, Hotwire & Conklin Basses, Eden Amps | | Join Date: Sep 2000 Location: Nashville,TN | | The modus operandi is to send a counterfeit check that is more that the amount of the item by a significant amount. They request that you wire the difference back. You deposit the check, wire the difference back and send the bass. The check bounces and you owe your bank the entire amount, you're out what you wired to them and they have your bass. It's a triple burn. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigerian_scam | 
01-14-2013, 07:02 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jun 2011 Location: Santa Rosa, CA USA | | |
__________________
Fender Basses, Gallien-Krueger Amps, D’Addario Strings, StudioSlips.com Covers.
| 
01-14-2013, 07:08 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Pennsylvania | | | Oh man, that is THE classic CL scam. I cant believe they still try this as its so blatantly absurd. | 
01-14-2013, 07:15 AM
| | | | Haha thanks guys. Figured it was too good to be true.
edit by Josh Ryan
Read the rules please regarding selling items.
__________________
Bringing authentic Mexican flavor to bass since 1990
Last edited by Josh Ryan : 01-14-2013 at 07:43 AM.
| 
01-14-2013, 07:32 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: I'm on a Mexican wo-oh radio | | | Yes it's a scam and a trifecta...In some parts of the country after you give them your full name, addy, zip, and both phone numbers they will threaten you with physical abuse.
__________________
Who's that riding in the sleigh, roughing up bums on Christmas day? Psycho Dad, Psycho Dad, Psyco Dad"
| 
01-14-2013, 07:45 AM
| | | | Really?? As bad as threatening people?
__________________
Bringing authentic Mexican flavor to bass since 1990
| 
01-14-2013, 08:00 AM
| | Registered User Endorsing Artist: No. (I wish) lol | | Join Date: May 2010 Location: Vancouver, BC Canada | | | Basically there's only one word to know when receiving messages like this: Delete.
__________________
TB Clubs and Gear listed in my profile.
| 
01-14-2013, 08:08 AM
|  | The higher, the fewer. | | Join Date: Aug 2012 Location: California's Central Valley | | Maybe it could be legit, like these others (not really): 1 2 3
Run, Forest. Run!
__________________
TalkBass: where some of the simplest notions turn into rocket science.
-- Lone Wolf Club #11 -- Virtual AMPEG Portaflex Club #14 --
| 
01-14-2013, 08:34 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: South Florida, in the U.S.A. | | | SCAM
__________________
Official Redneck Bassist Club! member # 2
There Will Never be a Venue that Charges ME to Play Club Member #20
| 
01-14-2013, 06:05 PM
| | | | Anyone that asks for that much personal info is askin too much. | 
01-14-2013, 06:11 PM
|  | Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion. | | Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: Ohio | | | "I will be buying from you so please kindly withdraw the advert from C.LIST to avoid disturbance" It could be a terminator robot that is looking to get into music and wants to stop trying to kill us all.
__________________
Ohio Bassists Club # 230
Mark Hoppus Bass Club #3
Honorary Wisconsin Bassist Member #10
Fuzzrocious Club #134
Variax Bass Club #2
Club Verellen #3
Fender Cowpoke Club #36
Lone Wolf Club #5
| 
01-14-2013, 06:12 PM
|  | There are some who call me.......Sactobass | | Join Date: Jul 2009 Location: Sacramento California | | Quote:
Originally Posted by TopBillinBass Ok here is my email thread of conversation with an interested buyer:
BUYER:
Do you still have this item for sale ?
Andrew
Sent from my iPhone
ME:
Yes the item is still for sale.
Sent from my iPhone
BUYER (this response came immediately after I sent my last one)
Thanks for the prompt response to my mail. I will be buying from you
so please kindly withdraw the advert from C.LIST to avoid
disturbance. Please be informed that i will be paying with a certified
check from my Bank it will be delivered to you via United Parcel
Service (UPS) or FedEx , Then, the last price you're willing sell it
for me
so I'll need you to provide me with the following information to
facilitate the mailing of the check...
1.....Full name to write on the check
2.....Full Physical address to post the check
3.....City, State and Zip Code
4.....Home & Cell Phone to contact you
I will make arrangements for the pick up as soon as you have your
money I am completely satisfied with the advert and the payment will
be delivered within 4hours.** I use a hearing impaired phone # and
will receive your calls via email **
N.B UPS/FedEx does not deliver to a P.O box addresses.Thanks | LOL! I just received the same type of message today in response to a CL ad. It is a scam. I read about this in another thread somewhere on Talkbass. There is a reason they ask you not to ship it. They send a fake check, and then they submit a claim saying they never received the item.
I was tempted to reply to their message saying that I am so thankful that they, being such a gentleman, have become my friend because I am a Prince in Nigeria and I have access to 5 million dollars and I will share it with him but all I need is someone to send me $5000 to unlock the 5 million.
But then, I just decided to delete their scam message and move on.
__________________
"Too much of a good thing.......can be wonderful!" - Mae West
Last edited by SactoBass : 01-14-2013 at 06:14 PM.
| 
01-14-2013, 06:12 PM
|  | Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion. | | Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: Ohio | | Quote:
Originally Posted by SactoBass LOL! I just received the same type of message today in response to a CL ad. It is a scam. I read about this in another thread somewhere on Talkbass. There is a reason they ask you not to ship it. They send a fake check, and then they submit a claim saying they never receiving the item.
I was tempted to reply to their message saying that I am so thankful that they, being such a gentleman, have become my friend because I am a Prince in Nigeria and I have access to 5 million dollars and I will share it with him but all I need is someone to send me $5000 to unlock the 5 million.
But then, I just decided to delete their scam message and move on. | LOL
__________________
Ohio Bassists Club # 230
Mark Hoppus Bass Club #3
Honorary Wisconsin Bassist Member #10
Fuzzrocious Club #134
Variax Bass Club #2
Club Verellen #3
Fender Cowpoke Club #36
Lone Wolf Club #5
| 
01-14-2013, 06:46 PM
| | | | Yepper, it's a classic. | 
01-14-2013, 06:50 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: S.W. Ohio | | | Scam City! | | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | |