Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-13-2011, 03:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Craigslist scam

Sign in to disble this ad
Not 100% sure this is a scam, but totally has the smell of it.
I put a speaker cabinet up for sale in Bay Area Craigslist, and listed a phone number to call. Still, I check my e-mail in case anyone goes that route. Got one reply, innocent enough, that says.." still available ? " type thing. I answered "yes, are you interested ?"

got THIS reply back....to which I replied "sorry, cash only"

Hi there, Thank you for getting back to me.Can you assure me that it'sin good state and that i will not be disappointed with it. I'm readyto pay your asking price and to be honest, i wanted to buythis for my son, but the issue is i am an oceanographer and i do havea contract to go for which starts tomorrow and am leaving any momentfrom now. The contract is strictly no call due to the lack of receptionon the sea area. But I'm able to access email anytime as we will makeuse of laptop so my only quickest payment option is PayPal as i cansend money via PayPal anytime.Since I'm requesting this transaction tobe done via PayPal, i will be responsible for all the PayPalfee/charges on this transaction and if you don't have an account withPayPal, its pretty easy, safe and secured to open one. Just log on towww.paypal.com. I hope we can make the purchase as fast as possible? Ihave a mover that will come for it once payment clears and they willget it to my son's location safely. So i look forward to hear from you soon
  #2  
Old 02-13-2011, 03:43 PM
gjbassist's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Supporting Member
SCAM! You can tell it's fake by the poor grammar and strange word choices that normal people wouldn't use in an email.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck norriss View Post
Anyone doesn't like Geddy Lee? Automatic punch in the face.
SX Club Member in Good Standing/Geddy Lee Club #17/Lefties Who Play Right #4/GK Club #840/Zoom Owners Club #96
  #3  
Old 02-13-2011, 03:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
yes thats a scam I get those all the time posting on CL thats why f you read a lot of postings they will say " all e-mails asking if available will be ignored" makes sense now? haha
__________________
Bassists Who Drive Manual Club! #93
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.