TalkBass Forums

TalkBass Forums (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/)
-   Miscellaneous [BG] (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f30/)
-   -   Craigslist Scams in the DC area (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f30/craigslist-scams-dc-area-966826/)

_aflores_funk 03-13-2013 09:13 PM

Craigslist Scams in the DC area
 
Recently I have seen many basses on sale by the same person, same phone number, name, and location. He always says he's selling because he has too many basses. It seems like this guy has well over 50 because I've seen at least 20-25 in the past month from the same guy. Is he gutting expensive basses and putting crap electronics in them? Is he just getting similar looking products and slapping labels on the headstock?
I need your help guys, I don't wanna take a fall by buying from a scammer. I work too hard for my money.

Thanks! I'll post some links in a bit to see if you can help!

_aflores_funk 03-13-2013 09:16 PM

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/n...653263863.html

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/n...603174648.html

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/n...653609965.html

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/n...670631845.html

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/n...670683847.html

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/n...670725374.html

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/n...670746848.html

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/n...603172219.html

_aflores_funk 03-13-2013 09:17 PM

Then again, he might be a good honest guy. Not trying to troll, just tired of seeing his posts and not knowing if I can trust the info on there.

Thanks again!

_aflores_funk 03-13-2013 09:31 PM

Bump

Toolmybass 03-13-2013 09:34 PM

I would say if he is offering up his name, phone number and offering to come and look at these basses i would say its legit. Call him!

Toolmybass 03-13-2013 09:37 PM

Also looks like he is local-ish to you.

michael_atw 03-13-2013 09:40 PM

Lol, are you interested in his stuff?

Have you tried to go over?

If not, why do you care?

Not being an ***, just recognizing the truth that there are alot of tire kickers on CL. I went and bought a Fender Duo Sonic from a guy last weekend and he talked about all the tire kickers, "I don't know why they are bugging me, just come over and check it out!" He said.

Some people sell in bulk. He might be a reseller. I highly doubt he's anything other than any average seller.

_aflores_funk 03-13-2013 09:45 PM

I might just be jealous of all the basses haha! I'm enjoying my one fender American deluxe jazz V but I'm GASsing for a P bass. You guys are probably right though. I'll try to pay him a visit soon.

Phil Smith 03-14-2013 07:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by _aflores_funk (Post 14027880)
I might just be jealous of all the basses haha! I'm enjoying my one fender American deluxe jazz V but I'm GASsing for a P bass. You guys are probably right though. I'll try to pay him a visit soon.

Yeah man, you trip'n. :D Get on over there and check out some of those basses.

deeptubes 03-14-2013 10:49 AM

He's got some sharp ones!

Tmw2011 03-14-2013 11:05 AM

Looks like he might be buying and flipping them. For example, he likely got that AmSpec in the first link on sale when GC had their $699 sale, and working on trying to get a profit. No shame in that.

What might be of concern (though not too much) is that he's using a Canadian phone number. But he may be a transplant.. I used my DC based cell phone for almost a year when I came out to OK. Could simply be a college student. Shrug.

Either way he's got some nice stuff going on.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.