Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-18-2009, 01:14 PM
emblymouse's Avatar
Incense and Peppermints

Endorsing Artist: Lakland / Schroeder /Bag End
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: W' Sconsin
Supporting Member
ebay scam alert!!!

Sign in to disble this ad
A bunch of listings for sweet stuff-starting bids are alll $108.10
For example:http://instruments.listings.ebay.com...istingItemList
  #2  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: fall river mass
scam?
  #3  
Old 01-18-2009, 04:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texas
I fail to see how a starting price of $108.10 qualifies an auction as a scam.
__________________
Spector Club President #1
Texas Bassist Club #25
Dean Bass Club #2
TalkBass Cigar Club Member #29
Rachel Bolan Fan Club #2
SX Member
810 Member #24
  #4  
Old 01-18-2009, 04:23 PM
emblymouse's Avatar
Incense and Peppermints

Endorsing Artist: Lakland / Schroeder /Bag End
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: W' Sconsin
Supporting Member
Many of these have been listed recently by the real owners. I've seen this pattern before too. If you look at the whole number of these you'll see what I mean. Scam city.
  #5  
Old 01-18-2009, 04:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: under the stairs
I don't see anything on that first page for $108.50
  #6  
Old 01-18-2009, 05:02 PM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
The auctions were probably reported and pulled down already. The deal is there is an organized operation that hijacks multiple seller accounts and then lists a whole bunch of rare, desirable gear (photos of gear that a legitimate seller already sold in recent weeks) at prices that are too good to be true. The way they set it up, it's difficult for Ebay to catch them until enough people report each instance. Between the time the auction starts, and the time the auctions are pulled down, enough foolish people have hit "buy it now" and sent their Paypal payment that it is a profitable scam for the operators.

There are craploads of giveaway clues on these scam auctions once you've seen a couple of them. I report one almost every other day.
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
  #7  
Old 01-18-2009, 06:12 PM
fdeck's Avatar
Registered User

Maker of HPF-Pre upright bass preamp
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Madison WI
Supporting Member
How do they hijack accounts? Is Joe User at risk?
__________________
DIY gear articles and HPF-Pre
  #8  
Old 01-18-2009, 06:27 PM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
Well the only technique I know of with certainty is phishing. The fake Ebay login pages are getting better and more elaborate all the time, and a good phish gets them the login and password which is all they need to get in, disable email notifications, re-route the Paypal info, and list the "goods".

So don't get suckered by phishing.

I would not be surprised if there are other methods/risks, but I don't know them.
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
  #9  
Old 01-18-2009, 07:01 PM
fdeck's Avatar
Registered User

Maker of HPF-Pre upright bass preamp
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Madison WI
Supporting Member
That's a relief. I am pretty wary about phishing.
__________________
DIY gear articles and HPF-Pre
  #10  
Old 01-19-2009, 03:15 PM
peabody's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: La Crosse, WI and Mpls, MN
Supporting Member
The first time I came across one of these auctions was when I was looking for a French Horn for my son. The BIN price was a great deal on a Yamaha horn, so I contacted the seller at the e-mail address they included. The auction was pulled down shortly after it went up and the seller insisted it was just a "problem with the listing". He tried to convince me that we could still do the deal. I kept telling him that once his listing was back on-line, we could talk. It didn't take long to figure out what was going on.

I'm in the market for a Ric 4001, and I came across three of those auctions yesterday for three separate Rics (and reported them immediately). When someone has a '73 fretless 4001 in mint condition for a $1300, you know something is fishy. Not to mention when the seller doesn't want you to bid, but rather contact them outside of eBay via the e-mail address they give....red lights are flashing.

As they say...when something appears too good to be true, it usually is.
__________________
I am not a "yes" man. If my wife says no...I say no.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.