Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-11-2010, 04:05 PM
capnsandwich's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to capnsandwich
Supporting Member
exploretalent.com.....anyone know anything?

Sign in to disble this ad
I just came across this website from a link, http://www.exploretalent.com/, and signed up for a free account. It looks fine and dandy but yesterday I get this call from a guy named Kyle from California saying he could hook me up with a gig paying good money here in my town. All I had to do is get the paid membership for 3 months and I could get to the bigger paying gigs. They wanted somewhere around $60 for a 3 month membership. I'm curious about this.

Does anyone have experience with these guys or is it some kind of internet scam where they promise you the world all while they charge you too much for what they offer?

Opinions please..........
__________________
Me
Soul Atoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by john turner View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Vogt View Post
So much gets said online that would never be said face to face.
  #2  
Old 02-12-2010, 08:34 AM
Steve's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Supporting Member
Taking a quick look at the website and searching my zip code...

The greater majority of what is there appears to be stuff that can be found on the local Craigslist, MySpace Classifides, Backpage and similar.

They also claim 4,000+ current positions open and looking and I guaran-damn-tee you that's BS. NE Florida ain't New Orleans, Nashville or Austin. I doubt there are 4,000 players in this entire state you'd want to get mixed up with.

Kyle would have to do a little more than dangle some little shiney something to get my money.
  #3  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:26 PM
capnsandwich's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to capnsandwich
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Taking a quick look at the website and searching my zip code...

The greater majority of what is there appears to be stuff that can be found on the local Craigslist, MySpace Classifides, Backpage and similar.

They also claim 4,000+ current positions open and looking and I guaran-damn-tee you that's BS. NE Florida ain't New Orleans, Nashville or Austin. I doubt there are 4,000 players in this entire state you'd want to get mixed up with.

Kyle would have to do a little more than dangle some little shiney something to get my money.
Yeah, that's what I suspected. There are so many people out there with gimmicks to try and take your money. I guess this is one of those.
__________________
Me
Soul Atoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by john turner View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Vogt View Post
So much gets said online that would never be said face to face.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:04 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.