Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-21-2006, 10:15 AM
Sonoran Fury!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Free bass?

Sign in to disble this ad
Has anyone here attempted or succeeded in completing one of these "Free Rickenbacker/Stingray Bass" offers? what gives? can you actually get one of these guitars for less? is it a total "sign your life away" hassle?
  #2  
Old 07-21-2006, 10:18 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: St. Louis // St. Charles, MO
man... like an idiot, I started to do that... really committed to going through the whole thing... at the end, there is was, "Enter your credit card number" - ain't gonna do it... sorry...

I don't know - it may be legit, it may be a scam... not willing to be the guinea pig...
__________________
On Groove Duty
  #3  
Old 07-21-2006, 11:51 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Where do you see it? I have 20 euros left in my bank account and I blocked it at 0 so I cant go past limits, I'd gladly be the guinea pig on this one
  #4  
Old 07-21-2006, 12:12 PM
Sonoran Fury!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
it often pops up on the left side of the Talk Bass main page where the advertisements are. I think the site is www.art-offer.com
  #5  
Old 07-21-2006, 04:28 PM
tplyons's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Madison, NJ
Supporting Member
If it's too good to be true, it probably is.

If it's too good to be true and it's on the internet, your credit card will be charged.
__________________
- Timothy P. Lyons
Your Neighborhood Friendly Candyman
  #6  
Old 07-21-2006, 04:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint John, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by morf
Where do you see it? I have 20 euros left in my bank account and I blocked it at 0 so I cant go past limits, I'd gladly be the guinea pig on this one
in a case such as yours... i would go for it, just to try.
__________________
| Carvin LB76 With Walnut Wings and Jay Turser P-copy | My Rig
Danelectro FAB Pedal Club Member #3 | Naked Bassist Club #15 |
  #7  
Old 07-21-2006, 04:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Burlington Vt
Send a message via AIM to dukerutledge
I agree, you should try. I am also one of those people who started it, but never commited at the end.
  #8  
Old 07-21-2006, 05:20 PM
THIRSTYGUMS's Avatar
marvellous
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Send a message via AIM to THIRSTYGUMS Send a message via MSN to THIRSTYGUMS
Supporting Member
might be one of those free ipod dealios, where you sign up and get your mates to sign up thereby legally supplying the company valuable referrals - e-mails that is, black gold, texas tea!- My friends did it and got Ipods, its a legit practice.
Though i havent seen this exact offer in particular so it may well just be funky Nigerian scammers
__________________
Hardcore from Northern Ireland:
www.facebook.com/lanternforagale
www.lanternforagale1.bandcamp.com
  #9  
Old 07-22-2006, 02:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ont, Can
Send a message via MSN to CanadianBass48
Ya, I started filling that out to but they wanted me to start paying like two here and 5 there. I filled out one, then three, then I got pissed when it went up to applying for nine of their crapin advertising things. I quit a broken man.
  #10  
Old 07-22-2006, 06:13 PM
DeanT's Avatar
It's a happy song about not getting what you want
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NY, Just Like I Pictured It.
Supporting Member
If you and your freinds like to get crap-loads of spam then by all means go for it. Otherwise it's a scam. They just want your email address (and the addresses of your friends) to send them spam. I doubt you'll ever see a free Ric out of it.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.