Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-25-2005, 02:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London ON
Send a message via Skype™ to Steve Clark
Is this a legit request via email

Sign in to disble this ad
Hi everyone, I'm guessing this email I received is one of the bogus ones that are flying around since I received three emails, one from a Jack Robinson and two from a David Moore. They arrived less than an hour after posting on bassgear.com. Thanks in advance for your input. See below:

hello,
i am david i want you to know that i am intrested in buying your Euphonic Audio CXL112 $855 for sale i would like you to know that i recide in the uk and i will want to the last price of it. i want you to know that i will be paying with a us money order if this is ok pls i will want you give me your full details so i can issue out the check to you ok. this include your.
FULL NAME
ADDRESS
CITY
ZIPCODE
STATE
COUNTRY
PHONE NUMBER
PLS EMAIL ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE
THANKS
DAVID
__________________
Upcoming Shows
  #2  
Old 10-25-2005, 03:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Beautiful Western Colorado
Is this legit? You're kidding, Steve. Of course it isn't. One more scam like the cam109 scam brought up earlier.
__________________
Florentino Ariza tenía la respuesta preparada desde hacía cincuenta y tres años, siete meses y once días con sus noches. –Toda la vida –dijo. El amor en los tiempos del cólera
  #3  
Old 10-25-2005, 03:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Clark
Hi everyone, I'm guessing this email I received is one of the bogus ones that are flying around since I received three emails, one from a Jack Robinson and two from a David Moore. They arrived less than an hour after posting on bassgear.com. Thanks in advance for your input. See below:

hello,
i am david i want you to know that i am intrested in buying your Euphonic Audio CXL112 $855 for sale i would like you to know that i recide in the uk and i will want to the last price of it. i want you to know that i will be paying with a us money order if this is ok pls i will want you give me your full details so i can issue out the check to you ok. this include your.
FULL NAME
ADDRESS
CITY
ZIPCODE
STATE
COUNTRY
PHONE NUMBER
PLS EMAIL ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE
THANKS
DAVID

scam.

When I'm selling something, I avoid bassgear now. As soon as I posted there, I received the same 5 scam emails.

Was your gear posted there?

If I'm terribly desperate, I'll mark in caps NO SCAMMERS, 3 or 4 times in the post... I only received 1 or 2 scam emails then.
__________________
a proud member of Clowny Chimpanzee's Cold Robba Crouching Fishes

"Its not until you lose everything that you are free to do anything..."
  #4  
Old 10-25-2005, 03:55 PM
::::BASSIST::::'s Avatar
Looking for Opportunities to Create Harmony
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Supporting Member
Scammers are everywhere. I dont avoid posting on classifieds b/c of scammers. That just hurts all of us in the long run. When I get scam attempts I just delete them and go about my day. No point in getting upset about it as that doesnt change anything.
__________________
Stambaugh Shortscale Jazz - GK MB800 - fEARful 15/6
  #5  
Old 10-26-2005, 06:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London ON
Send a message via Skype™ to Steve Clark
Thanks. I guess I shouldn't complain since its a free service at bassgear. First time using it. Probably the last.
__________________
Upcoming Shows
  #6  
Old 10-26-2005, 06:49 AM
brothernewt's Avatar
I Fink U Freeky
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Supporting Member
I play along... let 'em send me the phony check... then email the bank that it's counterfeited from, and forward them the reply. I can do it all while I'm at work so it's not wasting my time... and I'm wasting theirs as well as whatever it costs to produce the fake and mail it. If they lose enough money on the scam, maybe they'll stop.
  #7  
Old 10-26-2005, 07:12 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by brothernewt
I play along... let 'em send me the phony check... then email the bank that it's counterfeited from, and forward them the reply. I can do it all while I'm at work so it's not wasting my time... and I'm wasting theirs as well as whatever it costs to produce the fake and mail it. If they lose enough money on the scam, maybe they'll stop.

Great idea.

I'm only paranoid about giving out my mailing address to scammers. I guess I could give them my work address. The last think I want, is to come home, and find my house broken into, and all my gear stolen. Not saying that a scammer from Nigeria would come all the way to my home, but it's just one of those things that's "better safe than sorry" to me.

OTOH, if my work was broken into, and I had to take a day off, that would be a shame...
__________________
a proud member of Clowny Chimpanzee's Cold Robba Crouching Fishes

"Its not until you lose everything that you are free to do anything..."
  #8  
Old 10-26-2005, 07:54 AM
Hollow Man's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Send a message via AIM to Hollow Man
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Clark
Thanks. I guess I shouldn't complain since its a free service at bassgear. First time using it. Probably the last.
I wouldn't get too down on it just yet... it's a great way to get your gear advertised. But, you also get a lot of these obnoxious scammer-types too. Just weed out the bad ones and wait on someone genuine to express interest.
__________________
You can't have everything. Where would you put it?
  #9  
Old 10-26-2005, 08:12 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North Dakota
Bassgear is a great place to buy and sell. Many "regulars" there to do business with - just like here. The fortunate thing about the scammers there is that they are so obvious. Most scammers get smarter, these guys seem to get dumber as time goes on. Yeah, it's a pain, but just delete the email and move on.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:46 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.