Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:29 PM
I won't let your shadow be my shade...
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Western Massachusetts
MP3 Downloads from MP3Sugar.com

Sign in to disble this ad
I don't get it. Am I missing something? ITunes and other places sell song downloads for $0.99 a song, usually under $10 for a whole album, right?

I was searching for places online to buy a certain CD from and came across MP3Sugar.com. $0.10 per song, $0.99 for the whole album?!?!??!!??

Is this legit? How can the band be getting ANYTHING in compensation at that price????

Here's the album:

http://www.mp3sugar.com/album.dhtml?id=30724&aff=2085

$16 at CDNow:

http://www.ccnow.com/cgi-local/sc_ca...06088202776287

$14 at amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=glance&n=5174

Even if it were legit, I'd still feel like I was stealing it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Latimour
You can post new threads in the DB forum, but they will make fun of you and get angry and generally do grumpy old man things.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigger
It's hard to argue with a word like 'fraught'.
  #2  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:58 PM
jrthebassguy's Avatar
*******er Emeritus(does anyone remember that? No?)
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Houston, Texas
Supporting Member
It's based in Russia, and have a loophole because of that or some such. Same concept for allofmp3.com (i think that's the url)
__________________
-Jake
  #3  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:58 PM
smperry's Avatar
Moderator

Endorsing Artist: Martin Keith Guitars
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Supporting Member
I'd be nervous of giving my credit card info! The web site identity is not verified (no certificate available), and I don't see any information about SSL encryption, or evidence of encryption. I say stay clear. Someone more knowledgeable can correct me though.

Emusic.com is cheap, but they don't have a huge selection.

Marshall
  #4  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:11 PM
Josh Ryan's Avatar
- that dog won't hunt, Monsignor.
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by smperry
I'd be nervous of giving my credit card info! The web site identity is not verified (no certificate available), and I don't see any information about SSL encryption, or evidence of encryption. I say stay clear. Someone more knowledgeable can correct me though.

Emusic.com is cheap, but they don't have a huge selection.

Marshall
If it seems to good to be true, it probably is. At minimum you are stealing.
__________________
aka Blisshead.
  #5  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Prince Edward Island
Send a message via MSN to Stanley Design
I love canada we don't have to worry about this stuff.
__________________
G&L Bass Club member #152 - Eden Electronics Club member #162 - Yorkville/Traynor club #105
  #6  
Old 02-14-2006, 10:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Waco, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Stanley
I love canada we don't have to worry about this stuff.
What do you mean? No one steals music in Canada?

brad cook
__________________
Check out my photoblog: www. focusedonthelight. net
  #7  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:17 AM
WillPlay4Food's Avatar
Now With More Metal!
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Harte fjord, CT
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigMe
What do you mean? No one steals music in Canada?

brad cook
No, the Canadian courts have basically said it's legal to download music from P2P networks (Kazaa, gnutella, etc.). It's illegal to upload though. Wonder how they split that camel hair?
__________________
Check out my OS X music software here!

Your friendly neighborhood "This one goes to eleven" Amps co-moderator.

Ashdown Owner Club Member #4
  #8  
Old 02-15-2006, 06:50 PM
I won't let your shadow be my shade...
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Western Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillPlay4Food
No, the Canadian courts have basically said it's legal to download music from P2P networks (Kazaa, gnutella, etc.). It's illegal to upload though. Wonder how they split that camel hair?
just 'cause it's legal, doesn't mean it's right, but that's another topic and P2Ps have been discussed enough. Wasn't aware of this place being from Russia, but I can understand what you're saying about not giving them my CC#s. My main concern is if this place is doing this in cooperation with the bands/lables, and if not than I'm not interested. If they are, I'm wondering how they can possibly offer such cheap downloads (are they low quality? they seem like average 4-5 meg MP3s, so they are probably in the 128-192KB rate, not that bitrate alone tells you the audio quality)

I'm guessing I'm going to stick with the traditional "Mail me a CD" method for now. I'd rather pay $16 for a CD than $10 for a download.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Latimour
You can post new threads in the DB forum, but they will make fun of you and get angry and generally do grumpy old man things.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigger
It's hard to argue with a word like 'fraught'.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.