Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-24-2008, 06:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oneonta, NY
Music123 and MF same company

Sign in to disble this ad
This may be old news to the rest of you.......
I noticed lately that many of the closeouts/refurbs on the Music123 and MF websites were exactly the same.....
So I asked MF if they were connected in anyway and they told me: NO, they were not.
Yesterday I got an email from Music123 talking about their TuneCore program and I noticed it was "presented by The Guitar Center" (MF's brick and mortar stores)
So, I sent the same question to Music123 and lo and behold they answered me today and said that they, MF and The Guitar Centers are all associated and owned by the same company......
So, MF lied...imagine!
It's like a Sam Ash/Manny's deal......
__________________
Lefty Union Member #47
Fender CIJ Club Member #22
Lefty Dean Performer for sale!!
  #2  
Old 03-25-2008, 07:10 AM
baba's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: 3rd stone from the sun
Supporting Member
Add Guitar Center to the mix.
__________________
FOR SALE - Musicman Stingray 5 BURNT APPLE -http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f126/musicman-stingray-5-burnt-apple-882195/
  #3  
Old 03-25-2008, 07:56 AM
lefty007's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Supporting Member
Yes, old news. MF and Music123 are exactly the same now, same warehouse and personnel, different Websites. Just like Zzounds and Same Day Music.

They do it so unaware shoppers see products listed at different Websites and they compare the price. The might lower the price in one of the Websites by a few dollar, just so people that are comparing think they are doing smart shopping.

Guitar Center is owed by the same company, but I think the keep the two sides separated a good deal, besides the buying power.

I've had nothing but good experiences with MF, I have to say. Beat the heck out of driving to my local GC or Sam Ash only to find they don't have anything of what I need in stock. MF: Free shipping, no human interaction, 45-day return policy = Yippie!
  #4  
Old 03-25-2008, 09:35 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oneonta, NY
I just thought it was interesting that MF lied to me when I asked them the same question....they should at least get their stories the straight!! LOL
__________________
Lefty Union Member #47
Fender CIJ Club Member #22
Lefty Dean Performer for sale!!
  #5  
Old 03-25-2008, 10:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tulsa, OK
The MF rep maybe didn't know - they're paid to process orders, not to understand the corporate hierarchy.

While were at it, Woodwind & Brasswind (wwbw.com) is part of the same universe.
  #6  
Old 03-25-2008, 10:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oneonta, NY
Maybe, but I had sent the email to thier Customer Service dept, not order processing so I would hope they had a handle on it......anyway, I'll still buy from them....just thought it was an odd response.....Buyer beware, as always ;-)
__________________
Lefty Union Member #47
Fender CIJ Club Member #22
Lefty Dean Performer for sale!!
  #7  
Old 03-25-2008, 10:22 AM
Turock's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Melnibone
Supporting Member
I just canceled an order with Music123 (out of stock item), and received email confirmation of my canceled order. At the bottom of my email from Music123:
"We appreciate you choosing Musician's Friend."
__________________
We got the blues... but we're not sad about it.
http://shamelessdave.com
  #8  
Old 03-25-2008, 10:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bristol, Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by saxofunk View Post
While were at it, Woodwind & Brasswind (wwbw.com) is part of the same universe.
I recently talked to a manager at Woodwind & Brasswind (it's one of my local music stores), He said they used to be owned by Music123, but they nearly ran them into bankruptcy, now they are separate.
  #9  
Old 04-05-2008, 10:21 PM
Registered User

District Manager, Guitar Center, North & West Texas, Oklahoma, AR
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I aggree with Saxofunk. The person you spoke to at the call center may not know. I have guys working in my stores that don't know...not that we are hiding anything, they just missed the announcement when we bought them, or other outlets...like Brasswind/Woodwind.
jh
__________________
"Once in awhile you can get shown the light in the strangest of places if you look at it right"
  #10  
Old 04-06-2008, 04:12 PM
bassguppy's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vacaville, California
Supporting Member
If I had to guess I would say some of the people answering your phone call are not musicians. So, it would not suprise me that they would not know. I would also guess alot of musicians who don't hang on forums or the internet would know either.
  #11  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:23 PM
Registered User

Endorsing-Trace Elliot,Peavey Basses,PedalTrain,Starkey inears
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nashville TN/Madison TN
Send a message via Yahoo to justabass
Add Music and Arts as well...
__________________
Praise And Worship Club Member #106,Sadowsky Club Member #80,Trace Elliot Club Member 200
  #12  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PR
When I called Music123 they answered the phone: "Musician's Friend"
  #13  
Old 04-07-2008, 11:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Big Island
Music123 used to have good shipping pocilies with a variety of options (especially to Hawaii). Now they are using MF's draconian shipping policies. $69.00 service charge on heavy items with ground shipping only (translation = we won't ship it to Hawaii)
__________________
"Rockin' in Puna Hawaii"
-Proud Member of the IOC -
-MIM Fender Club- #9
-Effects Addict Member-(No number yet!)
  #14  
Old 04-08-2008, 01:03 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County
Send a message via AIM to AlphaMale
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBassman View Post
I just thought it was interesting that MF lied to me when I asked them the same question....they should at least get their stories the straight!! LOL
They told me about them and guitar center.
Musicians friend is pretty awesome but I did get a stupid what seemed like a really hot knife burnt through the plastic on my amp. And this one product was really flimsy. I also played an order on thursday and payed for one day shipping and got it on a tuesday. But I'm not unsatisfied. Musician's friend has really cheap bass strings I can't find at guitar center.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyondhairy View Post
next chick who asks me to take her to starbucks is unzipping her pants first
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.