Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-06-2008, 03:39 PM
Benjamin Strange's Avatar
Analyzer Records

Endorsing Artist: Mesa/Boogie - Shop Manager/Tech, SF Guitarworks
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA
Send a message via AIM to Benjamin Strange
Supporting Member
My music got scouted for a film.

Sign in to disble this ad
Err... sort of. I just got an email from Hitt Music Group, saying they were looking for artists to provide music for films. I gave them a call, and they almost instantly launched into a giant spiel about what they could do for me: get me label interest, publishing deals, film placement, yadayadayada - without letting me get a word in edgewise, mostly. It felt like the guy I was talking to was reading off a script. It all sounded well and good, until he mentioned the catch: it was a pay service, which would cost me $400 to join.

I stopped him right there, and told him I wasn't interested in paying anybody to provide those kind of services. I asked him to send me the information in print, but instead he referred me to their website. Hmmm. The whole thing sounded like a scam - I'm not going to bother calling them back.

Anybody else here had any experience with them?
  #2  
Old 06-06-2008, 04:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Edinboro, PA
Send a message via AIM to Matt Till
No, but that sounds like a scam if I've ever heard one.
__________________
Mediocre Bassist Club Member #4
  #3  
Old 06-06-2008, 04:33 PM
Benjamin Strange's Avatar
Analyzer Records

Endorsing Artist: Mesa/Boogie - Shop Manager/Tech, SF Guitarworks
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA
Send a message via AIM to Benjamin Strange
Supporting Member
Yeah, it appears the more I research it, the more scammy it becomes. Lots of horror stories on the Googles.

It did feel kind of nice to be able to blow somebody off when they asked if I was interested in getting signed. Um, no. I started my own label for a reason.
  #4  
Old 06-06-2008, 04:53 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Central Southern Massachusetts
Definite scam. There are proper agencies and proper channels to go through for these types of placements. I've done it many times. Don't give this guy the time of day.

get yourself hooked up with a publisher agency like BMI (it's the best, imo) and then get a song marketing team behind you (my agency is Heavy Hitters...again, awesome)... sure it costs money or a percentage, but so worth it.
  #5  
Old 06-06-2008, 08:55 PM
Pilgrim's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Supporting Member
Same kind of scam as promising young girls a modeling contract, but first they have to pay $1000 for a photographer to shoot their portfolio.

You made the right call.
__________________
"...awesome as a monkey wearing a tuxedo made of bacon, riding on a unicorn!'"
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.