Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-09-2010, 02:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
opinion on this guitar on ebay

Sign in to disble this ad
Finally found the guitar ive been looking for on ebay. The only thing is the seller has 0 feedback! now so far hes been in contact and when i asked for certain pics of the guitar he sent them to my email. And when i asked how it would be shipped he said it would be in a fender guitar box with bubble wrap and paper. Heres the link http://cgi.ebay.com/FENDER-TELECASTE...#ht_1014wt_994

I've only ever bought things from people with a 100% feedback so just wondering what you guys think about this.
  #2  
Old 09-09-2010, 02:50 PM
essentre's Avatar
Corevalay.com
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Supporting Member
I personally stay away from anyone with a zero feedback. Just my way of staying out of possible trouble situations.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by srxplayer View Post
A jazz bass works for anything. For Metal, get a black one.
www.corevalay.com
  #3  
Old 09-09-2010, 02:53 PM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
Yeah that's a tough one. The pics, description, and answers to questions all point to a legitimate deal--but zero fdbk on Ebay is a deal-breaker as far as I'm concerned. If it was me, I wouldn't do it, just to play it safe.
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
  #4  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongomania View Post
Yeah that's a tough one. The pics, description, and answers to questions all point to a legitimate deal--but zero fdbk on Ebay is a deal-breaker as far as I'm concerned. If it was me, I wouldn't do it, just to play it safe.
Yeah man this one has me on the fence big time.
  #5  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_ryceeeee View Post
Finally found the guitar ive been looking for on ebay. The only thing is the seller has 0 feedback! now so far hes been in contact and when i asked for certain pics of the guitar he sent them to my email. And when i asked how it would be shipped he said it would be in a fender guitar box with bubble wrap and paper. Heres the link http://cgi.ebay.com/FENDER-TELECASTE...#ht_1014wt_994

I've only ever bought things from people with a 100% feedback so just wondering what you guys think about this.
Don't do it. There are lots of Teles in the sea.
__________________
Gordon in Austin
http://www.crystalflavola.com
  #6  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chicago
On the flip side, everyone starts off with 0 feedback. He/she may just be someone who's never sold on eBay before, that doesn't mean that they're shady. I'd say that if it's something you're not able to find elsewhere, and the price is right, then it may be worth it to take the risk. Make sure you get whatever eBay buyer protection and I think that PayPal has some sort of insurance as well. Just make sure you save EVERYTHING, no matter how inane, and get some sort of return policy in writing and you should be fairly well covered. I've bought from new sellers on eBay before with no complaints or issues. There are plenty of scammers out there, but some people really are legit and just trying to make a buck off of something they don't need any more.
__________________
"Forget about playing in the pocket, I don't even want to be near the pants"
~Spraeg~
  #7  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:56 PM
Zitch's Avatar
Vanilla Thunda
 
Join Date: May 2010
Supporting Member
Look at the bid history as well, someone with a 0 rating keeps driving the price up, i would steer clear on this one.
__________________
Basses | Spector NS20004:G&L SB2: Dean Edge Q5:Warwick Corvette$$:Fender Marcus Miller Jazz |
Gear | Mesa mpulse 600:MarkBass std104hr : |
Bands |Sober:LiQuiD EarTh:CELLBOUND |

SPECTORŽ Club #324
  #8  
Old 09-09-2010, 04:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zitch View Post
Look at the bid history as well, someone with a 0 rating keeps driving the price up, i would steer clear on this one.
yeah i was just looking at that. looks like his someone he knows is pumping the bids up.
  #9  
Old 09-09-2010, 04:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: O'Fallon, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spraeg View Post
On the flip side, everyone starts off with 0 feedback. He/she may just be someone who's never sold on eBay before, that doesn't mean that they're shady. I'd say that if it's something you're not able to find elsewhere, and the price is right, then it may be worth it to take the risk. Make sure you get whatever eBay buyer protection and I think that PayPal has some sort of insurance as well. Just make sure you save EVERYTHING, no matter how inane, and get some sort of return policy in writing and you should be fairly well covered. I've bought from new sellers on eBay before with no complaints or issues. There are plenty of scammers out there, but some people really are legit and just trying to make a buck off of something they don't need any more.


+1. If you really want this specific guitar, check out eBay's Buyer Protection, and use PayPal. From personal experience, I know that PayPal will serve as a mediator and insure that you get either the merchandise or a full refund.
  #10  
Old 09-09-2010, 04:40 PM
thudstaff23's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Supporting Member
That's a classic case of shill bidding going on there. It's pretty blatant. It's probably a legit deal, but the shill bidders will continue to drive the price up until you stop biting. My advice: let this one go.
__________________
  #11  
Old 09-10-2010, 11:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Did anyone else notice the Q&A section seems to have at least 3 different people answering the questions? Unless the person changed up their writing style multiple times just to screw with OCD people's heads.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Friedland View Post
People say a lot of stupid ****.
  #12  
Old 09-11-2010, 12:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Im steering away from this one. I asked if he had any other kind of feedback and he told me that this is his first time using ebay and hes learning on the fly. Ive seen people with 100's of feedback and not have a listing look like that.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:10 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.