Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-19-2008, 10:07 AM
ko stradivarius's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis
Supporting Member
Possible scam? What would you do?

Sign in to disble this ad
So I had my amp for sale on ebay. A guy used buy it now and promptly told me he would send a money order and wants me to ship it to his "courier" in Miami. I know he's out of the country just by the language he uses.
Obviously, a red flag goes up at this point.

I email him back stating I will only accept a paypal payment or a US post Office money order (being the easiest to spot a fake).
He says he'll send a paypal payment over the weekend. I never received payment. I email him today stating I never received payment and I'm not feeling comfortable with the transaction at this point as well as I need to get the money to pay for a newer amp I bought.
He emails me back and tells me he couldn't send a paypal payment and he sent a bank of America certified check via FedEx yesterday!! he didn't even have the tracking number with him to email me. (Hmmm...how convenient)
I responded by stating ~again~ that I will only accept a paypal payment or a USPS money order and that I no longer feel comfortable with the transaction and I'm cancelng it. I suggested he cancel the check and get FedEx to re-route the package back to him.

I feel I did the right thing. My gut was telling me something is fishy by the way he can't follow instructions.

What do you guys think?
__________________
-Genz Benz club member #98-
-Curbow Club member #3-
"Penguins ain't nothin' but chickens."
  #2  
Old 05-19-2008, 10:08 AM
Darkstrike's Avatar
Drunk on power... and beer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Co. Kerry, Ireland.
Supporting Member
Yup, scamola.
__________________
The winners are crying and the losers are dancing.
  #3  
Old 05-19-2008, 10:15 AM
Thor's Hammer 2.1.3beta
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Houston, TX
Send a message via AIM to mjolnir
Definitely sounds like you caught a scammer.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by spade2you View Post
...Too many anti-gun people messin' with Texans. I hear they get guns in their Happy Meals down there. :p
Lefty Union Member #110
Carvin Club Member #14
Texas Bassist Club FOUNDER
  #4  
Old 05-19-2008, 10:39 AM
CrashClint's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Supporting Member
Yeah KO, it sounds like a scam! I had a similiar situation happen to me with a Tobias bass I listed a while back. I listed in my posting I would not sell or ship to anyone outside of the US. A guy emailed me through ebay and asked if he could bid and told him what was stated on the listing and he did Buy it Now anyway. I reported it to ebay and ended up selling the bass to a TBer and didn't have to list it. People are forging Bank Checks, I would give it a couple days, if you do receive a Bank of America check, carry it down to the bank and let them trace it to make sure it is real and from the right person, if you do not receive anything, just report it to ebay as a non-payment.
__________________
Isaiah 38:20 - Pretty sure King David would have played a Roscoe.

If you're not rocking a Roscoe - You're just not rocking!

Roscoe Guitars, Rocket Music, Genz Benz, DR Strings
Social Disconnect
  #5  
Old 05-19-2008, 11:10 AM
Registered User

Endorsing Artist: Karl Hoyt Basses
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: upstate NY
scam all the way, don't forget to notify ebay in big capital leters
__________________
Viva Los Blancos!
http://www.casablancos.com

Quote:
"The man who does not read good books has no advantage over the man who cannot read them."
- Mark Twain
  #6  
Old 05-19-2008, 11:24 AM
baba's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: 3rd stone from the sun
Supporting Member
scam, report it.
__________________
FOR SALE - Musicman Stingray 5 BURNT APPLE -http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f126/musicman-stingray-5-burnt-apple-882195/
  #7  
Old 05-19-2008, 11:31 AM
ko stradivarius's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis
Supporting Member
Thanks guys.

I just received another email from him saying he will pay via paypal tonight.

I just sent an email back asking him not to send any money and reminding him ,yet again, I am cancelling this transaction and that I don't feel comfortable with it.
__________________
-Genz Benz club member #98-
-Curbow Club member #3-
"Penguins ain't nothin' but chickens."
  #8  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:51 PM
Registered User

Endorsing Artist: Karl Hoyt Basses
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: upstate NY
any time someone asks you to ship to an "agent" or whatever, it is instant grounds for cancel.
__________________
Viva Los Blancos!
http://www.casablancos.com

Quote:
"The man who does not read good books has no advantage over the man who cannot read them."
- Mark Twain
  #9  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:58 PM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
+1
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
  #10  
Old 05-23-2008, 10:08 PM
fishtx's Avatar
Registered User

Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses/Genz Benz Amplification/Mojo Hand FX
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Supporting Member
you did the right thing...
__________________
Spector Bass Club #53
Genz Benz Club #48
RHAT Pack #6
MXR Club #21
G&L Bass Club #290

http://www.myspace.com/gerryfisher
http://www.maylee.com
  #11  
Old 05-23-2008, 10:41 PM
lefty007's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by ko stradivarius View Post
I email him back stating I will only accept a paypal payment or a US post Office money order
Don't forget that Paypal does not protect you whatsoever if the seller is not verified and you are not shipping to a confirmed address. And Paypal only offers limited protection from a handful of countries outside the US.

So when selling outside the US, accept only wire transfers to your bank account. They are 100% safe for you. Or Western Union wires, but those cost a lot more to the buyer.
  #12  
Old 05-24-2008, 07:57 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Anaheim, Ca.
SO BUSTED!!! Great to know that you'll not be regretting anything... because that whole exchange was nothing but a "confidence game".. well-done.. you've saved yourself a bunch of heartache.
  #13  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:08 AM
saltymonkey's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sag Harbor, NY
Supporting Member
In ebay's buyer requirements you can block all bids from bidders in countries to which you do not ship when listing your item. A great feature.
  #14  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texas
Red flags MUST go up if somebody tries to do things outside of what was stated in the auction. You can't be too careful these days.

Your training has served you well, young Skywalker.
__________________
Spector Club President #1
Texas Bassist Club #25
Dean Bass Club #2
TalkBass Cigar Club Member #29
Rachel Bolan Fan Club #2
SX Member
810 Member #24
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.