Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-23-2004, 12:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to carl-anton
Radio promotion

Sign in to disble this ad
Hi

My band has just been contacted by this firm regarding a deal on radio promotion in the US. They've found us on the net (garageband.com I would persume), and said they liked our music so much, they want to promote it to radiostations in the US. We're based in Denmark, Europe and don't know much about US broadcasting, so I would just hear if any of you have had any expiriences with this company, and general opinions as what to expect from such a deal (we'll get our record company to check it out of course, but it would be great to hear some first hand info about this)

Thanks
__________________
myspace.com/yellowishdk
  #2  
Old 11-23-2004, 01:47 PM
MJ5150's Avatar
Online
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunapee, New Hampshire
Supporting Member
The website looks homemade, and cheesy. The photos look like a child took them, and being from 2003 makes me wonder. I called the number, and a woman answered by saying Hello.

Be careful my friend.

-Mike
  #3  
Old 11-23-2004, 01:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to carl-anton
Hmm... sounds ehm, interesting. Did she say anything after 'hello'?

Thanks for you input. Any alternative ideas as to who else does this kind of business?
__________________
myspace.com/yellowishdk
  #4  
Old 11-23-2004, 02:33 PM
MJ5150's Avatar
Online
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunapee, New Hampshire
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl-anton
Hmm... sounds ehm, interesting. Did she say anything after 'hello'?

Oh yeah, sorry. I asked if I had reached the office of Howiewood, and she said something along the lines of "this is radio promotions". I told her I was looking for Howie, and then she put me on hold. I hung up. I have no interest, I was only checking for you.

-Mike
  #5  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to carl-anton
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ5150
Oh yeah, sorry. I asked if I had reached the office of Howiewood, and she said something along the lines of "this is radio promotions". I told her I was looking for Howie, and then she put me on hold. I hung up. I have no interest, I was only checking for you.

-Mike

Thanks Mike. That was very kind of you

I've allready mailed back and forth a couple of times with one of the guys, since I started this thread. They seem open enough, but we want our record company to check things out before we get serious with these guys.
__________________
myspace.com/yellowishdk
  #6  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:09 PM
MJ5150's Avatar
Online
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunapee, New Hampshire
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl-anton
but we want our record company to check things out before we get serious with these guys.

There ya go, you appear to be a smart guy. Heck, this may end up being totally legit, and I'll be standing in line with 2000 other people to buy a copy of your latest single in a couple months.

Best wishes to you and your band my friend.

-Mike
  #7  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: footballscannotbekickediguess
There was something else like this that was a scam, I don't know about this one specifically- but...
__________________
*Recipient of the 2006 Time Magazine "Man Of The Year" Award*
  #8  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to carl-anton
Ok, we'll be carefull and try to live up to Mikes sig.


Thanks
__________________
myspace.com/yellowishdk
  #9  
Old 11-24-2004, 03:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ames, IA
Send a message via ICQ to Corwin81 Send a message via AIM to Corwin81 Send a message via MSN to Corwin81 Send a message via Yahoo to Corwin81
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Golden Boy
There was something else like this that was a scam, I don't know about this one specifically- but...
97 Radio?
__________________
Basses: Warmoth 5 string Jazz, El Nino(J/MM "Geddy), Michael Kelly ST4 acoustic bass, SX Jazz fretless
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:07 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.