Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-10-2007, 10:14 AM
needs to practice more...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Jackson Mississippi (ish)
A rather spooky/scammy email.

Sign in to disble this ad
I have a edited to comply with FS rules ~Mod. for sale in bassgear.com, and I got this email. He doesn't mention the product, my name, and he asks for the price, all of which I included in my add. I don't really know what to think about it, but since i'm on the shipping end of the deal, I don't see how I could get scammed since I could just wait till his $ clears. let me know what you think and if I posted this in the right subform.

Hi Seller,
My name is Dave. I am interested in purchasing your said item
on website, could you kindly provide me with it;s condition,
availability, and last asking price. I am based in Gainesville, FL,
Do email me ASAP.
Thanks in advance.
Dave Steve.
352-505-1865
__________________
U.S. Peavey Cirrus Club Member # 20 / GK club #97

FS- Ampeg B1RE http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f127/fs-ft-mint-ampeg-b1re-425350/

Last edited by Pacman : 03-10-2007 at 10:39 AM.
  #2  
Old 03-10-2007, 10:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fort Atkinson, WI
Send a message via ICQ to invader3k Send a message via AIM to invader3k
If they don't even mention the item, or obviously don't know any info about the item which is clearly listed, it's obviously a scam. Don't bother writing back.
__________________
Wisconsin Bassist Club Member #31. Fender Am-Stand P, Fender Am-Deluxe Fretless J, Music Man Bongo 4 HH.
  #3  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:09 PM
needs to practice more...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Jackson Mississippi (ish)
But what i was wondering was how could i be scammed if I just waited until his money cleared before I shipped him the product?
(sorry about that mod's)
__________________
U.S. Peavey Cirrus Club Member # 20 / GK club #97

FS- Ampeg B1RE http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=425350
  #4  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:11 PM
SBassman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northeast, US
Supporting Member
Do yourself a favor - move on.

There are millions of these types of scams - where someone replies expressing interest. Just ignore it and move on.
You'll be glad you did.
__________________
+
Frank
  #5  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Providence, RI
Send a message via AIM to Embryodead
he's got 2 first names ignore it.
  #6  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:25 PM
superbassman2000's Avatar
put a bird on it
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Minnesota
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by invader3k View Post
If they don't even mention the item, or obviously don't know any info about the item which is clearly listed, it's obviously a scam. Don't bother writing back.
thats the first sign of a scam--if they don't mention your item.

I did the same thing as you did when i sold my lexicon jamman...I got an almost identical letter as you (different name though) and i wrote back saying if they sent the money then I'll send the jamman. However I told them that i will accept either paypal or a postal money order and nothing else. That really filtered him out because then he never sent the money.

If you really want to give this guy a try, which i wouldn't, then just tell him that you will send the item as soon as you have cash in your hand. postal money orders are really good because they have to pay upfront for one and if they forge a postal money order than they will have to answer to the post office for forging a US government document, or paypal. they want to pay by check, wait for it to clear...

but you'll save time and effort by just ignoring him
  #7  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:25 PM
SBassman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northeast, US
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Embryodead View Post
he's got 2 first names ignore it.
Ba dum bum. Pshhh.
__________________
+
Frank
  #8  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, England
hey, it's probably a feeler or whatever you call em, if you respond, you get more junk, I think.
  #9  
Old 03-10-2007, 01:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Anaheim, Ca.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHow View Post
But what i was wondering was how could i be scammed if I just waited until his money cleared before I shipped him the product?
(sorry about that mod's)
Sure.. it will APPEAR to 'clear'.. but later on YOUR bank will have you refunding THEM for the phoney money order or check that initially looks to be valid. DON'T DO IT
  #10  
Old 03-10-2007, 01:22 PM
RWP RWP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Embryodead View Post
he's got 2 first names ignore it.
Dave Steve?
  #11  
Old 03-10-2007, 01:32 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Providence, RI
Send a message via AIM to Embryodead
if you reply i bet the next email will be like.

Hi Seller, thanks for the fast response i'd like to pay you an extra amount of money for the hassle and it'll be paid by a courier or some ****.
  #12  
Old 03-10-2007, 03:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oakland, California, USA
Send a message via AIM to JanusZarate Send a message via Skype™ to JanusZarate
I've seen this scam dozens of times before on Craigslist.

If you read it over again, you'll realize it's the most arbitrary reply ever. The other guy knows absolutely nothing about your item.

And yeah, Embryodead's comment is true - that's usually the next e-mail that follows.

Don't bother with a scammer who doesn't even know what he's trying to scam you out of
__________________
Bassist for Vernian Process
Founder of the Lefty Union
  #13  
Old 03-10-2007, 04:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElliotBass View Post
hey, it's probably a feeler or whatever you call em, if you respond, you get more junk, I think.
Yep...it's a phishing scam. Do yourself a favor and pass.
__________________
Spector Club President #1
Texas Bassist Club #25
Dean Bass Club #2
TalkBass Cigar Club Member #29
Rachel Bolan Fan Club #2
SX Member
810 Member #24
  #14  
Old 03-10-2007, 04:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Riverside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Embryodead View Post
he's got 2 first names ignore it.

ha this made me laugh too.
__________________
shoelaces and razorblades

MYSPACE

:scowl:
  #15  
Old 03-11-2007, 08:28 PM
NKUSigEp's Avatar
Remember 12/21/2012! ...it's my birthday!
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cheviot, OH
Supporting Member
Get used to it. Once you post something for sale in ANY website you'll get a dozen emails saying "I will like to purchase your item..." After reading that first line, stop, think about how stupid those people are, and then delete while giving an evil chuckle to yourself as you ponder what would happen in a chance meeting with one of these fellows. That's what I do anyways.

It's not always phishing - where they're trying to get more info out of ya. But most of the ones I get are where they'll send ya the fake money order and you'll "refund" them the difference with YOUR REAL MONEY. They just made X amount of real American dollars (or whatever currency you use) off you the easy way.
__________________
Adam
Official Aguilar Club Founder; Spector Club #84
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.