Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-31-2005, 08:08 PM
PolkaHero's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Michigan
Supporting Member
Is this a safe Ebay auction?

Sign in to disble this ad
Check out this auction for a brand new Fender American Jazz Deluxe:

Fender Jazz Deluxe

This dealer is basically offering these basses for a buy it now price of $800 with free shipping. However, they require a third party (escrow) for payment. Does this seem like too good of a deal to be true? Anybody here dealt with an auction on Ebay like this? Notice the dealer has no feedback and just joined Ebay a couple of days ago. I've been looking for one of these basses, but don't want to get burned in the process.
__________________
"Rig Of Doom" Thread Originator.

Nothing runs like a Fender.

Keep the Sabbath Dream alive.

Ampeg Portaflex Club #214.
  #2  
Old 03-31-2005, 08:34 PM
burk48237's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oak Park, MI
Supporting Member
Feedback score of 0 is scary, you might want to check with the BBB in his town if he is a brick and mortar dealer. That is the old Jazz Deluxe, it may be new bass but it is at least a 2003, they switched pickups on the 2004 models and pre I believe. I just sold a used one for 550 an the bay, there resale sucks due to the model change
  #3  
Old 03-31-2005, 08:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Georgia
Send a message via AIM to TSanders
sounds shady Jason. PM sent about a Am. Deluxe Jazz.
__________________
Travis
  #4  
Old 03-31-2005, 08:47 PM
Nino Valenti's Avatar
Registered User

Builder: Valenti Basses
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Staten Island NYC
Send a message via AIM to Nino Valenti
Supporting Member
Looks fishy to me. I'd contact someone at Guitar Trader bu using a link on their website.

It looks like someone took the description from the GT site:
http://www.guitartrader.com/itempg.i...15&numitems=31
http://www.guitartrader.com/bigimage...ubsecid%3D1133
__________________
Builder: Valenti Basses
Bassist: Theorem and Glasshouses
Nino Valenti on YouTube
Be sure to "Like" Valenti Basses on FaceBook
  #5  
Old 03-31-2005, 08:51 PM
Nino Valenti's Avatar
Registered User

Builder: Valenti Basses
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Staten Island NYC
Send a message via AIM to Nino Valenti
Supporting Member
I just sent Guitar trader an email.
__________________
Builder: Valenti Basses
Bassist: Theorem and Glasshouses
Nino Valenti on YouTube
Be sure to "Like" Valenti Basses on FaceBook
  #6  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Send a message via AIM to fiebru1119 Send a message via Yahoo to fiebru1119
FREE 2nd Day Air shipping and no reserve!?

.. also notice the category.. "Health & Beauty > Bath & Body > Antiperspirant, Deodorant" LOL
  #7  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:13 PM
Kelly Lee's Avatar
Yeah, I'm a guy!
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Marana, AZ, USA
Supporting Member
I buy alot on Ebay. Heck, I bought a $300+ item from a guy with no feedback with no problem. I did talk do the guy several time on the phone plus other checks.

Now the one you linked, I wouldn't touch that for nothing!

#1. I don't like it when I don't see pics of the actual item unless its a dealer with some feedback.

#2. Using someone else's promo pics is creepy in this particular situation.

#3. He says "Please contact us before bidding for special buy it now prices." I have never seen an auction done like that.

#4. Zero feedback.


I say run away...fast!
__________________
Amps FAQ's - You name it and you will probably find it covered here!

"I like the dreams of the future better than the history of the past." - Thomas Jefferson
  #8  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:22 PM
deichman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas
Supporting Member
Can you say scam?

This is a scam, no doubt. Look at sellers other items. New guitars for $9.99? If you believe that, I've got some swamp land for ya.


deichman


www.endofstory.com
  #9  
Old 03-31-2005, 10:51 PM
Josh Ryan's Avatar
- that dog won't hunt, Monsignor.
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Supporting Member
Thumbs down

Scam.
  #10  
Old 04-01-2005, 11:37 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Wow, that sucks, Guitar Trader is probably the coolest geetar (i said geetar, bassalone rulz!!) shop in town. and do their best to make people happy from the crapola they sell at GC. totally wrong..
__________________
www.thickerthanthieves.com
  #11  
Old 04-01-2005, 08:52 PM
deichman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas
Supporting Member
Gone

All items have been removed by Ebay. I reported this to ebay afetr I read this thread. Total scamster..........................I hope they get caught.

deichman


www.endofstory.com
  #12  
Old 04-02-2005, 02:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
For newbies to Ebay, you'll notice that Ebay warns you against processing your transaction offline from Ebay at the request of the seller. This is often a scam. It's probably safer to buy through Ebay using paypal.

Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:21 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.