Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-30-2011, 08:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minnesota
Is This a Scam?

Sign in to disble this ad
Twice in the last month my band has received emails from guys who say they review music for their website. The request both times was for CD's for them to review. The second request came from Slovakia and the end of the email he said he could theoretically sell our CD's outside the country. It is this statement that made me go "Hmmmmmm".

The first website looked legit. The second one in Slovakia looked like an amateur hack job.

I don't know what the pay off is but after receiving the second email it started smelling fishy like the Nigerian bank scam.

Have any of you received similar requests?
  #2  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
ask yourself what you have to lose?
if nothing or very little, what you have to lose?
__________________
Official Ampeg Club Member 180#
  #3  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
cd baby sells all over the world, not this guy.
__________________
"Your bitterness is melting my monitor." - bassXgirl
myspace.com/jrollinsbass
  #4  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:45 AM
superbassman2000's Avatar
put a bird on it
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Minnesota
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoggBisket View Post
Twice in the last month my band has received emails from guys who say they review music for their website. The request both times was for CD's for them to review. The second request came from Slovakia and the end of the email he said he could theoretically sell our CD's outside the country. It is this statement that made me go "Hmmmmmm".

The first website looked legit. The second one in Slovakia looked like an amateur hack job.

I don't know what the pay off is but after receiving the second email it started smelling fishy like the Nigerian bank scam.
it doesn't sound scammy--what it sounds like to me is that both reviewers wanted you to give them your cd so they could review it.
The Slovakian website's comment about selling your cd doesn't sound like a distribution deal--it sounds like he is saying that if you get your cd reviewed in slovakia, then slovakian's will read it and buy cds (or not) based on his/her review--that's the "sales outside your country" part. It's just a marketing pitch to get your cd. Both websites are offering press, at the cost of a cd and shipping. If it's worth 2 cds to get reviewed on two websites nobody has heard of, then go for it. To me, it wouldn't be worth it.
  #5  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio
..unless he plans to make & sell his own bootleg copies that you'll never see a dime from...
__________________
She said It's a bit pornographic. Then again, I don't suppose you would crash your ship for a nice girl in sensible shoes.
  #6  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:48 AM
electracoyote's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Purple Mountain Majesties
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoggBisket View Post
I don't know what the pay off is but after receiving the second email it started smelling fishy like the Nigerian bank scam.

Have any of you received similar requests?
It's not quite as nefarious as the Nigerian bank scam, but independant promoter internet radio stations are the new trend in exposing, exploiting, and cashing in on new, young, hungry, unrepresented talent.

It usually works like this: Promoter/DJ/On-Air Personality solicits CDs and tracks from new, usually unsigned and unrepresented bands and artists. DJ promises to play tracks from your catalog on his internet radio program. He tells you he has the ear and attention of small airwave radio station programmers all over the world, and when they like something, they access it through him and play it on their airwave radio frequency. With any luck, your track gets a healthy little regional following, larger stations and promoters want a piece of the action so you get your song played in larger and larger formats and venues. And it snowballs.

In reality, what usually happens is the internet DJ charges you a fee for the service he is providing, and you are completely at his mercy from that point forward. No promises are made, no contracts or agreements beyond your initial payment, and you have no idea who will hear your song or how far it will go.

Our band just passed on a similar offer, and it was a lady right here in the USA who we researched and she does have legitimate contacts in the industry. It just sounded too much like a gamble, and we'd rather take our money and invest it into our own website promotion or studio time.
__________________
"That's right Mr. Martini, there is an Easter Bunny!"

WANTED: Vintage Hagstrom Concord in RED
  #7  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:52 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Papazita View Post
..unless he plans to make & sell his own bootleg copies that you'll never see a dime from...
Uh huh, I was thinking the same thing. Aren't China and Eastern Europe the lands of unfettered pirating and bootlegs?

Then again, if you sold them in either place legitimately, you still run the same risk.
__________________
T-Bird Club #96
PA Bassist Club #5
  #8  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:53 AM
kai_ski's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Papazita View Post
..unless he plans to make & sell his own bootleg copies that you'll never see a dime from...
+1 But these days what do you do? Send someone your music as an mp3, flac, cd? It'll eventually find its way to the internet. Only way I see to make it difficult is to use an online player for your music. At least that forces them to use a transcode.
__________________
"We're just normal guys trying to make interesting music." -Wayne Coyne, Head Flaming Lip

FS: Tech 21 Sansamp Para Driver

FS: Upgraded Genz Benz Streamliner 900
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:02 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.