Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-01-2007, 08:21 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NYC
scam alert: geartree.com

Sign in to disble this ad
Hi everyone

If this isn't the right forum/goes against the rules, feel free to move/delete this posting.

I just wanted to report on my inability to contact Geartree (http://www.geartree.com) to arrange for a return of a misleadingly advertised product. Fortunately for me this was just a minor item, nothing expensive. They do not seem to pick up the phone and do not reply to emails submitted through their online form inquiring about returns (and I did check my junk mail folder, in case replies had mistakenly ended up there).

If you are considering buying from them, at least try to contact them by phone before doing so. If you cannot, avoid them and order from a reputable online seller.

M
  #2  
Old 06-01-2007, 08:23 AM
Bruce Lindfield's Avatar
Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Brighton, England, UK, Europe
Supporting Member
How was it misleading exactly....?
__________________
“Making the simple complicated is commonplace; making the complicated simple, awesomely simple, that's creativity.”
Charles Mingus
  #3  
Old 06-01-2007, 08:37 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NYC
Hi Bruce,

I ordered a simple gig bag for a cheap Yamaha bass:

http://geartree.com/p-5021-yamaha-eb...r-gig-bag.aspx

As you can see, they refer to it as "Yamaha EBGB Bass Guitar Gig Bag" and prominently display the Yamaha logo on the left. When you receive the item, it is actually a Kaces.

First I informed them, since in general I don't actually mind how stuff is branded. No reply. Then I tried calling; no one picked up the phone for at least 5 minutes. I wrote them another email; no reply.

I would like to remove the "scam alert" reference: they are not a scam (well, I did receive A product in exchange for my money), but just offer poor customer service. If you search these fora you will find references to Geartree advertising products which will only be released in several months without mentioning that they don't actually exist yet (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/archiv.../t-170114.html and
http://www.talkbass.com/forum/archiv...t-193006.html).

They do have nice ebay.com feedback (http://myworld.ebay.com/geartree/)., so they are not a scam. In my (repeated) experience their service simply sucks compared to other better known online retailers.

M
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:02 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.