Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-09-2007, 01:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chantilly, VA
Send a message via AIM to KYJazzy
Shady online sites selling basses

Sign in to disble this ad
I'm not sure if this really belongs in basses, but it deals with buying basses online from unreptuable sites.

Has anyone ever bought a bass guitar from Harmony-central.com? Something about the site just screams scam and fake to me. Are there any scam sites selling basses that someone's been ripped off by?

It occured to me that this might be an important issue to bring up, considering how much online shopping goes on for many musicians on talkbass.
__________________
I'm a one-track lover in a two-way lane.
Fender Jaguar Club '19
  #2  
Old 09-09-2007, 01:33 AM
Munjibunga's Avatar
Total Hyper-Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Groom Lake, NV
GOLD Supporting Member
I was unaware that Harmony Central sells anything. You might notice, however, the links to Guitar Center and Musicians Friend on their site. Could it be that HC, GC and MF are all owned by the same people? (Yes it could.)

Anyway, GC and Musicians Friend are no more shady than many of the rest of them. I prefer Bass Central and The Perfect Bass for bass-related purchases, and American Musical Supply, Northern Sound and Light, RMC Audio, and Sweetwater for other stuff.

I would never buy anything from Music 123.
__________________
What is this thing called butthurt?
  #3  
Old 09-09-2007, 01:49 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chantilly, VA
Send a message via AIM to KYJazzy
Oh, I should've mentioned I was referring to the classifieds from just individual sellers. I guess these dealers could be about as trustworthy as any joe on the internet, but the sheer amount of warnings on the site, and the slimplicity of the ads looks extra sketchy. just curious if anyone had bought from someone there. users point to ebay accounts for credibility, but who're you to know that's even them?
__________________
I'm a one-track lover in a two-way lane.
Fender Jaguar Club '19
  #4  
Old 09-09-2007, 01:52 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Auburn, Washington
Buying from individual users is always a risk. Whether it be on here, eBay, or anywhere else. There's nobody to hold accountable if something goes awry. I'd be very cautious about that. Best thing would be if you could make the deal in person.

Music123 sucks. Stay away...
  #5  
Old 09-09-2007, 02:14 AM
Ryan L.'s Avatar
Moderator
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Fargo, ND
Supporting Member
I've never dealt with them---so what is it that makes Music123 suck so bad?? I've heard a few times now to avoid them, but don't remember hearing why.
__________________
Roscoe Century 3005 #6091/Roscoe Century 3005-J #6264/Roscoe Century 3005-JM #6393 (under construction)/Eden WT1205/ Eden D610XST

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gard View Post
Yeah.

I suck, AND I'm dumb.

  #6  
Old 09-09-2007, 07:42 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Send a message via Yahoo to Basswench
Musicians Friend/GC

I believe those two entities are owned by the same people; however, I've been known to be wrong before. I've never heard of that other place.

Starbuck
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:15 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.