Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-20-2010, 09:43 AM
Supporting Member

Endorsing Artist: Fender, GHS, Dunlop, DiMarzio, Seymour Duncan
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Send a message via AIM to jetlaggemini
So I'm selling a pedal and I have an TB offer, does this sound like a scam? HELP!

Sign in to disble this ad
First of, if this is not a scam and the interested party reads this, please do not get offended, I'm just trying to be safe here. Second, sorry I'm posting this here, I just don't know where else to post it.

Basically I was made an offer for a pedal from a guy that wants to buy it but lives in Vietnam. He offered me 150% of the asked price shipped. Now I looked up shipping costs and it would seem it's worth it. The guy has no feedback and only 19 posts on CL. When I tried PMing him back it said that this user has chosen to not receive PM's and then he PM'ed me again the next day. If this is a scam then I will report the user to the mods so they can take care of it but I don't want to do that until i get another opinion.
__________________
Matei Gheorghiu
www.jetlaggemini.com
  #2  
Old 02-20-2010, 09:44 AM
Kwesi's Avatar
THIS HAND OF MINE GLOWS WITH AN AWESOME POWER!
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA; Mitchellville, Maryland
Supporting Member
Sounds fishy. If he doesn't allow you to respond then how could you make this work? I say just wait for another buyer.
__________________
Source Audio Sourcerer #22 Club Clement #73 Markbass Club #231
Quote:
Originally Posted by geeza View Post
I thought your name was one of those "it's spelled 'Kwesi', but it's pronounced 'Craig'." kind of names.
Me:
Youtube, Flickr
  #3  
Old 02-20-2010, 09:45 AM
Supporting Member

Endorsing Artist: Fender, GHS, Dunlop, DiMarzio, Seymour Duncan
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Send a message via AIM to jetlaggemini
Yeah right? I went through his posts and threads and they're all about this pedal so he seems a little more legit but still something is off.
__________________
Matei Gheorghiu
www.jetlaggemini.com
  #4  
Old 02-21-2010, 08:41 AM
MIJ-VI's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Supporting Member
One way communication when TB's default (I believe) is for two way? Hmm...
  #5  
Old 02-21-2010, 08:50 AM
Gord_oh's Avatar
Registered User

Midtown Guitars
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 810, Michigan
Supporting Member
vietnam is a fishy place to ship.
and by the sounds of it, it sounds like a scam.
personally i woudlnt do it.
__________________
Bassists With Beards Club #1 / Tricked Out Squier Club #1 / Midtown Guitars
"How do you misspell S-Q-U-I-E-R when it's written out on the headstock?"
Quote:
Originally Posted by drummer5359 View Post
The pack got your back.
  #6  
Old 02-21-2010, 09:19 AM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
There might be a language issue, or he might not know that he's got incoming PM's turned off.

You can post a message in your FS thread saying "hey dude I have been trying to contact you but your profile is set to not accept PM's".
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
  #7  
Old 02-21-2010, 09:34 AM
Supporting Member

Endorsing Artist: Fender, GHS, Dunlop, DiMarzio, Seymour Duncan
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Send a message via AIM to jetlaggemini
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongomania View Post
There might be a language issue, or he might not know that he's got incoming PM's turned off.

You can post a message in your FS thread saying "hey dude I have been trying to contact you but your profile is set to not accept PM's".
I did that and no reply. All is good, I am selling the pedal to a TB member from AL. It's just safer.
__________________
Matei Gheorghiu
www.jetlaggemini.com
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:22 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.