Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Miscellaneous [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [BG] Music-related discussion, not specific to the bass or any other forum


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
warning... nevermind... no one's phishing in the fountain of talkbass

Sign in to disble this ad
i received an email today from 'talkbass' that requested that i confirm my email address to stay on the mailing list... here's the full text:

Quote:
Your e-mail address is on our active subscriber mailing list. This subscription enables you to receive valuable e-mail newsletters, announcements, and other information from TalkBass.com.

We are using a new service to send out our mailing list, and the program requires that all of our subscribers reconfirm their subscriptions so that we can maintain a 100% permission-based mailing list. Please verify that you want to continue as an active subscriber (member) to the TalkBass.com mailing list.

Do not reply to this e-mail. Instead, follow the hyperlink to confirm your subscription to our mailing list. If you do not want to continue your subscription, simply ignore this message and we will automatically remove big-al@niagara.com from our mailing list.

You can cancel your subscription or change subscription preferences at any time by clicking the Unsubscribe link at the bottom of any e-mail message we send to you in the future. Thank you for confirming your subscription.

Again, if you do not want your email address to remain on our subscriber list, no further action is required.

Sincerely,
TalkBass.com
and, against my best judgement, I clicked on the link. it sent me to http://app.quicksizzle.com/confirm.aspx?<a bunch of ID data>

so... someone at quicksizzle now knows my email is valid, and i'm expecting loads more spam than i'm already getting.

that is, unless talkbass uses a mass email marketing company to send out emails...
__________________
------

Last edited by Milothicus : 04-04-2006 at 10:41 AM.
  #2  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Whitmoretucky MI
Send a message via Yahoo to RicPlaya
Bump

I did too

I better not get spammed with BS!
  #3  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:33 AM
Nino Valenti's Avatar
Registered User

Builder: Valenti Basses
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Staten Island NYC
Send a message via AIM to Nino Valenti
Supporting Member
TalkBass Newsletter Mailings
__________________
Builder: Valenti Basses
Bassist: Theorem and Glasshouses
Nino Valenti on YouTube
Be sure to "Like" Valenti Basses on FaceBook
  #4  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:41 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
oh, good. thanks for the tip. didn't check the news/announcements section.... or search.... should've learned that lesson years ago.

Edited title...
__________________
------
  #5  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Whitmoretucky MI
Send a message via Yahoo to RicPlaya
Sweet
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.