Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Double Bass Forums > Miscellaneous [DB]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Miscellaneous [DB] ... For threads that are music-related, but not specifically bass-related


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Carolina
Fraudulent American Standard listing on Ebay

I've been signed up here on Talkbass for a while now. I know there are some sticky things about Ebay postings and here's my contribution.

Last August, I bought an American Standard through Ebay from a lady near Cleveland OH. The transaction went very well. This was bass #2753.

I'm always scanning through Talk Bass and Ebay on a daily basis to see what is available for sale. On Tuesday evening, 5/16/06, I saw a listing for an American Standard on Ebay. Naturally, I clicked and checked it out.

Here's the scary part. The description and pictures are from the listing in EBay last August when I bought my bass. This "seller" has used the same description and pics from my transaction with the seller in Ohio.

This person dosen't give a location and they won't answer any emails (I've tried).

I've been a member of Ebay since Oct of 1998 and have nothing but positive feedback on all my transactions. I have no axe to grind with this individual, but I'm just trying to keep someone from getting burned.

Ebay has been notified and so far, they haven't pulled the plug on this listing. MY seller , from Ohio, has alerted Ebay to the fact that someone is using their "old" description and pictures without permission.

Again, my thing is to hopefully help someone from getting burned on this scam. Right now, there's a bit more than 4 days left on this auction. The bid is up to $1025.00.

If you'd like to check it out, go to Ebay and do a search for American Standard upright bass. It is item # 7415392202 .

Thanks for your time and I've posted this warning to potential buyers with the permission of Chris Fitzgerald (Talkbass moderator).

Thanks and beware,
Sign in to disble this ad
__________________
Mike Ramsey
http://www.BigMikeRamsey.com
  #2  
Old 05-18-2006, 07:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Carolina
Re: Fraudulent American Standard listing on Ebay

Update!

The listing has been removed as of 8:10 PM on 5-18-06

I hope nobody was in danger!

Thanks,
__________________
Mike Ramsey
http://www.BigMikeRamsey.com
  #3  
Old 05-18-2006, 08:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: deepest alabama
I was watching that one too. No location, and $50 shipping to anywhere?
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 PM.




Copyright ©2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All right reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.