Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-29-2011, 02:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Anything seem dodgy about this online job?

Sign in to disble this ad
Hey everyone

I found this ad for a "Video uploader" were you get paid £1 for every video that you upload, so I sent them an email. Here's what they replied with:

Hello, thanks for replying to the video uploader advert

You will be required to upload a minimum of 10 videos daily
You will have to create a youtube account, a fresh one and give us access details.
You will be paid £1 per video, how many you upload will be your choice.

Everyday we will send you upto 50 videos, you upload how many you want to.
Every 2 weeks we will check the account and pay you according to how many videos have been added.

You MUST make the title and tags related to the video you are uploading.

If you want to accept this job, you must be online at least 5 days per week to work.
You will also be paid via paypal, no other options available.
Payments will be made two-weekly from start date.

If you want to do this then please create the account on youtube using any details you like
and forward the log in details to us for verification along with your email address for paypal payment
and the videos will be sent to you from the 1st January 2012


Thanks
Kevin

Does this seem legit or should I stay away?
  #2  
Old 12-29-2011, 02:20 PM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
They want you to create an account (tied to your personal name, address, and other details about you) and then they want you to give them the login info.

If they pay you at all (which they may not), I'm betting the point of their scheme is they make more than 50 pounds per day in using your account illegally.
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
  #3  
Old 12-29-2011, 02:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Say it with me: "There are no free lunches."
__________________
"One man's 'pig thief' is another man's 'swine liberator.' It's all in the marketing." - Unrepresented.
  #4  
Old 12-29-2011, 03:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edinburgh & Dundee, Scotland
Sounds like a scam bud
__________________
EB Musicman/Ibanez/Ampeg/Peavey/Marshall/Tech 21
  #5  
Old 12-29-2011, 03:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tyneside, UK
Send a message via AIM to Fassa Albrecht Send a message via MSN to Fassa Albrecht
Sounds too risky to be a real job. The PayPal playment method screams 'scam'.
__________________
Mediocre Bassist Club #706 P&W Club #71 LGBT #26 Keyboardist #40
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowDown Hal View Post
Bass Players - Do It Deep
  #6  
Old 12-29-2011, 03:56 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Don't do that.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.