Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-21-2008, 02:54 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Australia - CMC Music

Sign in to disble this ad
So I got home today and have a postcard type envelope waiting for me from cmc music. I have never purchased anything from them before nor have I heard of them before, but they have mailed me anyway. They are advertising a free Ernie Ball guitar giveaway for visiting their site.
I think why not. I got to the site follow the link and fill in the form but there is an error saying the e-mail address field must have an e-mail adress in it. There was. I changed it to my hotmail address. Same message. I change it to my work address. Same message.
At this point most people would give up. But I'm a different breed of stupid. I email them and tell them that something is wrong. I check my email a few hours later and there is a message saying there was too many people trying to put their details in i just couldn't get through and to try again.
I try again. Same message.
At this point I thinke-mail them again but I think bugger it, their problem let them work it out. I was only gonna sell the guitar and buy a bass with it anyway...
And here's the best bit. At the bottom of the page there is a tiny little message saying "We value your privacy". If they valued my privacy so much they wouldn't send me unsolicited junk mail trying to get me to sign up to a competitionwhich doesn't work when i try so they can add me to their spam list for future marketing campaigns which probably wont work on an IT level anyway.
Does anyone know anything about them?
I might add the only reason this should be good on any level is if it is some kind of elaborate Chaser style hoax where they send these out with a deliberately broken e-mail field just to piss people like me off. That would be kinda funny.
Rant over!
  #2  
Old 05-21-2008, 03:17 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Send a message via MSN to ROON
I have come across them a few times, I'm pretty sure they are an importing company. Maybe the importer of Ernie Ball stuff?
Never gotten junk mail from them. Just saw on their website that Shannon Noll is endorsed by Ernie Ball. Sad. lol
__________________
-Josh
  #3  
Old 05-21-2008, 03:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, Aus
I thought CMC stood for County Music Channel
__________________
youtube.com/watch?v=6VAkOhXIsI0
  #4  
Old 05-21-2008, 09:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROON View Post
......, I'm pretty sure they are an importing company. Maybe the importer of Ernie Ball stuff?
Yep that's correct. They also import Markbass, and a few non-bass related brands.........

I got that thing in the mail too. I have absolutely no idea where they got my current home address. I worked there briefly several years ago, but I've moved house twice since then so it's a little bit odd. If they got addresses from a music shop mailing list, it wasn't from us.............
__________________
Composite speaker cab enthusiast.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.