Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:15 AM
Bassamatic's Avatar
keepin' the beat since the 60's
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Studio City, SoCal, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Bassamatic
Supporting Member
IS THIS A CL SCAM?

Sign in to disble this ad
Need the advice of you experts -

I have an expensive vintage camera for sale on CL. A guy wants to buy it via PayPal, and have me ship it to his friend (I don't know where yet).

If I am paid by PayPal - can it be a scam?

Thanks for your thoughts.
__________________
We never really grow up - we just learn how to act in public.
  #2  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: kansas city, mo
I sold a nice bass this way. I would say if they have a confirmed paypal address it's a lot less of a risk.

Also, if you feel better about it, have them ship you a POSTAL money order. That way you've got their money no matter what.
__________________
reverbnation.com/theuncouth
reverbnation.com/hossferatu
  #3  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:23 AM
L-A's Avatar
L-A L-A is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Eh?
Supporting Member
Given that you're a seller, I say it's either a scam or a legit but unsafe buy. I wouldn't do it, because Paypal has become the non-payer's choice. Even if you get the money to your Paypal account, they'll usually freeze it and the buyer can claim he never received the camera.

Ask for a safer way of payment. You could also ask him to sign a written contract that gives him full responsibility of the item once it is shipped and you have proof of shipment. It might scare him away if he's a scammer.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom once dead View Post
Also to prove my Australianism, I've been stung by an irukandji jellyfish before, while snorkelling at an island looking at stingrays.
  #4  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:30 AM
Bassamatic's Avatar
keepin' the beat since the 60's
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Studio City, SoCal, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Bassamatic
Supporting Member
Thanks for the advice. When I sell on EvilBay, expensive items are shipped ONLY to a confirmed PP address with adult signature, and via Fed Ex Ground for trackability.

I think it is a scam. He even offered me more than I am asking.
__________________
We never really grow up - we just learn how to act in public.
  #5  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:40 AM
Bassamatic's Avatar
keepin' the beat since the 60's
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Studio City, SoCal, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Bassamatic
Supporting Member
HA! He wrote back and asked me to ship it to . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Nigeria!

Sorry to wast your time.
__________________
We never really grow up - we just learn how to act in public.
  #6  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:44 AM
Evil Undead's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Supporting Member
Lol... awesome.
Definitely not a done deal then
Man, I hate scammers
__________________
Fender - Gallien Krueger
  #7  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:52 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edinburgh & Dundee, Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gio S View Post
HA! He wrote back and asked me to ship it to . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Nigeria!

Sorry to wast your time.
Sounds legit.











__________________
EB Musicman/Ibanez/Ampeg/Peavey/Marshall/Tech 21
  #8  
Old 06-19-2010, 10:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Send a message via MSN to drteeth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gio S View Post
HA! He wrote back and asked me to ship it to . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Nigeria!

Sorry to wast your time.
I don't know man, those princes sound pretty thrustworthy
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSPookie View Post
I bludgeon any potential attackers with my enormous e-penis.
Quote:
Originally Posted by XigXag View Post
Hunting wild vegetarians is cruel.
  #9  
Old 06-19-2010, 10:29 AM
EBodious's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Iowa
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by drteeth View Post
I don't know man, those princes sound pretty thrustworthy
well, whatever turns you on. no judgment here.
__________________
_____________________


LOG #242
Eden Club #93
Vegetarian Club #31
Blues Bass Players Club #32

Proud Iowan since 4/3/09
Not as sure about "proud" since 11/3/10
  #10  
Old 06-19-2010, 10:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Send a message via MSN to drteeth
Quote:
Originally Posted by EBodious View Post
well, whatever turns you on. no judgment here.
Woops.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSPookie View Post
I bludgeon any potential attackers with my enormous e-penis.
Quote:
Originally Posted by XigXag View Post
Hunting wild vegetarians is cruel.
  #11  
Old 06-19-2010, 11:22 AM
csala's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Santa Monica, Ca
Supporting Member
go to 419eater.com

It's an amusing website that deals with these scams.
__________________
Did they get at you yesterday?
  #12  
Old 06-19-2010, 01:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston & Arizona, USA
I always say cash only, pickup only.

Tell them you want a certified check or similar. Then you can get a free phony check to frame and hang on your wall.
__________________
I am tough. I will survive and prosper.
Spawn of the Mothman - #28 of Infinity
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.