Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-04-2011, 09:33 AM
Rodger Bryan's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut, USA
Supporting Member
craigslist question

Sign in to disble this ad
Input needed:
I'm selling an Acme B2 on craigslist and here on TB and recently received a payment notice from "service@intl.pay-pal.com", requesting that I send funds to cover shipping before the funds are released. I had sent a Paypal invoice for $200 with the understanding that the buyer would send a courier over to pick it up. My ad:
Acme B2, series 1, 4Ω

Hi, I'm pleased to have make these payments via Paypal. Regards,
XXXXXXXXX
Shipper's Money Sending Address
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
You are expected to send $150 and pay Western Union Charge of $30.00 then get back to us with the information used for sending the money so we can verify and finally release $380.00 into your Paypal Account.


Any opinions/advice on this sort of transaction? I cancelled the invoice and I think the potential buyer was a TB'er. I appreciate any help!
R
  #2  
Old 07-04-2011, 09:38 AM
Stinsok's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Central Alabama
Supporting Member
Oh man...run away!!
  #3  
Old 07-04-2011, 09:39 AM
mmbongo's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate, South Carolina
Supporting Member
I see nothing wrong with that.






__________________
Brubaker Brute Squad #18
Spector Club #224 (USA NS-5H2W)
DR Strings Fanboy Club
  #4  
Old 07-04-2011, 09:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ont
that would be a scam.
__________________
I like stuff
  #5  
Old 07-04-2011, 09:43 AM
Stinsok's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Central Alabama
Supporting Member
Don't send them ANY money!!
  #6  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:10 AM
Rodger Bryan's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut, USA
Supporting Member
Has anyone else completed a transaction in this manner?
  #7  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:13 AM
Stinsok's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Central Alabama
Supporting Member
For any item I post in craigslist I get responses like this. Their back story varies (I'm a merchant marine, I am transacting business in another state, I represent a buyer that wants your item...) They don't ask questions about the item at all. They always mention the "item" instead of bass, cabinet, amp, etc. That's not important. They just want to get you to send them money.

Last edited by Stinsok : 07-04-2011 at 10:22 AM.
  #8  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:19 AM
slaps76's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Medford, MA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodger Bryan View Post
Has anyone else completed a transaction in this manner?
NO. Listen to everyone here...it's 100% a scam. NEVER send money to anyone when selling something. Duh.
__________________
_________________
my cover band:
www.midnightgoggles.com
www.facebook.com/midnightgoggles

Fernandes Club #11
Warwick Fortress #13
  #9  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:23 AM
Rodger Bryan's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut, USA
Supporting Member
How about "buying a surprise gift for a friend"

Since another TB'er informed me (posted, not PM'ed) that there would be an email sent to me regarding the craigslist advertisement, I was confused- why didn't he/she respond with a PM here and is the TB'er the seller?

here's the second email:
Hi,
Thanks for your quick response ,i will like to know if it is in good condition because am buying it for my friend as a gift and he doesn't know about it,so can you assure me that i will not be disappointed,also no shipment involved as i have a mover that will come over for the pick up and am satisfied with your firm/advert price,as am requesting this transaction should be done via PayPal so the PayPal charges is on me and Payment will be made via PayPal only(if you don't have an account,its easy,safe and secured just log on to (www.paypal.com) I'm presently out of town for my new project,so am sorry i will not be able to come over to look at it in person and that's the only reason why PayPal is the only
Payment option. I hope we can make the purchase as fast as possible? I want you to get back with the following details

1: Your Paypal email ID or

a paypal payment invoice

2: Your Last asking price

3: Your contact address and telephone number

4. More pics

Regard
[/color][/b]
  #10  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:24 AM
bassteban's Avatar
that video LIES
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern California
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodger Bryan View Post
Has anyone else completed a transaction in this manner been ripped off via the internet?
Yes.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Albert View Post
He who throws mud only loses ground.
  #11  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
run dont walk
__________________
My wife told me she is afraid of the dark. Then she saw me naked, and now she's afraid of the light! Heeeeey!
  #12  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:30 AM
slaps76's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Medford, MA
Supporting Member
Do whatever you want, you'll learn one way or the other. It's a scam.
__________________
_________________
my cover band:
www.midnightgoggles.com
www.facebook.com/midnightgoggles

Fernandes Club #11
Warwick Fortress #13
  #13  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:31 AM
VincentSalizeri's Avatar
Bassish
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA, CA, Sacramento Metro area
Supporting Member
That looks like a scam to me. Interested buyers tend to be a bit more specific, and don't ask for that kind of information.
__________________
fretless club #652

Quote:
Originally Posted by behndy View Post
...10 minutes into our set i was like, "i..... am... on acid. huh.".
  #14  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:51 AM
Mike N's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York
Supporting Member
Interested buyers usually want a phone # so they can talk to you in person.
__________________
Horsepower sells cars,Torque wins races.
Racecar spelled backwards is racecar.
1981 Camaro. 10.30's@130mph.

My band's newest video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMMIhsf6Glk
  #15  
Old 07-04-2011, 10:53 AM
Munjibunga's Avatar
Total Hyper-Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Groom Lake, NV
GOLD Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodger Bryan View Post
Has anyone else completed a transaction in this manner?
Stop asking questions. It's a scam. Look at the "paypal" address. It's got a hyphen in "pay-pal." That's not PayPal. It's Scam-Pal.
__________________
What is this thing called butthurt?

Last edited by Munjibunga : 07-04-2011 at 10:59 AM.
  #16  
Old 07-04-2011, 11:02 AM
Rodger Bryan's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut, USA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaps76 View Post
NO. Listen to everyone here...it's 100% a scam. NEVER send money to anyone when selling something. Duh.
That's precisely why I cancelled the transaction. I've done a number of Paypal transactions with TB members and have never seen such a request.

The primary reason I'm asking the TB community for opinions is that there is a fellow TB'er who had direct knowledge of the email sent. If the consensus is that this is BS, I would want everyone else to be aware.

Thank you for your advice/input!
  #17  
Old 07-04-2011, 11:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ont
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodger Bryan View Post
That's precisely why I cancelled the transaction. I've done a number of Paypal transactions with TB members and have never seen such a request.

The primary reason I'm asking the TB community for opinions is that there is a fellow TB'er who had direct knowledge of the email sent. If the consensus is that this is BS, I would want everyone else to be aware.

Thank you for your advice/input!
Report him if you are sure its from him.
__________________
I like stuff
  #18  
Old 07-04-2011, 11:15 AM
bassteban's Avatar
that video LIES
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern California
Supporting Member
^this^
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Albert View Post
He who throws mud only loses ground.
  #19  
Old 07-04-2011, 11:26 AM
Rodger Bryan's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut, USA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonyak View Post
Report him if you are sure its from him.
"check your email from the craigslist add"
is the only thing I received from the TB member. Other than that, I can't be certain.
  #20  
Old 07-04-2011, 11:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ont
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodger Bryan View Post
"check your email from the craigslist add"
is the only thing I received from the TB member. Other than that, I can't be certain.
ya, that sucks, could just be a coincidence...
__________________
I like stuff
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.