Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-12-2013, 09:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portland, TX
Gizmag Depot

Never heard of them before... I am currently trying to purchase a vehicle through craiglsist and the seller says I have to go through this website to get it. Web address is gizmagdepot .com

Basic rundown works like this:

1) I go to the website
2) Register
3) Purchase the vehicle
4) They ship it to me
5) I check it out and if I don't like it or there is something the seller didn't disclose I can return it for a full refund.

I'm a little cautious because I have never done any business through this website and I've never even heard of it.

The website looks legit but I looked for some online reviews and what I found seems kinda spammy. The guy gave me his name and says I can reference the sale through their website after I register. They have a 1-800 number that I was going call but I've been at work all weekend.

Has anyone done any business through this site? Are they legit?
__________________
:ninja:
Lefty Union Member #119, TX Bassist #38
  #2  
Old 05-12-2013, 09:28 AM
Jim Nazium's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Takoma Park, MD (DC)
Supporting Member
A quick google search turned up this:

"This is a scam. Gizmag Depot's domain name (gizmagdepot.com) was registered on April 24, 2013, so the site is only a couple of weeks old. The website has no contact information, except a box on the site to email, but the website IP number traces to Bucharest. You can see that for yourself by running Gizmagdepot.com in the search box at www.domaintools.com and getting its WHOIS information."
__________________
"If you strive to become a good human being, with the qualities of generosity, humility, and having reverence for life, just maybe you'll become a great musician."
Charlie Haden
  #3  
Old 05-12-2013, 09:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portland, TX
I've read that.

It is my belief that scammers are posting on craigslist posing as Gizmag Depot, but they're giving a different email contact to redirect them to another site that is NOT Gizmag Depot.

I'm just wondering if anyone has used the site and had any success with their purchase.

I've been in contact with the seller. He seems legit and gave me a ton of pictures of the vehicle, but I've just never used the site before.
__________________
:ninja:
Lefty Union Member #119, TX Bassist #38
  #4  
Old 05-12-2013, 09:57 AM
SunnBass's Avatar
All these blankets saved my life.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Columbia, Mo
Supporting Member
It's the internet man, I could sell you DeLorean that I don't own. I'll even seem legit and send you a ton of pictures of the vehicle (that I found on a Google image search).


__________________
Gallien Krueger Club #905 - Mediocre Bassist Club #849
cowardband.bandcamp.com

Last edited by SunnBass : 05-12-2013 at 10:04 AM.
  #5  
Old 05-12-2013, 10:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portland, TX
Yeah I know, that's why I'm asking.

The whole thing seemed fishy, so I figured I would see if anyone has done a real transaction through them with success.

That doesn't seem to be the case however.
__________________
:ninja:
Lefty Union Member #119, TX Bassist #38
  #6  
Old 05-12-2013, 10:05 AM
SunnBass's Avatar
All these blankets saved my life.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Columbia, Mo
Supporting Member
Dude, I don't know you at all. But just out of courtesy I must say: let this go.

Even the website name, Gizmag, from the get-go sounds scammy.
__________________
Gallien Krueger Club #905 - Mediocre Bassist Club #849
cowardband.bandcamp.com

Last edited by SunnBass : 05-12-2013 at 10:07 AM.
  #7  
Old 05-12-2013, 07:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
I know a guy who bought a car on Craigslist...

We live in Indiana,,,the car was in jersey...

he had to go get it...

I find it hard to believe anyone is going to ship you a car ,let you let you check it out ,then return it if you don't like it without collecting delivery charges upfront and then a reship fee if you reject it .

Run away as fast as you can
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Visit TalkBass on Facebook   Download our iOS app   Download our Android app

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:00 AM.




© 2012 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar too? Visit TalkGuitar.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.