|  | 
02-25-2008, 01:38 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: Fairfax VA | | | Is this guy a fake? Regards my buisness...
Sign in to disble this ad
So I do an iPod repairs serivce. I have listed on several major sites. On one of them i received this messege today. Fake? Dear Seller
I will like to buy this your item on behalf of my client if the item still available for sale.And I will pay you any amount you which to sale it as your last price.my client will send you M/O or Cashier Check as a mode of payment.i agreed to pay any amount you want to sell the item for me any additional money for handling. Here will go i am using this opportunity to inform you that the amount that i am purchasing this item on behalf of my client.and ur payment will be made inform of cashier check or M/O also the amount that will be on the payment will more than your item fees because i will be including the shipping and state tax fees .i don"t really know the exact amount that will be.b cos it will be issue by my client who is owning me some money .and the reason of the over payment is that. the amount on the payment has been signed already,and it is more than your item fees.so once you receive it.you must deduct your item fees and western union the balance money back .so all the info you need for to ship and westernunion the balance money back will surely come with the payment .there will be no problem about the shipment.i want you to responsible for it.also make sure you deduct ur item fees and western union any additional money on the payment once you receive it. Here will go.i would have end the auction but i don"t know how to do it.so i want you to go and end the auction for me asap. to assure you that i am really interested in ur item. i will add extra $10.00 in ur payment if you end the auction for me asap. and email me ur mailing info and your phone# asap today. So i will like proceed with this transaction this my private email which is (xxxxxxxx#@yahoo.com) so get back to me over there if you agree to sell the item for me.Bellow are the questions i have for you.
1)is the item in good condition?
2)is any western union location where you to send the balance money around you?
3)Can you make sure you get the check cash at ur bank the same day you receive it?
4)Can you allow me to send DH L for the pick up and complete the transaction the day you receive the check?
5)Can you promise me that you will once deduct your item fees and send back the remaining money once you have receive and cash the check?
If yes too all my questions.kindly email me back asap today so that the check can be send asap,
SO I WANT YOU TO REPLY ME BACKTO THIS MY EMAIL xxxxxxx#@yahoo.com ok..
Thanks,
Payment is ready for your item but i need ur full name and Address and ur mobile# asap (??????)
Answer all my questions and get back to me with your full name and address asap today.
To remind you make sure your reply goes to this my private email which is iwontshowthisguysadress@yahoo.com
Thanks..
I mean it has nothing to do with what im "selling" which is a service not an item. What is the meaning of this nonsence? | 
02-25-2008, 01:40 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Millcreek Township, UT | | | Scam.
__________________ Quote:
Originally Posted by Kwesi Atoz, forever the inside spoon. | Rickenbacker #19, Mediocre Bassist #3, Mark Wilson Fail #Onion | 
02-25-2008, 01:41 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2001 Location: Charleston, WV | | | Yes, scam.
__________________
Schroeder Club #99
| 
02-25-2008, 01:48 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: Fairfax VA | | | Ok sounds good. | 
02-25-2008, 01:50 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Provo, UT | | | I have a couple listings in the facebook marketplace and I get that email almost verbatim about twice a week about "the item for sales"
__________________
"All music is folk music... I ain't never heard no horse sing no song" -- louis armstrong
| 
02-25-2008, 01:50 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2001 Location: Charleston, WV | | Quote:
Originally Posted by Jared92 Ok sounds good. | NO NO NO.
Sounds BAD!
ABORT! 
__________________
Schroeder Club #99
| 
02-25-2008, 01:56 PM
| | Banned | | Join Date: Dec 2006 Location: Detroit | | | For Allah's sake, if scammers want us to actually bite, couldn't they get someone to proofread their crap? This thing is just chock-full of red flags.
Sell his contact information to the spamming companies. | 
02-25-2008, 02:12 PM
|  | Online | | Join Date: Apr 2001 Location: Sunapee, New Hampshire | | Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan316 For Allah's sake, if scammers want us to actually bite, couldn't they get someone to proofread their crap? | It's your idea, so go for it. Call a few of those homeboys up and offer to clean up the e-mails they send out so more people from the USA will believe them.
The scammers need a fresh, tidy, and error free approach. Even the most ignorant people in the USA can sniff out the fake e-mails now.
-Mike | 
02-25-2008, 02:20 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jul 2003 Location: NET | | | Not exactly convincing, is it? They're supposedly going to overpay for some lame reason, and then want you to send the balance back post haste. I wonder if anyone ever fell for this?
__________________ | 
02-25-2008, 02:21 PM
|  | Online | | Join Date: Apr 2001 Location: Sunapee, New Hampshire | | | Oh yeah...I think the HD in my 30GB is dying. Sometimes it works, other times I get the sad face and it won't come on. How much would it be to fix this?
-Mike | 
02-25-2008, 07:11 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: Fairfax VA | | Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoMan NO NO NO.
Sounds BAD!
ABORT!  | Ok..... i hope you knew i meant it sounds good that it was a scam and not to make contact...  | 
02-25-2008, 08:47 PM
| | ????????????? | | Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: Lexington KY | | Dear Talkbass members
I would like to reply to this post on behalf on my client in assuring you good sirs that this e-mail is absolutely legitimate. If you send me your social security numbers, valid address and bank account numbers I would be happy to pay you the sum of $4,000,000 as a show of good faith. However, in order to send you this money I will require your credit card number and $500 dollars, which I will be willing to accept immediately, in order to verify that you are not some kind of criminal... 
__________________ Quote:
Originally Posted by MyUsernameHere What kind of jerk would quote himself? | | 
02-25-2008, 09:03 PM
| | Registered User Beta Tester: Source Audio. Hacker: Heavy Drone FX | | Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: Spokane, WA. | | Quote:
Originally Posted by MyUsernameHere Dear Talkbass members
I would like to reply to this post on behalf on my client in assuring you good sirs that this e-mail is absolutely legitimate. If you send me your social security numbers, valid address and bank account numbers I would be happy to pay you the sum of $4,000,000 as a show of good faith. However, in order to send you this money I will require your credit card number and $500 dollars, which I will be willing to accept immediately, in order to verify that you are not some kind of criminal...  | 956-48-9784
201 W. Go To H*ll St.
New York NY 12345
CC# 4555 0000 0000 0021
exp 01/06
I could use $3,999,500 to fly to Nigeria and hire some goons to get those bastards that scammed me.
Pay Up Sucka  | 
02-25-2008, 09:04 PM
| | | Quote:
Originally Posted by MyUsernameHere Dear Talkbass members
I would like to reply to this post on behalf on my client in assuring you good sirs that this e-mail is absolutely legitimate. If you send me your social security numbers, valid address and bank account numbers I would be happy to pay you the sum of $4,000,000 as a show of good faith. However, in order to send you this money I will require your credit card number and $500 dollars, which I will be willing to accept immediately, in order to verify that you are not some kind of criminal...  | ..I'll take you up on that..  
__________________ Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Latimour So you're saying that erroenous Trojans may ruin Kardashian's Bush?
This sounds like a serious situation to me. | | | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | |