Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-04-2010, 10:32 PM
MIJ-VI's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Supporting Member
MannInBlackk virus infecting Internet forums.

Sign in to disble this ad
I just found this e-mail in my junk folder:

Quote:
You have just been sent a personal message by MannInBlackk on Acoustic Bass Guitars Discussion Forum.

IMPORTANT: Remember, this is just a notification. Please do not reply to this email.

The message they sent you was:

Hello, friend. There are viruses' activities from your computer in last few days. Strongly recommend you to check your computer. You can find a report about your computer's security and solve every problem with it here: http://w-w-w.virus-total.net/detected /MIJ-VI <-- ATTACK SITE!
Thank you. Forum member.

Reply to this Personal Message here: h-t-t-p://octavebelow.com/smf/index.php?action=pm;sa=send;f=inbox;pmsg=78;quote; u=54"
The spooky thing is that this virus had/has my e-mail address and my forum username. As well I don't recall joining octavebelow.com.

So I did a Google search of the name MannInBlackk and found out that it's infecting (or trying to) a number of other forums.

http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&so...=Google+Search

Please make sure your anti-malware is up to date and please don't click the link (which is now disabled in this post) to that attack site if it shows up in your e-mail or as a PM.

Thank you.

Last edited by MIJ-VI : 02-05-2010 at 06:42 AM. Reason: Clarified quoted material
  #2  
Old 02-05-2010, 06:18 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cornwall, UK.
Send a message via MSN to Asa Samuel
That link doesn't look disabled to me!

Thanks for the heads up.
__________________
I'm what you'd call a "Thread Killer"
  #3  
Old 02-05-2010, 06:41 AM
MIJ-VI's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asa Samuel View Post
That link doesn't look disabled to me!

Thanks for the heads up.
Hi Asa Samuel.

The attack site link (the one in red) is.

Gary
  #4  
Old 02-05-2010, 07:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cornwall, UK.
Send a message via MSN to Asa Samuel
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIJ-VI View Post
Hi Asa Samuel.

The attack site link (the one in red) is.

Gary
Ahh, I was looking at the other link
__________________
I'm what you'd call a "Thread Killer"
  #5  
Old 02-05-2010, 07:19 AM
MIJ-VI's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Supporting Member
  #6  
Old 02-05-2010, 07:56 AM
MIJ-VI's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Supporting Member
Why do idiots write these viruses?

Spyware-->ID theft would be my guess.

Firefox + Web Of Trust are two tools useful in averting threats of this type.

Another option for Windows users would be to download the Ubuntu Desktop install.iso (~700 MB) and run Ubuntu as a virtual machine 'guest' OS on VirtualBox (an Open Source PC emulator).

The aim here would be to use Ubuntu to surf the net during Internet virus outbreaks. One's web browser bookmarks could be stored off-line using Xmarks.

Once the Internet virus threat has been neutralized, one could resume using Windows and update one's browser bookmarks with those which have been archived on Xmarks while Ubuntu was used as a temporary web surfing OS.
  #7  
Old 02-05-2010, 08:04 AM
john turner's Avatar
You don't want to do that. Trust me.
Forum Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: atlanta ga
interesting. we had a user on tb with a similar name getting massive amounts of spam back from us about his attempts to log in and being locked out. apparently someone from the ukraine was trying to hack his account. we ended up banning the responsible ip address.

i'll do a search and make sure there's no other members that belong to tb with similar names.
__________________
Talkbass Forum Administrator Ask me, I'm here to help.

Lord Only on Myspace - 4 New Lord Only Tracks from our 2nd CD
Lord Only - yes. we're back. sorta
versatile residue -12 minute instrumental

I find it elevating and exhilarating to discover that we live in a universe which permits the evolution of molecular machines as intricate and subtle as we. - Carl Sagan
Rock 'n' Roll... It's got nothing to do with journalists, and it hasn't really even got anything to do with musicians, either. - Pete Townsend
  #8  
Old 02-05-2010, 08:05 AM
L-A's Avatar
L-A L-A is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Eh?
Supporting Member
The best protection is not to download "install.exe" from that site.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom once dead View Post
Also to prove my Australianism, I've been stung by an irukandji jellyfish before, while snorkelling at an island looking at stingrays.
  #9  
Old 02-05-2010, 08:14 AM
MIJ-VI's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by john turner View Post
interesting. we had a user on tb with a similar name getting massive amounts of spam back from us about his attempts to log in and being locked out. apparently someone from the ukraine was trying to hack his account. we ended up banning the responsible ip address.

i'll do a search and make sure there's no other members that belong to tb with similar names.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:55 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.